Bigger picture

I am a massive believer in that consistent poor onfield performances are an indication of bigger issues within the club.

Gold Coast - Unacceptable loss 7-1 in the first quarter absolute rubbish.
Richmond - The perfect example of why I do not understand what is going on. 7-1 in the second, utter dominace in the third, football that would beat anyone.
Adelaide -Another performance where we just didn't give anywhere near enough.
Brisbane - This loss was horrid. Any one mentions J Brown as a reason is deluded. We should have won that game in a canter. We played like we didn't give a f***.

I have spoken about needing to turn a corner and I really thought that we were appraoching it.

Last night needs to be the catalyst for something because we cannot continue to allow shit truck sides to beat us.

If you are a North Melbourne member this team(players & coaches) is currently cheating you out of money, They are simply not performing at the level that they are capable of.

This team has shown they have the talent to push every side in the competition. What they are putting up onfield is bullshit, and the consistency in the ways in which they have lost for me now points to issues off field.

Something has gotta give because 100% they can give more than they are right now. In 2007 we made top four because we had a group (players coaches) that leveraged the desire to survive. You mix this team with that desire we'd win the flag.

Cue broken record but Bastinac getting a handball bouncing off him v Adelaide with his back to play - and no repercussions - cemented what I'd suspected about the level of application.

And before this season I might've actually believed everyone was putting in, that the impression of laziness was an illusion of the big stage.

Then Nahas turns up and does half his teammates a disservice by clearly busting a gut running to position or applying physical pressure.

Well done Robbie, you went and showed exactly how lazy some of your more credentialed and talented peers had been all this time.

We should really collectively email the club and let them know our thoughts. Would like to think it might achieve something but in reality probably not...... Just settle in for a ride of mediocrity I guess!

Cue broken record but Bastinac getting a handball bouncing off him v Adelaide with his back to play - and no repercussions - cemented what I'd suspected about the level of application.

And before this season I might've actually believed everyone was putting in, that the impression of laziness was an illusion of the big stage.

Then Nahas turns up and does half his teammates a disservice by clearly busting a gut running to position or applying physical pressure.

Well done Robbie, you went and showed exactly how lazy some of your more credentialed and talented peers had been all this time.

I'd also put Greenwood and Spud in the Nahas category of giving it their all being their last chance.

They make mistakes sure, but there is never a lack of application. I can accept it if we lose to a better team if the players are having a red hot crack.

But seeing soft ***** like Bastinac and McKenzie continue to get games makes me sick. It is a reflection of the whole clubs weak mentality.

Can on I be honest with Patch? I thought he showed up in the final quarter. The last three minutes. He had intensity and was actually playing with urgency.
It's complete bs that is what it takes though

History is littered with talented teams that didn't make it. Talent only takes you so far, you simply don't win premierships without the accompanied work ethic, they go hand in hand.

As the OP said, the 2007 side is miles ahead of this version for the will to win. We are now the classic yoyo side. I expect we will bounce back in some capacity this week because we were embarrassed, then it will be BAU in some slogging win over the Saints.

In some ways I actually think this was a loss that the club needed to shake it out of it's belief that it is just simply all going to happen, but the strong doubt remains with me that this playing group and leadership really have the drive and will to enact on the talent. Time will tell.

That would be great if it were the case, and not having a go at you personally Fles but I feel I have read this so many times now year after year where we all hope the penny will drop after a disgraceful performance......we might come out for one week on fire or whatever, but ultimately nothing really changes.

Regardless of the coach and his issues, I simply think the players don't want it enough regardless. They still get the high paychecks, their unwarranted extensions, have a laugh with their mates throughout the week, still get picked despite not putting in, get told success is just around the corner etc etc.

It's a bad culture. Looking in from the outside it appears like a primary school environment of nurture and kid gloves, no where near ruthless enough to succeed at the top level.

That would be great if it were the case, and not having a go at you personally Fles but I feel I have read this so many times now year after year where we all hope the penny will drop after a disgraceful performance......we might come out for one week on fire or whatever, but ultimately nothing really changes.

Regardless of the coach and his issues, I simply think the players don't want it enough regardless. They still get the high paychecks, their unwarranted extensions, have a laugh with their mates throughout the week, still get picked despite not putting in, get told success is just around the corner etc etc.

It's a bad culture. Looking in from the outside it appears like a primary school environment of nurture and kid gloves, no where near ruthless enough to succeed at the top level.

No offence taken mate, I completely agree with all that you have said.

