Truck Rutten

Glenelg, Adelaide United
Any fans out there?

I've been into Big Star for a while, and bought Chris Bell's album I am the cosmos a couple of years ago, but have only just listened to it properly recently after reading up on the band. Amazing album, featuring one of the best acoustic love songs ever: You and your sister. I think it even shades Big Star's Thirteen, which is a massive call.

I haven't heard any of Chilton's solo stuff. Is any of it worth getting?

Truck Rutten said:
Any fans out there?

I've been into Big Star for a while, and bought Chris Bell's album I am the cosmos a couple of years ago, but have only just listened to it properly recently after reading up on the band. Amazing album, featuring one of the best acoustic love songs ever: You and your sister. I think it even shades Big Star's Thirteen, which is a massive call.

I haven't heard any of Chilton's solo stuff. Is any of it worth getting?

There should be reviews on Amazon, I heard that Big Star were good and had a little listen to one of theirs in a shop but not properly.

Truck Rutten said:
Any fans out there?

That Chris Bell album is a heartbreaker.

If you like Big Star, you may as well get all the Teenage Fanclub records too - those Scottish lads based their entire career on mimicking Big Star (and I mean that affectionately).

Shemp54 said:
There should be reviews on Amazon, I heard that Big Star were good and had a little listen to one of theirs in a shop but not properly.

You heard right that Big Star were good. Very, very good.

Shinboners said:
That Chris Bell album is a heartbreaker.

If you like Big Star, you may as well get all the Teenage Fanclub records too - those Scottish lads based their entire career on mimicking Big Star (and I mean that affectionately).

I'm a big Teenage Fanclub fan. Haven't got all their albums, but I'm pretty familiar with their stuff.

Truck Rutten said:
Is that Big Star? Chilton solo?

S l u t is a Todd Rundgren song from his album "Something/Anything?. An essential purchase.

The Big Star version can be found on the reformation album "columbia" "live At missouri university 4/25/93." This was the album from the much anticapated reformation of Big Star's Alex Chilton & Jody Stephens with Jonathan Auer & Ken Stringfellow from Big Star protegee's "The Posies." The album is a worthwhile purchase. Also has a version of "I Am The Cosmos"

Being a fan i presume you already have the essential "#1 Record", "Radio City" and "Third/Sister Lover's".

I would also recommend The Posies albums "Dear 23" and "Frosting on the Beater". "Amazing Disgrace" if you wanted to explore further.

Saw Alex Chilton @ the P.O.W. in '95. His solo career has been fairly erratic. Depending how deep you want to go. A very good album i have on vinyl "Alex Chilton's Lost Decade." is a double album , 1 record of Alex oddities 69/70 & 70's, 1 record of Band's/Artist's produced by Alex in the 70's. Interestingly on Fanclub records from France (Teenage Fanclub's name?). Not sure if available on CD.

Unless you are a completist i would think "19Years: A Collection" would probably suffice.

Generally his solo albums are a mix of covers, brief moments of brilliance and couldn't give a rat's attitude. Still even half trying he is at least superior to 95% of artists.

"Bach's Bottom" is worhwhile, "No Sex" E.P. brilliant. "High Priest" & (the aptly titled) "A Man Called Destuction" are o.k. albums from his 90's period.

Would also recommend a Box Top's comp. to complete the Chilton collection.

While Teenage Fanclub are heavily Big Star influenced, there are also huge lashing's of Neil Young, Byrds, Beach Boy's, Beatles in their sound.

"Bandwagonesque" is the closest to Big Star (might as well be called Big Star4). A previous album "Catholic Education" would be closer to Dinasour Jnr. I highly recommend "Grand Prix" and " Songs From Northern Britian." which are more Neil Young, Byrds in style.

Gotta say "I love the Fannies!"

Hope this is of some assistance TR. Would appreciate some feedback once you hear some of these recommendations.

And that my friends just about sums it up.

Close the thread...he's said everything that needs to be said. ;)

Thanks heaps for the info cats56. Sounds like you are one of Australia's foremost experts on all things Big Star :thumbsu: It's always great to speak to people who are passionate and knowledgeable about music. How did you first get into them? I kept hearing about them and knew that a few artists I was into were influenced by them (Teenage Fanclub, Wilco, Matthew Sweet) so thought I better find out what their story was and check out some of their music. The more I listen to their stuff, the more I'm appreciating exactly how brilliant they were.

cats56 said:
S l u t is a Todd Rundgren song from his album "Something/Anything?. An essential purchase.

