Running/Fitness Best Compression Garments?

Hey lads,

Looking at some compression shorts and pants. Mainly for football, just wondering what the best ones are?

I have had skins for the past two times and whilst I like them I am in the mood to try something new. I have heard that Under Armour and 2XU are really good too.

What do you guys reckon?

Cheers

First two replies were shit...so let me try to offer up something other then useless.

Couple of boys on my team swear by skins, wear it during training and they are two of our top small mids. Go watch some training vids from this past pre-season on youtube from the various clubs and you'll see some of the boys wearing 2XU full legs, some wear skins and some go without. Even if it's for recovery and stability, it's definately has alot of pro's using them.

My personal experience I've battled shin splints throughout my entire time playing footy. Last season I picked up a pair of 2XU calf supports on Amazon.com and it changed the way I run. They reduce the vibration of my shin sheath and the muscles around them supposedly, and all I know is I can train for 2 hours in the cold, rain, heat and I never have felt pain with them on. I usually wear them for about an hour or two after training until I have a chance to ice and take a nap.

For what it's worth, I'd recommend using them. Not all may share my opinion but if you are battling recovery and soft tissue injuries I think it's worth the investment....at the very least you'll get a little UV protection and wicking in the heat of preseason.

First two replies were shit...so let me try to offer up something other then useless.

Couple of boys on my team swear by skins, wear it during training and they are two of our top small mids. Go watch some training vids from this past pre-season on youtube from the various clubs and you'll see some of the boys wearing 2XU full legs, some wear skins and some go without. Even if it's for recovery and stability, it's definately has alot of pro's using them.

My personal experience I've battled shin splints throughout my entire time playing footy. Last season I picked up a pair of 2XU calf supports on Amazon.com and it changed the way I run. They reduce the vibration of my shin sheath and the muscles around them supposedly, and all I know is I can train for 2 hours in the cold, rain, heat and I never have felt pain with them on. I usually wear them for about an hour or two after training until I have a chance to ice and take a nap.

For what it's worth, I'd recommend using them. Not all may share my opinion but if you are battling recovery and soft tissue injuries I think it's worth the investment....at the very least you'll get a little UV protection and wicking in the heat of preseason.

Cheers mate for putting the time into a reply like that. Definitely has helped a lot. Might go the 2XU's this time around. Mainly as a recovery aid.

Very much interested in having a look at these. Linky?

I compete in endurance sports like triathlon ironman and marathons
for recovery they are essential when doing longer distances (it may be mind over matter) When your legs are smashed nothing feels better and getsyou up and about like full length stockings. Competing in them is way too hot. Just wearing shorts does not really make too much sense but again it may be a mind over matter thing. Light weight and with the modern materials help get rid of moisture
I think the new skins 400 series is too thick to be honest and not very comfortable but footy on a cold winters day may be ideal for them
agree the calf sleaves are great but do get a bit uncomfortable and you do look a bit silly

Very similar to me, I have Skins A400's and they make huge difference for my compartment syndrome.

I do find that I perform better with them on - I feel I have a lot more spring in my step.

Essentially all compression garments do is get more bloodflow to your muscle so they are warmer so they recover quicker and are more relaxed.

They arent the fix of shin splints. They will increase bloodflow and decrease LA to a certain extent although shin splints are usually caused by extremely tight calves and possibly excessive heel striking when running as you put alot more weight through your tib and fib running heel first.

Just get in the pools. Compression garments have around 5% of mercury. As to being in the water 95%.

I find compression garments are good for recovery. I personally use them as a prevention for soft tissue injuries, so i wear the half pants during games and at training.

I have used Skins, 2xu and bodyscience and i would have to say body science is the best construct, the durability of their products is top notch, and is made in Australia. 2xu were probably the most comfortable and skins fell apart and became smelly very fast. I personally stay away from skins as they don't have the antibacterial lining and also i found the material stretches after about a year which makes them less effective.

I find compression garments are good for recovery. I personally use them as a prevention for soft tissue injuries, so i wear the half pants during games and at training.

I have used Skins, 2xu and bodyscience and i would have to say body science is the best construct, the durability of their products is top notch, and is made in Australia. 2xu were probably the most comfortable and skins fell apart and became smelly very fast. I personally stay away from skins as they don't have the antibacterial lining and also i found the material stretches after about a year which makes them less effective.

Do you find the Body Science really skin tight possum? What do you find tighter 2xu Elite or Body Science?

for my long distance I wear De Soto
Not a well known brand in Oz but massive overseas
Great compression, super comfy and have 4 little pockets (2 either leg) which I carry little shotz bottles of gu gel
they have a full range from compression shorts to tri-suits

de_soto_male_bike_shorts_400_mile_black__36453_zoom.jpg

i have skins but they have holes in them now, also all the writing on them peeled off.

might get some 2xu or underarmour.

by the way, does it matter if you wear underwear under the tights? i wear them for squats and one day forgot to take shorts to gym so i just wore tights and a singlet. i wouldn't wnat anybody eyeballing my anaconda and getting all self concious about their slug would i