Pratt = Premiers

Storm
Geelong Club legend Bobby Davies died Monday night.

Can't see the cats dropping this game now, they club/town love him, they won't let him go out on a losing note.

Who gives two hoots about the game, a gentleman of the AFL just passed away. There's a bigger picture. RIP Bobby.

Geelong Club legend Bobby Davies died Monday night.

Can't see the cats dropping this game now, they club/town love him, they won't let him go out on a losing note.

I tend to agree with you here PP. Was going to be a bloody tough game, but it will be twice as hard now.

Very sad new's though, he was a great man and I really liked him.

R.I.P Bobby.

True legend and comic genius !

Assuming Carlton will wear the black arm bands as well (if this is correct protocol ??? ). This guy transcends club loyalties.

He helped make the coverage of the game what it is today. Will be missed by more than just the Geelong faithful.
R.I.P. Bobby.

Managed to be funny without the sarcasm and put-downs that mascarade as sporting entertainment these days.

A list builder, captain, coach, mentor and proud benefactor of powerful sides going back 6 decades. Was at the very forefront of the original League Teams along with his great mates Jack and Lou. I cut my teeth on this fella's style of footy comedy and loved every minute of it. I will never forget him for that. RIP, The Geelong Flyer. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

davis-banner246a.jpg

A genuinely friendly, warm and compassionate person who loved his football and transcended club boundaries.

I, like Thy, grew up watching this guy on the box and he was always humourous and funny without having to resort to the bullshit that a lot of his fellow TV hosts descended to.

He is a great loss to the sport and to society in general and my sincere condolences go out to his family and friends.

RIP Bob Davis

Kudos to Blues posters for demonstrating such respect and class in reply to this post.

Bob was always a fan of the non sequitur, so in his honour it's fair to say that a football immortal has died.

I'm sure the Carlton Football Club will join in whatever is judged to be an acceptable way of noting his passing come Friday night.

Kudos to Blues posters for demonstrating such respect and class in reply to this post.

Bob was always a fan of the non sequitur, so in his honour it's fair to say that a football immortal has died.

I'm sure the Carlton Football Club will join in whatever is judged to be an acceptable way of noting his passing come Friday night.

There is going to be a minutes silence at the game and I am sure that every true Carlton supporter at the ground will join in willingly.

Like many others here, I grew up watching Bob, Lou & Jack on the TV. Always a very humble man, and a true 'Gentle'-man. A Geelong man through and through, but loved by all.

I'm really Glad he got to see your guys win a couple more premierships since his time.

RIP. Bobby, you truly are a legend of the game.

Who will ever forget, Bobby, Lou and Jack, I won't, the footy media have these guys to thank, Something special leaves footy when these old champions pass, he was a champion of the game, loved him up at the dias when the cats won in '07.

RIP Bob Davis :thumbsu:

There is going to be a minutes silence at the game and I am sure that every true human being supporter at the ground will join in willingly.

EFA.

Will be an honour being at the game to be able to pay respects with so many other football lovers.

still hope we smash em though...

Must have been gut wrenching for Bob Davis to present the Premiership Medallions to our players in 1995 - but he did it with grace, good humour and aplomb.

He is one of the greats and connections of this game that we of the "World of Sport/League Teams" generation grew up with and will be missed.

EFA.

Will be an honour being at the game to be able to pay respects with so many other football lovers.

still hope we smash em though...

good call mate... I just wish I was there... but I will have a minutes silence while I am in at work before the start of the game

Yeah I used to love watching him on League Teams and World of Sport in the 80s, he was always funny and wasn't as big a drongo as Louie..in fact back then Sammy Newman was the 'classy intellectual' footy brain, unlike to other old fogeys!

ANYHOO, no doubt the Cats will use his death as a motivator to smash us, hopefully the boys are just BETTER!

Must have been gut wrenching for Bob Davis to present the Premiership Medallions to our players in 1995 - but he did it with grace, good humour and aplomb.
why did bobby present medals to our men? did they not have an option back in those days for each side should they win? (which is what they do now, do they not?)

Back then they only arranged for one notable past player of the game to present the medallions - it just so happened they arranged for Bob Davis for the 1995 Grand Final.

The point I was making was that you wouldnt know from the way Bob Davis presented the medals to our boys that he had just seen the team he loved thrashed in a Grand Final (making it 4 Grand Final losses in 7 years) - as I said he did it with good grace, good humour (eg. the way he play acted on Harry Madden's height when he presented him with his medal) and aplomb.

I sure as hell wouldnt have been able to do it. :o