Bevans report will be thrown out!!

Re: My hero CAPTAIN Brett Kirk

g'day mate said:
http://www.smh.com.au/news/afl/swans-grab-third-place-in-pressure-cooker-game/2006/08/12/1154803147949.html

Tight corner ... Swans co-captain Brett Kirk goes in hard for the ball under close attention from Demons defenders at the MCG yesterday.

Sorry girls and guys I did not see Natlovestheswans Bevo thread so I changed my thread to MY HERO captain Kirk

CO-CAPTAIN Brett Kirk explained last night how important yesterday's 32-point win over Melbourne was, describing the pressure applied to their top-four opponents as the best the Swans had dished out all year.

In front of 43,794 fans, the Swans snared the scalp of one of the season's top-performing sides and moving a step closer to securing a double chance when the finals begin next month.

Despite the Swans' improved form in recent weeks, they wanted to prove their worth against the leading sides in the competition, against whom they'd had limited success.

Their most recent win over a top-eight side was against Fremantle in round 13, one of only two such wins this season.

But the Swans allayed those concerns yesterday by changing places with Melbourne, whose hold on fourth place now depends on today's results.

"It is significant," Kirk said.

"There were big stakes today, there was a lot of pressure and it was like a finals-type game. We've won the last four, so we're building momentum at the right time of the year.

"Our pressure was fantastic, probably the best it's been all year. There were instances in the last quarter where we just kept digging in and that's how we play our best footy - that relentless pressure and contributions from everyone."

The Swans held a slender nine-point half-time advantage, but got as far in front as 28 points during the third term.

Goals to the Demons' star forward David Neitz, who was reported in the third quarter for charging, brought them briefly back into contention. The Swans, however, strangled the Demons in the second half.

Kirk was at the forefront with 12 tackles, while Adam Goodes can smell September, amassing 29 disposals and two goals.

Coach Paul Roos did not play down the value of the win, but cautioned that the struggle was not about to get easier.

"Third versus fourth - there's no use trying to hide that from the players," Roos said.

"If you lose you're back in seventh, you win you go to third, so it was an important game for us and a good win.

"I've got a lot of respect for the way the Ds have gone about their footy . we knew their pressure was going to be up, as it was, and it is good to be able to withstand a tough, physical game, come out of it well because you know Geelong next week is going to be physical.

"They're still fighting to make the finals, so it's not going to get any softer."

Goodes, who was best on ground, said he believed the Swans had taken on Melbourne at their own game.

"Melbourne wanted the game in tight and it's good to see that our game plan held up against theirs," he said.

"They're the No.1 tacklers in the competition and we challenged them and beat them in that area, and the hard ball-gets. That was the most impressive thing, those areas in which we stood up."

Goodes said healthy competition for places in the team was another good sign, with Jared Crouch and Nick Davis playing in the reserves.

The win ended a run of nine straight MCG successes for the Demons, and extended the Swans' winning run there to six. It also reinforced Sydney's curious record as the competition's best team away from home.

Making the win sweeter, Essendon toppled fifth-placed Collingwood on Friday night, increasing the Swans' top-four chances.

A win by Geelong over St Kilda today would give both Melbourne and Sydney a little breathing space with three rounds remaining.

Neitz scored four goals yesterday, but the Swans' defence was mostly solid. In midfield, Melbourne were missing personnel but a workmanlike Swans combination did not do them any favours. There was talk that Davis could be included but he remained sidelined and impressive youngster Heath Grundy kept his place. Grundy played another sound game, while Stephen Doyle made an incident-free return, helping out Darren Jolly in the ruck.

Midway through the final quarter Nic Fosdike hit his head on the ground when he fell backwards. He was helped from the field, apparently concussed, but was OK later.

Melbourne took the lead with two goals in a seesawing first quarter, as Neitz scored one and set up the other.

The Swans hit back with two goals before Neitz struck again.

A Michael O'Loughlin goal put the Swans ahead, and the second quarter was again tightly contested, but the Swans began to prise open Melbourne in the third term.

Neitz gave Melbourne hope with two goals late in the term to bring the margin back to 16 points.

But that was as close as they got, with final-quarter goals to Jarrad McVeigh and Barry Hall sealing the win.

Source: The Sun-Herald