Black vs Swan

Which is the better player?

• Simon Black

Votes: 82 80.4%
  • Dane Swan

Votes: 20 19.6%

You have to respect what Swan did during his prime years. Was almost impossible to stop him getting 30+ touches and regularly hit the scoreboard. And from a guy who doesn't look like much, and doesn't even look like he'd give a toss about playing professional footy. He definitely has Black covered in a few areas but I think overall, it would be very hard for anyone to say Black wasn't the better footballer. He just produced quality football year after year, well over a decades worth. Black for me.

Black also had the privilege of playing with 2 other Brownlow medalists in that midfield, Black was silk off both sides and a class act, better overall than Swan though? I don't think so, depends on what you're looking for i guess, both very different types, Voss v Swan would be a better poll.

Swan a ripper, but Black was Brisbane's best ever player IMO

Black also had the privilege of playing with 2 other Brownlow medalists in that midfield, Black was silk off both sides and a class act, better overall than Swan though? I don't think so, depends on what you're looking for i guess, both very different types, Voss v Swan would be a better poll.

Lol mate you need to take the Collingwood shades off for a second.

Swan was a gun, but Black was one of the goat. Voss vs. Swan would have been even more lopsided than this poll.

Swan's ceiling vs Black's consistency. Swan's best is comparable with the best of Ablett, Judd, Hird etc in my opinion but did Black ever play a bad game? Black also performed in finals, specifically grand finals which weren't Swan's hey day. Maybe my bias is talking but I love Swanny - the game really misses those explosive, game-changing types like him.

Agree with this except the finals bit. In GFs Swan didnt have his greatest days but he ripped it up in many finals matches. Plenty of BOGs.

Even as a Pies fan I have to go Black. He was about the most consistent players I've ever seen. Swan's best I feel was better, but Black was consistently good across his entire career.

I’m going Swan, he was a lynchpin, he was explosive as well as an accumulator and kicked goals
Black was a hand pass master inside mid though, except Voss Aker Lappin and Power were better than Pendlebury and Thomas as a whole
There was a sort of delay between people realising how good Swan was and how good he had been for a couple of seasons

Black was the most creative midfielder I've seen. A once in a generation type talent. Swan was good but I think Black has him covered as a footballer.

Swan was our no1 tag magnet since Buckley retired in 2007, the Lions had 4 tag worthy mids, both were great players but also very different, Swan was more your Voss type with amazing running power, his kicking wasn't great but he improved in that area as his career wore on.

So IMO a better poll would be Voss v Swan and Black v Pendles.

Didn’t bother reading the thread because I imagine everyone would vote Black. Swan was a gun, but everything Swan could do Black could do, but better, ad to that Black could do things (like kick the football well) that Sean could never do.

Black never had Swans power and sheer ball winning ability, was rarely tagged either.