best Collingwood games 2010-20

R16 2010 - vs St Kilda (lead all day, won by 48 points, the match where I knew we were a red hot chance at the flag)

That game gave me some hope we could win it, three weeks later in Round 19 against Geelong where the lead changed hands a few time’s was when I truely started to believe .

I started to believe in R6 2010, however, my belief was officially there in R19 of 2010 against Geelong, we've should've defeated Geelong by more that night, nevertheless beating Geelong was afoot in the right direction of potentially us winning the 2010 flag.

True, up until Round 16 the knock or concern on us was that we hadn’t beaten Geelong or St Kilda, we were always just top four but couldn’t get it done. I left that Geelong game thinking ‘yep we can actually go all the way’.

Have to be the following, in no particular order:

Round 6 2010: see-sawing, and against a Carltoon juggernaut who had flogged the Cats, made me froth. Recommend for anyone who loves high scoring victories.

Round 16 2010: After losing against the Saints in Round 3, and being absolutely devastated, this was sweet. Especially how we were on top all day, and FINALLY got some revenge for that 2009 80 point drubbing. I was there that night, surrounded by Saints fans, including a school mate who was turning into a c#$t.

Round 19 2010: probably our best game for the year, given our flogging by the Cats earlier on. The Cats were some outfit, and beating them off the back of 2007-09 form, was incredible.

I don’t really rate the Grand Final or the replay. Nor the Adelaide game in 2011, given we shouldn’t have gotten ourselves down by five goals in the first place. But eleven goals in a row is worth watching on occasion.

Preliminary Final 2011: Call me a hypocrite, but Hawks threw the kitchen sink and then some at us, we had bugger all personnel given injuries to Beams, Reid, Jolly, which precipitated into our flogging the next week. Last quarter comeback, given I got heckled by Hawks fans where I was working, was sweet.

Round 9 v Adelaide, Round 20 v Sydney 2012. No Swanny both occasions, and given bugger all hope. Glorious. Shame John McCarthy passed away before the Preliminary, because as is expected, there are more things important than football, as illustrated by Rusty staying with his wife and new baby over the premiership push.

Round 6 2013 v Geelong - Undefeated cats. Amazing. Especially Krakouer the MCG specialist, and how we come back from being dead and buried early in the last quarter.

Round 20 2013 - Given the publicity surrounding the Goodes racism incident, and how we were destroyed earlier in the year at the G, I loved beating the Swans at Stadium Australia. Great hunting ground where we only lost three times in ten years.

Round 2 2014 v Sydney - Given backs against the wall, the eventual GF appearance of the Swans, and Buddy in the red and white, our kryptonite over the years, this was glorious. We’d been flogged by the Dockers in Melbourne. Any time losing to the Dockers burns like Chlamydia. Not that I’d know.....

Round 9 2015 v North Melbourne - What a comeback, in the wet, and I had a dream that predicted the scores. Crazy day, and Billy was elite.

NAB challenge games 2016 v Geelong and Footscray: Geelong game our first win since the 80s at Kardinia Park, and 11 goals in a third quarter, and coming back from 36 points down at half time against the Dogs, who eventually won the flag. Absolutely nuts.

Round 16 2016 v GWS - Another blowout comeback, with 9 goals in the second quarter. We were crazily potent when on.

Round 3 v Sydney (WHE late winner, 0-2 coming in), Round 6 v Geelong (victory against Geelong undefeated, dominated all day, high scoring), and Round 18 2017 v West Coast (crazy last quarter comeback, despite JK kicking six, de Goey first came to prominence in my mind). Notable mention to the draw against Adelaide in Round 19, but f#$as shattering to lose a 51 point lead, and a 20 point lead in time on Q4.

Round 4 2018 v Adelaide - highlighted the draw in 2017, first win at AO, and the Pies first step to a GF appearance

Preliminary Final 2018 v Richmond - not much to be said, besides nobody giving us a chance, a free hit, and shutting up Tuggers fans for a long time. Coxy was giving me a massive hard on. The whole night, even though I was working there, was incredible. Best final I’d seen up until Saturday night, the port game in 2002, and Brisbane in 2003 including.

Round 17 2019 v West Coast - we shouldn’t have won. Maybe the chances for us weren’t as remote as Saturday night, but we were cooked with injuries.

We all know what happened Saturday night, but hoping I can include the next three games as better. I have hope now, and that carries you a long way. Go pies!!!

2010 Prelim was the best Collingwood game ive ever been to. Literally everything we touched that night turned to gold. The epitome of this was the Leigh Brown goal from 65m that literally bounced at a right angle to dribble through.

The Coooooo-liiiiiiiing-wooooooooood chant echoing through the stands at at one point was the most hauntingly beautiful thing to hear. As loud a crowd as ive ever witnessed.

Really? Even thought the score was tight the game was a pretty low scoring dull affair. My impression was most neutrals rate the 2011 grand final better.
2011 was miles better. We played beneath ourselves in 2010 and it was a pretty s**t affair tbh

Six goals down against bulldogs in 2011 in the driving rain and we absolutely destroy them by kicking the next 10 goals in one quarter.

