docker_johnno

East Fremantle
This here I believe is our big shortcoming.

BIG game players.

big game players stand up and be counted at critical moments and in critical games. They perform when it counts.

As it stands after 2005 we only really have one big game player.

P.Hasleby.

M.Pavlich, J.Carr, P.Bell and J.Longmuir have the potential to be big game players, but they have not performed consistantly in big games. If these players can perform well in big crunch games we will make the finals and won finals.

It does worry me that we do not have a really solid experienced go to man in defence. Parker is solid as a defensive player, however not a go to man as a McPharlin or Pavlich.

I

Macca got a fair mention on 9 tonight. Players arn't usaully named without good reason.

Macca is someone who travells pretty well so I'm thinking he might get a spot in R1. Give him a chance to redeem himself.

If he doesnt get a game, he a bloody good 2nd stringer.

What..with him and Woewodin playing for the Sharks its all good.

docker_johnno said:
This here I believe is our big shortcoming.

BIG game players.

big game players stand up and be counted at critical moments and in critical games. They perform when it counts.

As it stands after 2005 we only really have one big game player.

P.Hasleby

Except for that lazy around-the corner-kick that caused a fatal turnover in the Sainter's game at Aurora last year.

My nomination is Paul Medhurst because of those games in 2002 and 2003 where he kicked match winning goals in tight situations like the Hirds and Carey's do. I can still see in my minds eye that over the shoulder goal he kicked to beat Brissie in (I think) 2003.

We have lots of players who have had big game moments. What we need is week-in-week-out team consistency that gets us into big games more than we need big game players. In fact, Robert Shaw probably said it best when he said we were an easy team to plan to beat.

Lets see what this season brings. We've basically been in a brawl in every game so far so it indicates teams are testing us out. Lets see what our attack on the ball is like and what our skills are like. then we can worry about "big game players".

I agree with your choice of Medhurst as a potential big-game player, Ralph.

I remember that Brisbane game. Medhurst kicked that ripper goal which put us in front and Elvis took that huge pack mark with seconds remaining to thwart the Lions' last charge.

But it was Byron Schammer, who I reckon you've been a bit harsh on in another thread, who played a real belter that day. He got a ton of the ball in the second half, and when the game was on the line he won the contested ball against Aker, dummied Luke Power and goaled on the run to put us within a few points, prompting Tim Gossage to squeal, "The kid is on fire!" That bit wasn't pleasant.

Young Schammer later claimed that he wasn't paid enough respect by whichever Scott brother was opposed to him. It was gloriously arrogant.

dugrene said:
What..with him and Woewodin playing for the Sharks its all good.
Yep, you might be able to get within 10 goals of a few teams this year.
:D
4 years and counting since your last win in a derby! 37 touches for Woey and playing Polak as a forward with no delivery isn't going to win many matches.

RogerMellie said:
I agree with your choice of Medhurst as a potential big-game player, Ralph.

I remember that Brisbane game. Medhurst kicked that ripper goal which put us in front and Elvis took that huge pack mark with seconds remaining to thwart the Lions' last charge.

But it was Byron Schammer, who I reckon you've been a bit harsh on in another thread, who played a real belter that day. He got a ton of the ball in the second half, and when the game was on the line he won the contested ball against Aker, dummied Luke Power and goaled on the run to put us within a few points, prompting Tim Gossage to squeal, "The kid is on fire!" That bit wasn't pleasant.

Young Schammer later claimed that he wasn't paid enough respect by whichever Scott brother was opposed to him. It was gloriously arrogant.

Absolutely spot on. Schammer did play a blinder that day. And as he said himself he didn't get no respect.

I still reckon he has a lot to prove -- especially given his disposal and lack of vision. However, part of my argument about Schammer is that he is given an easier ride than the Medhurst, Headland, Cook and MacManus. That's why I've been saying just watch him with a bit more of a critical eye, and then see if you agree with me.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Absolutely spot on. Schammer did play a blinder that day. And as he said himself he didn't get no respect.

I still reckon he has a lot to prove -- especially given his disposal and lack of vision. However, part of my argument about Schammer is that he is given an easier ride than the Medhurst, Headland, Cook and MacManus. That's why I've been saying just watch him with a bit more of a critical eye, and then see if you agree with me.

He has to become a regular player first.

Western Derbys
Friday night football (vStK, VEss, V WC)
important game V top side (v StK)
games to decide final positions (rnd 22 2005 / rnd 22 2004)

+ FINALS

docker_johnno said:
Western Derbys
Friday night football (vStK, VEss, V WC)
important game V top side (v StK)
games to decide final positions (rnd 22 2005 / rnd 22 2004)

+ FINALS

My 2006 alternative version of a "big game" is the week after an unexpected and morale boosting win. e.g. Round 22 last year where we capitulated to Port after that huge win against the Sainters.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
My 2006 alternative version of a "big game" is the week after an unexpected and morale boosting win. e.g. Round 22 last year where we capitulated to Port after that huge win against the Sainters.

Or Round 8 after the Collingwood thrashing or Round 11 after the Geelong win