Okay, I've since had a listen to some of his stuff including S l u t and I'll definitely be buying the Something/Anything? album. I had heard I saw the light before but didn't know who it was by. Ironically on the day you posted this I had just bought XTCs Skylarking, produced by none other than Todd Rundgren.

cats56 said:
The Big Star version can be found on the reformation album "columbia" "live At missouri university 4/25/93." This was the album from the much anticapated reformation of Big Star's Alex Chilton & Jody Stephens with Jonathan Auer & Ken Stringfellow from Big Star protegee's "The Posies." The album is a worthwhile purchase. Also has a version of "I Am The Cosmos"

I may have to get hold of this one as well, on your recommendation. Who sings the songs that Chris Bell originally would have?

cats56 said:
Being a fan i presume you already have the essential "#1 Record", "Radio City" and "Third/Sister Lover's".

I've got the #1 Record/Radio City combo cd. Haven't got Third/Sister Lovers, so I guess I'm not a true hardcore fan yet. I will be buying it very soon though!
cats56 said:
I would also recommend The Posies albums "Dear 23" and "Frosting on the Beater". "Amazing Disgrace" if you wanted to explore further.
The Posies are a band I've always meant to investigate but haven't quite got around to it. I've heard a few of their songs and I'm sure I would enjoy those albums, so I'll have to get one and start from there. I read on allmusic.com that Frosting on the beater was the pick of their records? I might even go and see them when they're in town next month.
cats56 said:
Saw Alex Chilton @ the P.O.W. in '95. His solo career has been fairly erratic. Depending how deep you want to go. A very good album i have on vinyl "Alex Chilton's Lost Decade." is a double album , 1 record of Alex oddities 69/70 & 70's, 1 record of Band's/Artist's produced by Alex in the 70's. Interestingly on Fanclub records from France (Teenage Fanclub's name?). Not sure if available on CD.

Unless you are a completist i would think "19Years: A Collection" would probably suffice.

Generally his solo albums are a mix of covers, brief moments of brilliance and couldn't give a rat's attitude. Still even half trying he is at least superior to 95% of artists.

"Bach's Bottom" is worhwhile, "No Sex" E.P. brilliant. "High Priest" & (the aptly titled) "A Man Called Destuction" are o.k. albums from his 90's period.

Would also recommend a Box Top's comp. to complete the Chilton collection.

What was he like live? I'm assuming he wasn't doing any Big Star stuff back then?

You might be onto something with the Fanclub records thing. The Fannies did name an album Thirteen after all!

The Chilton collection sounds like a good place to start. I'll keep a lookout for it.

As far as I know the only Boxtops song I've heard is The Letter, which I do like, so I'll have to get hold of a Best of from them as well.

cats56 said:
While Teenage Fanclub are heavily Big Star influenced, there are also huge lashing's of Neil Young, Byrds, Beach Boy's, Beatles in their sound.

"Bandwagonesque" is the closest to Big Star (might as well be called Big Star4). A previous album "Catholic Education" would be closer to Dinasour Jnr. I highly recommend "Grand Prix" and " Songs From Northern Britian." which are more Neil Young, Byrds in style.

Gotta say "I love the Fannies!"

Yep, the Fannies are all class. I've only got Bandwagonesque and Grand Prix but I know some of their other stuff quite well. Aint that enough is actually one of my favourite songs of all time. I keep meaning to get Songs from northern Britain and Thirteen, but too many cds to buy, not enough funds! I've seen them live a couple of times in Adelaide, but for some silly reason didn't go along when they were here last year.

cats56 said:
Hope this is of some assistance TR. Would appreciate some feedback once you hear some of these recommendations.

Absolutely. Thanks again for your input.

Thanks for your kind words T.R. It's great to hear people who are also passionate about quality artists/music.

I was probably fortunate that in the early seventies i knew a guy who had just arrived from the U.S. who was also passionately into music. He saw that i had some Badfinger and Box Tops records and mentioned that Alex Chilton (Box Top's) had a new band called "Big Star". Managed to get #1 Record in about '74. The rest was a gradual process.

Alex's drug and alcohol abuse and disenchantment with the politic's of the music business has seen an erratic solo career but the high point's are worth the effort.

His gig @ the P.O.W. was generally his memphis style solo material. Virtually saying "show me the money" and you will get "Big Star".

Obviously depending on your budget and what i garner from your post i would purchase something like this;

1. Third/Sister Lover's.
2. 19 Years: A Collection or Bach's Bottom.
3. Something/Anything?
4. Frosting On The Beater.
5. A Box Top's comp. (Camden have one for $10. There quality is usually reasonable). Alex Chilton was 16 when he did "The Letter"! What a voice.
6. Song's From Northern Britian.