The way Collingwood played irrepressible football against Port Adelaide in the first quarter last year reminded me of 2011.

In 2010 we owned territory, but in 2011 we turned it up a notch with a combination of ferocious pressure and jaw dropping offence that makes the current magpies look pedestrian! Unfortunately took it's toll in the end.

It really was a shame we didn't win the Grand final in 2011 because we would've had one of the single greatest seasons of all time.

I know this was before 2010 but given the opponents that we played this past weekend, I just want to sneakily add this into the thread.

Im pretty sure I’ve attended about 6-7 games in the last 6 years, and 3 of them were mentioned in OP. Not a bad strike rate!

Edit: 2014 Anzac Day, 2018 PF & GF.

R16 2010 - vs St Kilda (lead all day, won by 48 points, the match where I knew we were a red hot chance at the flag)

That’s funny, I went home and secretly upgraded mine and my two siblings memberships to legends right after that win.

We must’ve had the same impression of that game!

I know this was before 2010 but given the opponents that we played this past weekend, I just want to sneakily add this into the thread.

That win was a deadset miracle - WC were on top and unbeaten after 8 rounds, we were last with 1 win. The first time 16th had ever beaten 1st on the ladder.

Really? Even thought the score was tight the game was a pretty low scoring dull affair. My impression was most neutrals rate the 2011 grand final better.
That 2011 GF had the worst atmosphere of any Collingwood grand final I've ever attended. To this day I don't know why it was so flat and quiet, despite the outstanding footy played and the tightness of the contest for three quarters. It comes across that way on replays I've watched too. It felt like the crowd was filled with theatre goers and big business types along for a day out.

I know it gets overshadowed by the Premim, but the 2018 semi against GWS is one of my personal favorites.

The loss the week prior to the Eagles game had deflated my mood and all I could think was straight sets and out. But then... We storm out of the gate to a big lead, GWS comes right back in the second. DeGoey's drop kick goal on the half time siren amd the ensuing melee. Checkers with the crazy outside of the boot bender. The ridiculous momentum swings. The feeling of relief and joy at the siren.

And most importantly, after the calls to be dropped after the West Coast game, Cox played well enough to keep his spot in the side for richmond ;)

I know it gets overshadowed by the Premim, but the 2018 semi against GWS is one of my personal favorites.

The loss the week prior to the Eagles game had deflated my mood and all I could think was straight sets and out. But then... We storm out of the gate to a big lead, GWS comes right back in the second. DeGoey's drop kick goal on the half time siren amd the ensuing melee. Checkers with the crazy outside of the boot bender. The ridiculous momentum swings. The feeling of relief and joy at the siren.

And most importantly, after the calls to be dropped after the West Coast game, Cox played well enough to keep his spot in the side for richmond ;)
People have been talking about Cox performance on that night, but nobody mentions De Goey's or Mihochek

Good list.

I’d also have the rd 9 2017 game in there too. Pies came back from 34 points down against the hawks at half time to win

Big pressure on Bucks at the time. Pies supporters were filthy in the first half. Eddie was livid in the stands. Lose that by a big margin and the pressure on Bucks to lose his job would’ve only amplified

We were down by 43 points 10 minutes into the 2nd. 34 down at HT. What a comeback that was.

The 2011 season I reckon there would have been at least half a dozen games where we were completely outplayed only for us to put together 10 goal quarters to blow the opposition away.

Remember that Adelaide game where we were 6 goals down and we absolutely destroyed them in the last quarter?

Remember that game in driving rain against Port Adelaide where we smashed them by 150 points?

Which team in the modern game could smash a side by 150 points in dry weather even?

That 20 minute period would have to be one of the best spells any Collingwood side has ever played in 120 years of the club’s history.

9 minute mark of the last quarter it was 9.13.67 to 14.6.90. Come the final siren, it was 20.15.135 to 14.8.92.

11.2.68 to 0.2.2 in about 20 minutes. Absolutely ridiculous.

Not strictly speaking in the time period but also Round 9 2008 against Geelong. I was there that night and it was truly bizarre. Geelong were the reigning premiers, undefeated after 8 rounds and we were a mid table team and just absolutely smoked them. Their only loss in the H&A season too - just a bizarre night to be there. Also remember they came out after half time and kicked 3 goals and I thought - here we go, but then just proceeded to flatten them

Not strictly speaking in the time period but also Round 9 2009 against Geelong. I was there that night and it was truly bizarre. Geelong were the reigning premiers, undefeated after 8 rounds and we were a mid table team and just absolutely smoked them. Their only loss in the H&A season too - just a bizarre night to be there. Also remember they came out after half time and kicked 3 goals and I thought - here we go, but then just proceeded to flatten them
Geelong were not the reigning premiers in 2009, Hawthorn were.

Agreed. That first quarter was the best footy ive seen played. 80 points up at one stage from memory in the 2nd quarter of a prelim. Crazy
We would’ve won that by over 100 if it was any other game than the Prelim. Game was absolutely over before HT and Pies went into cruise control in the second half. Was a great game to be at.