Bloodlines!

• Thread starter Thread starter Ripper

It's funny, before making their debut Crowley, Peaker and Mundy were handy WAFL players but certainly weren't dominating games. But all 3 have taken to the AFL like a duck to water and look to have a long future at the Fremantle Football Club. Peake's pace makes him an important part of the squad and could be developed as a centre square option for next season.

He kicked a nice left footer Friday. Lace up, penetraing.

Takes after his old man he could kick both feet equally.

For his body size, Peake does really well. I saw a tackle he laid on big Dean Cox in the derby and he did pretty darn well for a guy that had a 40kg+ difference in weight. He'll be a special player if he can put on a few kilos.

dominguez said:
It's funny, before making their debut Crowley, Peaker and Mundy were handy WAFL players but certainly weren't dominating games. But all 3 have taken to the AFL like a duck to water and look to have a long future at the Fremantle Football Club. Peake's pace makes him an important part of the squad and could be developed as a centre square option for next season.

So true. I think it is because they all have great poise and appear to have a lot of time and usually take the right option.

All Footballers rather than athletes.

You could probably add One Melee Dodd and M.J. to that list.

We have only seen glimpses of what the class of 2003 are going to be capable of.

dominguez said:
It's funny, before making their debut Crowley, Peaker and Mundy were handy WAFL players but certainly weren't dominating games. But all 3 have taken to the AFL like a duck to water

Funny how some look ordinary at WAFL level, but look really good at the next level up. Nathan Ablett may become another case in point, less than ordinary in the VFL, starting to show something at the higher level.

masai said:
Funny how some look ordinary at WAFL level, but look really good at the next level up. Nathan Ablett may become another case in point, less than ordinary in the VFL, starting to show something at the higher level.

There is the old adage that good teams make good players. You'd have to think that Peakey running around in the WAFL didn't have much to play with.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
There is the old adage that good teams make good players. You'd have to think that Peakey running around in the WAFL didn't have much to play with.

Yeah, I suppose playing for the Gummies would not help your game, as what good players do they have ............ ?.

Having said that, Slowfield should have been star at Subi as he would have been surrounded by alot of good players.

Teams make good players, teams makes coaches.

Thankfully larcom has left. He probably would have put Kgs onto Bomber and slowed him up like he did to Medders.

Dean Kemp managed to put on afew kgs in his time at the slime but when you have class you get by.

RIPPER_46 said:
They (well Dasler anyway) said he would never make it.

The harder the game got the better He went.

That is one trait in the Genes.

Well done Young Bomber!

What ! Trying to talk him up. What is it in the water down there with all the skinny runts ?

RIPPER_46 said:
They (well Dasler anyway) said he would never make it.

The harder the game got the better He went.

That is one trait in the Genes.

Well done Young Bomber!
Whatever tickles your pickle Ripper. Personally I would prefer to have a player who has a defensive side to his game rather than a downhill skier.

Peake will get 20 possessions but his opponent will get 30 possessions. BTW Bomber doesn't suit, it's a complete show of disrepect to his champion father.

masai said:
Dasler fair go, give credit where credit is due.

Brett is doing ok, 99% of us did not give him much chance of even getting a senior game.

I'm not saying he is going to be a champion, but he has shown a bit. The second senior season is the hardest.
Masai I give credit where it is due and fair comment that he has done ok, but nothing that stands out to me to deserve praise.

dasler said:
BTW Bomber doesn't suit, it's a complete show of disrepect to his champion father.

Well put......as has been said before, got this gig due to the name, like the shaws, like the clokes. The bloodline theory makes everyone feel warm & fuzzy but performance & ability should be determining factors for selection.

I think some of you are being pretty damn harsh on the kid. He's only played a few senior games, at a time when he probably wasn't quite ready for it physically and he played some damn good football. Most thought he'd be chewed up and spat out. His body hasn't matured yet, but he's already showing something special. Just about every so called footy expert commentating the game has said it, so if those of you knocking the kid know the game better than the likes of Wayne Carey and co then speak up!

Give him a chance to beef up with a good pre-season of weights training. His body will mature and other sides of his game will develop naturally. We honestly haven't seen enough of him to be a critic on those other aspects of his game.

fat wombat said:
We honestly haven't seen enough of him to be a critic on those other aspects of his game.
Maybe you should get down and support local footy ala WAFL more often then. I think most posters would be pleasantly surprised by the standard this season, especially South Fremantle and Subiaco.

fat wombat said:
so if those of you knocking the kid know the game better than the likes of Wayne Carey and co then speak up!

Why Fats, you are so forward.......not sure I would want to take any lessons or critique from wanye carey ;) Perhaps selecting another commentator would have strenghtened your arguement

oporto said:
Why Fats, you are so forward.......not sure I would want to take any lessons or critique from wanye carey ;) Perhaps selecting another commentator would have strenghtened your arguement

I think you will find that Wayne Carey has impressed a great cross section of people with his special comments this year. He definitely is no puppet and says what he thinks, he has made the transition from the field to the media very smoothly. He has alot more credability than Ed, Denis, Dermie, Gary, Mad Dog, McDermott, Walls and Hardie .......etc.

I remember watching Bomber Peake play, but I have been told that he didn't really show his class till he was close to mid 20's, this was after his body filled out. Does anyone know if this is correct?.

oporto said:
performance & ability should be determining factors for selection.
And you don't think his performances over the last few weeks more than justified his selection?

He may have got onto the list because of his name (but unlike other first-round father-son picks, he would have probably been a 2nd or 3rd rounder anyway), but that didn't get him onto Subi oval in the purple.

masai said:
I think you will find that Wayne Carey has impressed a great cross section of people with his special comments this year. He definitely is no puppet and says what he thinks, he has made the transition from the field to the media very smoothly. He has alot more credability than Ed, Denis, Dermie, Gary, Mad Dog, McDermott, Walls and Hardie .......etc.

The foxfooty Sunday team of Gerard Healy, Carey and Clinton Grybas was far and away the best commentary combination this year.

dominguez said:
The foxfooty Sunday team of Gerard Healy, Carey and Clinton Grybas was far and away the best commentary combination this year.

I had this discussion with my docker mate. How much did those blokes love you guys??? Carey and Healy are massive fans. No wonder you thought tye were the best :p

theorangeapple said:
I had this discussion with my docker mate. How much did those blokes love you guys??? Carey and Healy are massive fans. No wonder you thought tye were the best :p

Look at their competition :-

Ed and his puppets.

Gossage and Mad Dog.

Campbell and McDermott.

Quarters and Walls (plus Tim Lane who is ok).

Doesn't take alot for Grivas, Healy and Carey to be rated above those rabbles.

As Dasler said, the standard at WAFL level has been good this year. The top three sides in particular.
I can't understand the criticism of Peake this year - and I'm a fanatical South supporter.
The kid worked hard with East Freo and actually deserved his debut. His contribution at AFL level is all that could have been expected. Does he need to improve - yes, but gee he's got some mates. But he certainly shows that he has got some ability. In a choice between Peake and Schofield I know which one I would retain.
On bloodlines, I note with interest that the great Stephen Michael's young fella has featured amongst the best players with South colts on a few occasions this year.