BK's 50 game countdown thread

collingwood
Seeing that Ben is the most talked about player on our board, i think its a momentous time in all of our lives as we approach Ben's 50th game. As you would all know, he is at 48 now, and with a near gauranteed game this week he will reach 49. All going to plan he will reach 50 vs St.Kilda, for which im expecting you will all eagerly await.

I hope you all keep your Ben talk up.

2 TO GO!!!!!!

Go BK!!! BK Fan Club in full swing!!!

Its a tragedy that a promising career can be cut short at just 49 games.....

Tom Davidson will get to 50 before Ben Kinnear.

If he plays 50 games, he's played 49 more games then he should have. Well done, Kinnear, once you get a milestone, you can spend your final days at Willi enjoying the VFL life.

Lol This thread is funny coz it ain't.

Im gonna give props to BK here. He Is a No Talent dud, everyoen admits it, but whatever hes done to still be here now, it is amazing. For whatever you've doen to stay here you deserve a 50th, Good Stuff.lol

allthough I'm pretty much of the BK bangwagon, go BK son you can get there, youll do something that many havent done before and thats to get to 50, even if it took you 7 years...

Sad to say I think he'll get there. He has a contract for next season.

if and when he does make it to 50 games the size of his tribute on the banner should reflect his overall contribution to the club.
10cmX10cm should just about do it.

and if the banner states "congratulations ben 50 GREAT games for the pies" or something like that someones going down.

my tribute would read;
" for the love of god please retire"

would love to read some more hopefully better suggestions as to what the banner should say.

Originally posted by tomaraya
if and when he does make it to 50 games the size of his tribute on the banner should reflect his overall contribution to the club.
10cmX10cm should just about do it.

and if the banner states "congratulations ben 50 GREAT games for the pies" or something like that someones going down.

my tribute would read;
" for the love of god please retire"

would love to read some more hopefully better suggestions as to what the banner should say.

I reckon the banner should read...

'Ben Kinnear -
Not sure whats more unbelievable. That you've reached 50 AFL games...or that the cheersquad is bothering to acknowledge your milestone'

Or how bout....

"Ben Kinear - Congratulations on finally finally finally reaching 50 games....now F*u*c*K off back to diamond valley league you hack!'

I reckon that one is much more appropriate.

In all seriousness, if he gets a mention on the banner, it is an utter disgrace, and embarrasment and a slight on the the footy club.

The last time i've been so embarrassed was when Patterson got a lap of honour at the MCG after retirement at the old age of 26. :D

Oh for ****s sake he is a disgrace to all of the greats that have worn the black and white (not just Collingwood but every single sporting identity that wears black and white in the world).

He had his chance to step up to the plate on Sunday but decided to kick the ****ing ball into the man on the mark.

As if you wouldn't choose Mullins or Walker over him when Rhyce Shaw fell sick.

Congratulations BK Baggers, your mainstream, thoughtless ideology has converted a once valued member of the BK fan club. Guess_Who, puting aside my knowledge of you as a person, you are weak! i mean WEAK! your fawning commitment to Ben and loyalty to your initial belief is a disgrace. There is no pun intended but i pity your lack of individualality and your inability to stay true. On and off the bandwagon like a richmond supporter you are.
I can handle Ben being bagged by his loyal band of haters but it pains a little to hear your bagging of a player you once admired.
Even when you do give him a wrap you always sour it with a negative comment to protect yourself from losing touch with the mainstream fans. You are sucked in by their negative attitude. The BK fan club might have lost a member but without him they are twice as strong!!! Go Ben!!!!

Originally posted by brentoncowell
Even when you do give him a wrap you always sour it with a negative comment to protect yourself from losing touch with the mainstream fans. You are sucked in by their negative attitude.

He's not sucked in by anyone's negative attitude.

He's sucked in by the fact that BK is f**king sh*t.

Ben's 50th game banner:

'Congratulations Ben on your 50th
Thats 50 more than anyone of the losers
on the Collingwood Board of Big Footy'

Thats a bit harsh mate, im on the collingwood big footy board, and i havent muttered a bad word about kinnear....not that im not thinking anything on the matter though :p

If he gets there, then congrats, he has battled through adversity (his own lack of talent) and reached 50 games

it would be interesting to see if it is acknowledged on the banner......