Warwick or Pig from Greville Record's in Prahran would probably be the most helpful on all Big Star.

I would get all these before i got Columbia (really only for completist's). Havn't bothered with the latest Big Star effort yet as have heard fairly average reviews and the couple of tracks i've heard are only o.k. But no doubt will get one day.

Let me know your opinion of some of these albums once you get them T.R.

Have many other albums i can recommend in a similar style which i will let you know about if you are interested later on.

Nice Cats56. I am a huge Fannies fan and have only recently got into Big Star and can certainly see the influence of Big Star on their music. I will certainly look into some of the other recordings that you recommend.

Truck Rutten I would certainly buy Songs from Northern Britain (it is my personal fave). It is one awesome album.

cats56, have you read the Big Star book by Rob Jovanovic? I was about to order it from amazon.com when I noticed that there's another Big Star book by the same author, but with a different title on amazon.co.uk. I'm assuming the content is the same.....do you know why there are two different versions?

p.s. Good luck for the big game next weekend :)

Truck Rutten said:
cats56, have you read the Big Star book by Rob Jovanovic? I was about to order it from amazon.com when I noticed that there's another Big Star book by the same author, but with a different title on amazon.co.uk. I'm assuming the content is the same.....do you know why there are two different versions?

p.s. Good luck for the big game next weekend :)

Thanks for the info TR. No i don't have the book so can't really help. Perhaps if you emailed amazon they may be able to shed some light on this. I'll make a note of this and look @ purchasing one of them down the track as i have about 10 books (not all music) that i'm waiting to read at the moment.

P.S. I think the Catter's have done pretty well to get this far with a patched up side but think you guy's will be too good @ home.

Have you purchased any more Chilton/ related material as yet?

cats56 said:
Thanks for the info TR. No i don't have the book so can't really help. Perhaps if you emailed amazon they may be able to shed some light on this. I'll make a note of this and look @ purchasing one of them down the track as i have about 10 books (not all music) that i'm waiting to read at the moment.

P.S. I think the Catter's have done pretty well to get this far with a patched up side but think you guy's will be too good @ home.

Have you purchased any more Chilton/ related material as yet?

Congratulations on the great win the other night mate.

I reckon I'm going to order the Big Star book from Amazon US, so I'll let you know what it's like.

No I haven't got myself any more Chilton related stuff yet. Been on the lookout for Sister Lovers but haven't seen it in any shops lately. Guess I'll just order it.

Hey TR and fellow Fanny lover's! Picked up the US version of "Thirteen" with the 6 bonus cut's @ JB for $13. Recommended with the bonus cut's especially the cover of the Burrito's "Older Guy's."

Gotta say the Fanny's are getting a pretty good working over @ the moment!

Thanks for the Congrat's TR. A pretty gutsy win by the Catter's.

cats56 said:
Hey TR and fellow Fanny lover's! Picked up the US version of "Thirteen" with the 6 bonus cut's @ JB for $13. Recommended with the bonus cut's especially the cover of the Burrito's "Older Guy's."

Gotta say the Fanny's are getting a pretty good working over @ the moment!

Thanks for the Congrat's TR. A pretty gutsy win by the Catter's.

That's a steal. Which JB did you get it from? Thirteen is on my list of albums to buy. I have to admit that I don't know anything about the Burritos. What's their story?

I gave Bandwagonesque a spin on the weekend. That is a super album.

Truck Rutten said:
That's a steal. Which JB did you get it from? Thirteen is on my list of albums to buy. I have to admit that I don't know anything about the Burritos. What's their story?

I gave Bandwagonesque a spin on the weekend. That is a super album.

Got it @ JB in Brighton and also noticed it @ JB Southland (same price). Hey just realised Thirteen for $13 bucks, wonder if there's anything in that? Once again the Alex Chilton tie in (Thirteen from Big star's #1 Record, 13 tracks on the album although now 19 with the bonus tracks).

This album is a grower, not as consistent as Bandwagonesque but a darker grungier sounding album. The album was a reaction to the record industries attempt at trying to hype the band. Of course , like their ultimate hero they rejected this immediately and have some stabs at the record industry on the album. At times these good time Glaswegians sound a trifle ********ed off although nothing like "The Posies" did on "Amazing Disgrace." For your info. the bonus tracks (as they are not listed, are in order: Genius Envy, Don's Gone Columbia, Chords of Fame, Weird Houses, Golden Glades, Older Guys.

Sorry TR the Burrito's are "The Flying Burrrito Brothers". As you've probably noticed i have a habit of abbreviating some things.