What I actually meant is a loss like that should change things and I feel like it is going to be the only way we would get our backsides into gear. But like you, I am not really sure anymore that this will change things. None of us can gaze into the future to see how all of this will turn out, thus my comment time will tell, but we have been shown very little to suggest that this maybe the turning point. That possibly pains me more than anything North related.

I dont think a loss like this will change anything.

The playing group will fire up this week but will be done over by a well drilled team by 5 goals and then we'll go on to shit the bed against woeful sides and maybe grind out a few wins. Its likely that if we lose to Geelong, Adelaide or Carlton that we will play similar to last night.

No heart. No desire. No worries.

One does wonder how many reality checks we need. I've learned my lesson.

I find myself wondering what would need to happen to believe that we are moving forward.

At the very minimum this year will be a disappointment because we did not seize what was in front of us when it was there to be taken.

My suspicion with the weekend is we were counting our lucky stars playing the team we would send to the bottom of the ladder and were applying far more focus to this weeks match against Hawthorn, the genuine scalp that would make us. We thought we would be able to play first gear soft and unaccountable footy and bank the four points, leaving us primed for an attack on the Hawks. We thought the ease of which we were getting it into our forward 50, Petrie clunking them on his way to ten goals, this should be a walk in the park...

I've often heard it said that Norths problem is in their heads. It is. They genuinely show disdain and disrespect to particular lowly opposition and again it has bitten us in the ass. We disrespected what they wanted to achieve for their departing club champion/legend.

Nothing surprises me with this mob anymore. We'll probably beat Hawthorn this week because we've spent two weeks preparing for it, forgetting that annoying trip to Brisbane in between. And if we win the bandaids will come out again and we'll have won JUST the amount of games we had expected to by that moment and yet again we'll be hovering just up of middle because North of this modern era prides itself on the perception of neither achieving or unachieving. Meanwhile we, the fans and the lifeblood of the club these boys represent, continue to seek medical attention for our sore knuckles and necks.

Meanwhile we, the fans and the lifeblood of the club these boys represent, continue to seek medical attention for our sore knuckles and necks.
The weird thing is I have skin missing from knuckles from both of my hands and have no idea how I lost it... must be been punching walls in my sleep on Saturday night.

Well said Filthy. We got ahead of ourselves, as is our custom.

I don't get it mate.

How do we get ahead of achieving nothing?

it boggles my mind.

I need some strawberry quik and a lie down.

Yeah, I thought that about the Geelong game.

I have thought about this a few times.

After the Gold Coast game.

After the Kadinia park game.

After the Crows game.

What is it really going to take to wake the players and coaches up to what is being thrown away here?

At what point is enough enough and we see them fight through it?

I don't get it mate.

How do we get ahead of achieving nothing?

it boggles my mind.

I need some strawberry quik and a lie down.
Low expectations. This group haven't set their eyes on the big reward, they're content to beat a good team, not fixated on being a good team.

Yep. If the game against GC didn't shake/shame them into never performing like that again, why would the game against Brisbane?

(Puts hand up) Yep, me too!

Anyone else?

Round 1 was my epiphany. A lacklustre pre season followed by that. I refuse to be sucked in by good performances or kick the cat after a stinker.

Until this team team proves otherwise, we are a middle of the road average. This team is too dishonest to trust. I will need to see a season of honest footy before they win back my confidence.

I am a massive believer in that consistent poor onfield performances are an indication of bigger issues within the club.
That statement is 100% correct. Most of you are spot on or confused about BS as was I.
He is an excellent coach, however he has lost the respect of some of the playing group.

Ever wondered why he was given a contract extension last year???
It was to send a message to dissidents within the playing group that he is supported by the club.

I mentioned in another thread, that there was an "incident" between BS and a player, which would do nobody including the club any good to
divulge. As it is largely irrelevant to his coaching style.

What is relevant is that there is a small number of players that have lost respect for him.

That statement is 100% correct. Most of you are spot on or confused about BS as was I.
He is an excellent coach, however he has lost the respect of some of the playing group.

Ever wondered why he was given a contract extension last year???
It was to send a message to dissidents within the playing group that he is supported by the club.

I mentioned in another thread, that there was an "incident" between BS and a player, which would do nobody including the club any good to
divulge. As it is largely irrelevant to his coaching style.

What is relevant is that there is a small number of players that have lost respect for him.

I'm guessing you'll keep tight regarding this so..

..is the player still at the club?

..is the "incident" whatever it was now forgotten or is there still the stench of dissent in the group?

Does sound odd in light of the number players extending contracts.