Ben's 50th game banner:

'Congratulations Ben on your 50th
Thats 50 more than anyone of the losers
on the Collingwood Board of Big Footy'

And when is he going to play these 2 games he needs to get there?

Apologies to Grayza and a few others. Ive lost empathy for my follow collingwood supporters in this topic as i have recieved many an insult for liking a player. I enjoy it. Though it would be disrespectful towards ben to not acknowledge his 50th, i will still cherish the moment and respect Ben's perserverance.

brenton, just out of curiousity, what did you think of Ben's "shot" on goal when the games was there for the taking?

Here's a suggestion for the banner....

"You've finally reached your 50 game milestone
For this we congratulate you bud
And on your special day we'll ignore the fact
That you are officially the AFL's biggest dud!"

:p

Originally posted by Lestat
Here's a suggestion for the banner....

"You've finally reached your 50 game milestone
For this we congratulate you bud
And on your special day we'll ignore the fact
That you are officially the AFL's biggest dud!"

:p

I LIKE IT.
well done lestat. this should be sent to the club as it is most probable that the cheer squad is struggling to find the right words with which to commerorate this great occasion.

leonmagic, id be crazy to defend the kick. It was a nice looking punt off the boot, just poor judgement of the distance. i felt the pain probaly more than anyone on this board, because i knew as soon as he did it i would have to be on here defending him.

FIGJAM,I'm a loser, i just dont spend my hours thinking of insults for ben or any other player in the league for that matter. I havnt played at the top level so i have only the criticism rights of any supporter.Im not saying not to spend all your energy to formulated taunts for Ben, im just gonna be there to defend him, but not even Slater and Gordon could defend that kick on the weekend.

Like I've said before, I had a couple of beers with Benny and Michael Gardiner (the **** one) a few years ago, and I haven't got anything but respect for BK. He's a genuinely good bloke.

It is sad that he has to be labeled inadequate for AFL football, as I'd have liked to have seen him make it, but unfortunately, he's not in the ball park.

But serious supporters require serious players. When we're being inundated with untalented footballers, especially ones whom seemingly escape the wrath of the coach, then we have the right to voice an opinion.

No, none of us have played league footy, but it doesn't for a second mean we know nothing about what's going on. We're professional spectators. We analyse this game to the enth degree on these boards and over a beer and at work etc.

We're certainly lacking the dimension that the coaches have; and that is, personal contact with the players. I never understood how Freeborn was consistently playing unaccountable football and getting 9 posession (9 kicks to contests plus obligatory run directly into opponent), over the likes of Didak and Scotland, who got more of it and hit opponents by foot. But reports suggest that Freeborn was a tippity top bloke. My argument was that he was a liability, based solely on an impartial analysis of his talent, compared to others on our list.

Maybe it's advantageous to be impartial to anything but a footballer's ability. MM seems to be easily sidetracked by charachter over ability. There are numerous examples. In fact, I'd venture to say there hasn't been an example of it every single week since he got here!

It's sad for Ben. I'm sure he's treating his opportunities with vigour and the respect that they deserve. But at the end of the day, he's being laughed at by everyone. I'll support him when he's on the park, the same way I supported Freeborn/Lane/Wild/Patto, but I reserve my right as a voting member and expert observer, to disagree with their selection in the team.

Some of you guys make me sick.

You all remember BK's bad kick into the man on the mark, but do any of you remember the composure he showed when handballing to neon in the square, not many others in the side could have done that.

And what about his form running into the grand final last year, he was easily in our best for 6 to 7 weeks running. OK his GF game was a shocker but he wasn't the only one.

Originally posted by joshieboy
Some of you guys make me sick.

You all remember BK's bad kick into the man on the mark, but do any of you remember the composure he showed when handballing to neon in the square, not many others in the side could have done that.

And what about his form running into the grand final last year, he was easily in our best for 6 to 7 weeks running. OK his GF game was a shocker but he wasn't the only one.

mate, i could've done that handball to leon let alone any other member of the team. his incompetency worked in his favor then as his handball went straight to leons boot instead of his hands.
and dont tell me he meant that. that would require some semblance of talent and a small fraction of footy smarts.
he has neither.

p.s 6 to 7 weeks running...........get your hand off it. would be lucky to string 6 to 7 minutes running.