Player Watch Billy Frampton

WTF???? It was an excellent tackle with zero malice and an unfortunate outcome. As a Blues fan, our two teams have a mutual tribal hatred, but I hope Billy gets off. The AFL is turning our great game into a marshmallow fight.
Appreciate the support for the integrity of the game…….

………. FREE BILLY

Watching it frame by frame Billy is actually trying to grab the ball rather than tackling the man. He gets both hands to the ball. Checkers is trying to rise up against Billy but can’t and then concedes to the momentum he has initiated going forward. I can’t see Billy actually grabbing Checkers. His upper hand lets go of the ball as both succumb to gravity and momentum. Billy’s lower hand never attempts to grab Brody and pull him forward and by this time Billy is already falling backward. I really feel that Billy actually never tried to tackle Brody in the usual sense but rather tried to get the ball. You could probably argue that was showing duty of care rather than carelessness. Don’t see any driving action from Billy at all.

WTF???? It was an excellent tackle with zero malice and an unfortunate outcome. As a Blues fan, our two teams have a mutual tribal hatred, but I hope Billy gets off. The AFL is turning our great game into a marshmallow fight.
Doesn't help our cause when many of our own seem to be believe he deserves a 3 week suspension.

There’s a lot that puzzles me in footy. But right up there is this. Somehow an illegal trip action receives a lesser punishment than a legal tackle which went horribly wrong.

One was a football action which all players are encouraged to do, especially a defender trying to stop a forward. And due to a very unfortunate set of circumstances it resulted in an awful injury.

While the other was entirely preventable, unnecessary, was intended to deliberately hurt if not injure, and is what used to be known affectionately as a ‘dog act’.

Bewildering.

Second action looked to be an attempt to roll / turn Mihocek, which is what the AFL now wants. Momentum and trying to fight the tackle meant that didn’t occur
That’s exactly what happened. He tried to roll Mihocek and in fact partially succeeded with Brodys hips and torso landing on top of Frampton.

Suspect this will be the core of the argument, along with Mihocek slipping, and ducking with forward momentum that came from attempting to regain his footing.

There’s a lot that puzzles me in footy. But right up there is this. Somehow an illegal trip action receives a lesser punishment than a legal tackle which went horribly wrong.

One was a football action which all players are encouraged to do, especially a defender trying to stop a forward. And due to a very unfortunate set of circumstances it resulted in an awful injury.

While the other was entirely preventable, unnecessary, was intended to deliberately hurt if not injure, and is what used to be known affectionately as a ‘dog act’.

Bewildering.
The AFL have all the foresight and judgement of a brushed potato.

They make things up from year to year, from decision to decision.

For example, their favourite hobby is to change a rule to address a trend they don't like. End result: The game adjusts, the rule change throws up unintended consequences and our incompetent administration are left chasing their tails year after year with more changes and more new issues.

Same thing with how they treat these kinds of footy accidents. The entire premise that this "offence" is based on runs contrary to the way our game is played. To what the game actually is.

What we're left with is a fair player trying to fairly tackle his mate, with a highly regrettable injury occurring as an occasional and INEVITABLE by-product of a high speed, collision sport played by giant men. In waltz an utterly inept AFL, publicly making BS statements before the case is heard, in an attempt to steel man their case in the eyes of the footy public.

This suspension would do nothing to help anyone. It's a joke.

Bewildering.
I'd reserve your puzzlement until after the tribunal hearing. Right now, the question is whether the tackle was legal - or more accurately whether Billy upheld his DoC in the tackle. If that is found to have happened, then there will be no suspension.

I'd class Kosi's trip as a "mild" one - he was basically trying to impede Bruz moving forward. Anything like a good old fashioned shin on shin hack that did some damage would see Kos going straight to the tribunal.

I'd reserve your puzzlement until after the tribunal hearing. Right now, the question is whether the tackle was legal - or more accurately whether Billy upheld his DoC in the tackle. If that is found to have happened, then there will be no suspension.

I'd class Kosi's trip as a "mild" one - he was basically trying to impede Bruz moving forward. Anything like a good old fashioned shin on shin hack that did some damage would see Kos going straight to the tribunal.

Yes, I know the ‘legality’ of Frampton’s tackle is yet to be established.