P.S. I'm still of the opinion that the "Gene Clark" track on 13 at least musically should be titled "Neil Jung" and vice-versa on Grand Prix.

Gotta love Chris Bell...voice like an angel and wrote fantastic songs.
How good are I Am the Cosmos and You and Your sister?
The Posies adored Big Star...as for The Teenies has anyone else found their albums since Songs from Northern Britain a little off the boil?
As a matter of interest, Ken Stringfellow from the Posies is a touring guitarist for REM and has done vocals for a band called the Orange Humble Band...anyone who likes the Stems, or the Someloves will like this, I think.

never really got into Big Star

I cant remeber them been played on radio in australia in the 70s ever.

Probably of all the bands that never toured australia
the Replacements and Big Star would be on a lot of peoples wish list.

I only have September Girls, In the street and Back of a cab on mp3.

The English Band the Records where my Big Star!!
However I be happy to get #record/radio city if I could find it . Doesnt one of the guys from Even wear a Big Star T shirt 25 hours a day?

As for The Posies
Frosting on the beater is my fave album

As Teenage Fanclub
4766 secondsThe Compilation a short cut to Teenage Fanclub is a good starter

Lach72 said:
The Posies adored Big Star...as for The Teenies has anyone else found their albums since Songs from Northern Britain a little off the boil?

It is pretty hard to top both Songs from Northern Britain and Grand Prix but I agree that Howdy is not that good apart from a couple of songs, but I really like Man Made - I think it is an excellent album.

cats56 said:
Got it @ JB in Brighton and also noticed it @ JB Southland (same price). Hey just realised Thirteen for $13 bucks, wonder if there's anything in that? Once again the Alex Chilton tie in (Thirteen from Big star's #1 Record, 13 tracks on the album although now 19 with the bonus tracks).

This album is a grower, not as consistent as Bandwagonesque but a darker grungier sounding album. The album was a reaction to the record industries attempt at trying to hype the band. Of course , like their ultimate hero they rejected this immediately and have some stabs at the record industry on the album. At times these good time Glaswegians sound a trifle ********ed off although nothing like "The Posies" did on "Amazing Disgrace." For your info. the bonus tracks (as they are not listed, are in order: Genius Envy, Don's Gone Columbia, Chords of Fame, Weird Houses, Golden Glades, Older Guys.

Sorry TR the Burrito's are "The Flying Burrrito Brothers". As you've probably noticed i have a habit of abbreviating some things.

P.S. I'm still of the opinion that the "Gene Clark" track on 13 at least musically should be titled "Neil Jung" and vice-versa on Grand Prix.

Had a look at my local JB the other night and they didn't have Thirteen in stock. When I got home I checked out JB's online store and ordered Thirteen, Songs from northern Britain and Sister Lovers. Can't wait for them to rock up :thumbsu:

Definitely some good Big Star vibes there with all those 13s! I did borrow Thirteen off a mate once and quite liked it, but never ended up buying it. The only song I really know off it is The cabbage, which I quite like.

I did wonder if you were talking about the Flying Burrito Brothers, but for some reason decided it must have been someone else. I've actually got Gilded Palace of sin and Burrito Deluxe, just haven't listened to them enough to know all the songs on them.

Truck Rutten said:
Had a look at my local JB the other night and they didn't have Thirteen in stock. When I got home I checked out JB's online store and ordered Thirteen, Songs from northern Britain and Sister Lovers. Can't wait for them to rock up :thumbsu:

Definitely some good Big Star vibes there with all those 13s! I did borrow Thirteen off a mate once and quite liked it, but never ended up buying it. The only song I really know off it is The cabbage, which I quite like.

I did wonder if you were talking about the Flying Burrito Brothers, but for some reason decided it must have been someone else. I've actually got Gilded Palace of sin and Burrito Deluxe, just haven't listened to them enough to know all the songs on them.

Some extremely good listening on the way TR! Enjoy. (Have no doubt you will).

Lach72 said:
As a matter of interest, Ken Stringfellow from the Posies is a touring guitarist for REM and has done vocals for a band called the Orange Humble Band...anyone who likes the Stems, or the Someloves will like this, I think.

Yes Chris Bell's vocal chords were made of gold, that's for sure. Every time I hear him sing the line "all I want to do, is to spend some time with you" in You and your sister, I just smile at how brilliantly fragile and beautiful it is. The way he sings the word time, almost brings a tear to the eye :)

From what I've heard of the Fannies, post Songs from northern Britain, I'd have to say that in general the material isn't as strong. Some of it is still bloody good mind you, but just not quite up to the level of their previous work.