Stella Artois
Becks
Cascade Premium
Cooper's Sparkling/Pale Ale
Melbourne Bitter
Carlton Draught
Heineken
James Boag's Premium

There are a lot more that are also quite good, although, those are generally the beverages of choice, in regards to my beer tastes.

Often it depends on occasion, and budget.

My frickin' homebrew.

I'm just about to finish drinking my last batch. It was a Pilsener. Not bad at all, and improved somewhat with age, but sadly not a patch on a Bitburger.

I got me a draught on the brew at the moment. Coopers' draught kit with a special blend of brewing sugars and malt. Should be ready in time for the height of summer :D

As far as commercial beers go:

Any Pilsener, local or imported. Coopers' pale. Coopers' Stout (Best Extra or Special Old). Southwark Premium. James Boag's. and, provided it's served from Snout's Bar and there is a footy match happening just in front of it, West End Draught!

Originally posted by Brett Li

Timothy Taylor - Landlord
Saw that here in Melbourne at the Brandon Hotel in Carlton. The pub closed before I got a chance to try it!

Southwark Premium is outstanding beer. Mountain Goat is also fantastic.

Ppl speak of this Stella, I've been recommended it b4 but haven't tried it.

What is it's full name and is it common is most bottle shops?

Stella Artois. Nice and expensive and it tastes nice and expensive.
Beautiful

Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Stella Artois. Nice and expensive and it tastes nice and expensive.
Beautiful

One of the cheaper Beers over seas. (or was when I went)

Famous for the beer the boys on "Men Behaving Badly" consume gallons of.

1. VB in the Can or Stubbie. Doesn't quite taste as nice out of the Keg with out the preservitives in it like the cans and studdies have got in them.
2. Carlton Black- New Beer on tap. Hardly been advertised but is Farkin great. Pretty much in between a draught and a stout. Goes down so nice.
3. Carton Draught on Tap is the best tap beer in Australia. See sales figures.
4. Guiness. mmmmmm
5.Tasman Bitter. Cheap but not nasty. Refreshing taste brewed in Tassy and only sold at Licker land.
6. Melbourne Bitter. When you want throw'em down
7. When drinking light you can not go past Cascade premium Light.
8. Carlton Graught in the can Or Stubbie.
9. Toburg- Dannish Beer. Hard to find. Havent' had it for years.
10. Any Homebrew with Two cans of syrup and 2 kilo's of sugar.
Just to knock you of a feet. Taste sometimes comes in third against 1st Strength and second Strength.

Would love to hear what others think of the new Carlton Black.
I reckon it's the best new beer I've ever tasted.mmmmmmmmmmmm

Originally posted by nut
9. Toburg- Dannish Beer. Hard to find. Havent' had it for years.
That's Tuborg. You can get it at McCoppins on Johnston St in Fitzroy.

Originally posted by McAlmanac

That's Tuborg. You can get it at McCoppins on Johnston St in Fitzroy.

I thought it was spelt like Coburg???? DOH

Not a bad drop dont you reckon? Have you tried Carton Balck?

Re: Re: Best Beer?

Originally posted by PrideofSA
Anyway My fav's are James Boag's and Becks!

Originally posted by PrideofSA
West End is better than Coopers too!
PoSA, you have an uncanny knack of starting something off making perfect sense and the completely ruining it by making a ridiculous claim (see your thread in Music)! Uncanny I tells ya!!

West End is urine.

Scott Burns and Alan Didak excepted, Coopers Sparkling is the best thing to come out of South Australia and is indeed nectare of the beer-gods.

Boag's Premium is Australia's best beer.

Becks & Corona are my fave imports. Stella is also a fave of mine, especially on tap. I actually like it on tap better than in its bottled form!?!

I love my Carlton Draught to bits, but if required, my other preferred beers are:
- Carlton Premium Dry (loved it in the cans, but the stubs are just as good)
- Nastro Azzurro (gotta love Peroni's... fave imported beer by far)
- Dab (or else Oktoberfest wouldn't be enjoyable... you have to learn to love it!)

Has anyone, particularly from W.A, tried a beer from Freemantle called Little Creatures? A mate of mine loves it, i don't mind it but i think its a bit of an acquired taste.

Just wondering what people wh have tasted it thought

Originally posted by nut

I thought it was spelt like Coburg???? DOH

Not a bad drop dont you reckon? Have you tried Carton Balck?
Wasn't bad. Haven't tried the Carlton Black. It's on tap at the Rochester Castle, just a few doors across the road from the McCoppins when you go for the Tuborg!

West End! Ouch! PrideofSA - there's a very good reason why you can't get West End outside of SA.... Fortunately, Southwark Premium is available in six packs at Dan Murphy's here in Melbourne.

Southwark Pale Ale is on tap at a place called Barbukka on Smith Street. Not quite as good as Coopers, but worth a try. Coopers is beer royalty.

I can't believe Moosehead hasn't got a guernsey.

Bloody magnificent drop. Clean, crisp, light fruity finish.

My order:

Moosehead
Tuborg
Stella
Becks

Originally posted by ACV
Has anyone, particularly from W.A, tried a beer from Freemantle called Little Creatures? A mate of mine loves it, i don't mind it but i think its a bit of an acquired taste.

Just wondering what people wh have tasted it thought
Finally got around to going there a couple of weeks ago, nice drop!

Figjam, I totally agree with you about our friend Pride. I think he's just setting us up.
Actually his statements, followed by ridiculous statements kind of remind me of one Suzi Olsen, but not quite as bad.

I can't believe Grolsche hasn't got a mention. Amazing stuff. And cool bottles too
Bingo! Grolsche and Stellas are the best beers you're likely to buy in Australia. Most of the best Belgium beers are unavailable here. I urge any big drinkers to do a tour of Germany and Belgium some time and drink yourself silly. Absolute quality!

National:
Coopers Pale Ale
Coopers Sparkling Ale
Boag's Premium

International:
Guiness
Bavaria
Hollandia

Originally posted by Squeak
Has Carlton Black got caffiene in it?

No, but it is said to have a light coffee after taste.
It's basically Very dark Draught beer. Poors well out of the Tap and will be a huge hit. Once more pubs take it on. Get on to your Local and convine the publican to get it. Apparently they only wont a selected few pubs to have it in order not to flogg it.
I say flogg it. To good to waste. Should be 10-20 cents dearer than a normal pot.

I know a pub in the wimmera where the locals have been drinking the same beer for 40 years and even some of them have switched.

just about all beer is great, just as long as it's damn cold, Coopers yum.

Lite beers are too much like wearing a condom when you are having sex.