I don’t agree that Kozi’s act was a ‘good old fashioned shin on shin hack’. Kozi was on the ground and Maynard was running at the ball, and the quickest way to get there was to jump over Kozi. Putting the leg up was intended to trip Maynard, as he was jumping. I’m not even citing the shoulder popping as a problem. Rather, Maynard could have been more severely impacted. It was not a couple of physical footballers interacting in an equal way.

I’m a Kozi fan, he’s an amazing footballer, and I have no problem with Melbourne paying him - is it $1.7m p.a.? - but it was a dirty act.

I don’t agree that Kozi’s act was a ‘good old fashioned shin on shin hack’. Kozi was on the ground and Maynard was running at the ball, and the quickest way to get there was to jump over Kozi. Putting the leg up was intended to trip Maynard, as he was jumping. I’m not even citing the shoulder popping as a problem. Rather, Maynard could have been more severely impacted. It was not a couple of physical footballers interacting in an equal way.

I’m a Kozi fan, he’s an amazing footballer, and I have no problem with Melbourne paying him - is it $1.7m p.a.? - but it was a dirty act.
Read my post again - I was suggesting a shin on shin hack was much worse. Kozi was intending to stop/trip - and he deserved a fine - but it wasn't that bad in the pantheon of trips.

He plays that way. No one reacts.

Read my post again - I was suggesting a shin on shin hack was much worse. Kozi was intending to stop/trip - and he deserved a fine - but it wasn't that bad in the pantheon of trips.

You’re right in that I misread your second paragraph. Might have been because you stated that Kosi’s trip was a ‘mild one’ - and I saw red. Mild-ish in its outcome, but not mild in what could have been.

If there is a pantheon of trips, I reckon it’s up there for effort on Kozi’s part, raising his leg from his prone position. Bruzzy was looking straight ahead and didn’t see it. He was significantly disadvantaged.

Jesus! Thats some serious carnage, hope she’s okay and her rehab is progressing well
Still early days, she's having to learn how to move her leg again basically.

It's a massive injury, I'm not sure whether to be upset or impressed.
OMFG!
That is literally the worst set of (non-fatal) injuries I’ve ever heard from a single incident in any sport.
Very best wishes to your daughter in her hopefully full recovery.
I'll be honest, if I didn't see it first hand, I'd have a few questions, but it was just an unlucky incident, leg hyper-extended then at the very same time the tackler fell with her and then on to her in a twisting motion, all the twisting, weight and torsion of both girls through the leg itself.
Thanks for the wishes, she's gonna need it!

Was the tackler a fully loaded road train, because feck me that’s a long list of injuries for a tackle.
Ahh... unloaded this one.

The tackler was no bigger than my daughter, she being 5'3'' 50kegs.
Miss 14 said it was like hearing someone step on a bundle of sticks, which made me shudder and now I can't stop thinking about that.

Still early days, she's having to learn how to move her leg again basically.

It's a massive injury, I'm not sure whether to be upset or impressed.

I'll be honest, if I didn't see it first hand, I'd have a few questions, but it was just an unlucky incident, leg hyper-extended then at the very same time the tackler fell with her and then on to her in a twisting motion, all the twisting, weight and torsion of both girls through the leg itself.
Thanks for the wishes, she's gonna need it!
Hope your daughter recovers as fast as possible and doesn't lose her sense of humour or love for sport. 🥰

Can be easily proven by the footage that the momentum of Checkers caused Billy to lose his footing, resulting in the second action. Swann is throwing the AFL’s case out to the public to try to gain support, but when you have the majority of the public and AFL media saying he doesn’t deserve a ban after looking at it with their own eyes, the “second action” argument doesn’t hold much weight.

+ the umpires in the moment looking at it through their own eyes from a plum position didn’t see it appropriate to award Melbourne a free kick for a dangerous tackle.

Doesn't help our cause when many of our own seem to be believe he deserves a 3 week suspension.

That’s their Monday / Tuesday response when the emotions from the weekend have settled and people are feeling gracious.

Their Friday / Saturday / Sunday response will be “WTF @!@!!! We lost again, we’re a bunch of old codgers coached by a dud coach, sack ‘em all and play the kids!!!”

Not going to waste my effort on the Kozi one except to ask when was the last time a player was suspended for tripping. It’s pretty rare these days.
The last time an AFL player was actually suspended for tripping was April 2021:

• The Player: Mark Keane (Collingwood Magpies)
  • The Incident: During a Round 5 clash against the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium, Keane intentionally tripped Eagles forward Josh Kennedy during the second quarter

its a collingwood only suspension