Bomber's Midfield

Watch out for Neagle. Had we not had the advantage of the old father/son rule in '05 he would've gone top 5! Unbelievable talent, it's not an if it's a when! In the VFL (I realise it's not the same thing) he was our most dominant forward (when he wasn't injured), with an addition of greater weights training he is the Lloyd of the future IMO!

He's been touted as special by the people who know since he began his fledgling career. I rate him to equal or better of any draft pick of ours in the Super draft. It's a big wrap for a one-gamer but I will be my head on the chopping board!!! Still raw, but at 19 will become a premier CHB or CHF!

Sorry mate, there is no way he would of gone anywhere near top 5.

wow.....thats a big wrap.

neagle is a bit of an unknown over here. Where can i find out about reserves form??

Can you fill me in on any others? my hope is rising.

Cheers

Do you get VFL? We get it on the ABC.

Dempsey, electrifying pace with skill to boot! Picked up in the same draft as Ryder (at no. 20 for memory), taking a little longer than I'd hoped to show his true potential (still only 20!). Again needs weight to compete against the mature bodied midfielders but has a great future if he is given the chance to string some games together!

Lee, injury prone. Has great potential and full of confidence. Could hold down a KP (Defence). May never see his full potential however if Knights axes him. He has been on the list but can't seem to shake bad luck.

As for Hislop and Houli I can only go by reputation. Hislop is nuggety and tenacious. Houli is a gifted with foot skills, a receiver who can kick goals.

Sorry mate, there is no way he would of gone anywhere near top 5.

Some players take longer to develop, take Koschiszke for example. I did mention he has "raw" talent. Do you remember when Mal Michael started his career? Would anyone in their right mind have thought he would be a 200 game player, play in 3 consecutive premierships?

I'm not disputing his talent.

I was just replying to your statement

The Donners
Had we not had the advantage of the old father/son rule in '05 he would've gone top 5!

I'm not disputing his talent.

I was just replying to your statement

I know Merv, we're all Essendon supporters here! :thumbsu:

I'm salivating at the prospect at seeing Gumbleton, Dempsey, Jetta, Houli, Neagle and Ryder develop! Along with the others of course, just haven't seen enough to comment on their potential!

i reckon dempsey can be our version of peter burgoyne running off half back. we havnt had a class player with such skills and pace in the backline since wanganeen. im dying for him to be given a go in the backline.... if he gets his body right.

what do people think of playing welsh a bit on ball? perhaps in rotations with mcveigh. he is hard at it, knows how to use the ball, and i think he he has true star potential

from memory it said that jobe and hille should be trade bait.
that we are the worst team for inside 50's and marks inside 50's
that we are really good at center clearances.

thats all i can remember.

from memory it said that jobe and hille should be trade bait.
that we are the worst team for inside 50's and marks inside 50's
that we are really good at center clearances.

thats all i can remember.

Well worst inside 50s and marks inside 50s is attributable to our lackluster midfield, that's nothing new! With a descent midfield we are premiership contenders... but we don't have that midfield!

totally agree mate. the more i think about it the worse i feel. i dont think our major problem is legspeed, its footy smarts and disposal. i reckon throw maybe lovett into the midfield full time, and maybe look at a defensive mid who can get the ball and stopp the hemmoraging. someone like marty mattner?!

ofcourse judd would go a long way to solving our issues. add an ebert and judd to the midfield and i feel better

On the midfield, I definitely think Dempsey and Houli will get more time in there. Look for Pev to start getting dropped to the reserves IMO, even though he was pretty good this year. I dont think Stanton will ever make it to be an A-Grade midfielder, though I'd love to be proven wrong. I dont know if Jetta has the engine to play alot in the midfield. Id love to see Dempsey, McVeigh, Winderlich, Watson and Houli make up the core of our midfield. I dont see it happening soon, but in a perfect world, that would be a good midfield.

I posted a Thread about this about a week ago....

Anyways

I wanna see Nash at our centre bounces, simply because he has a big body for a midfielder, he's moderatly fast, and mainly because he has the best skillwork compared to the rest of the team (he rarely mucks up). Our skill work was one of our biggest problems over the past few years and we need someone who is consistant in skillwork. >>> Jay Nash

I would also like to see Jetta just because we lack speed in our midfield, and if he gets that ball put down into his hands he will split the pack and kill in the stopages.

Obviously I would have to put Stants in there just because he can run the whole game out and has dominated in inside 50 assists. The downside to him is just that he lacks a lot in defence and that could be a problem.

Wing: C.Dempsey - J.Winderlich
Centre: J.Nash
Rover: L.Jetta
R Rover: B.Stanton

Ruck: Hille / Laycock - still unknown ?????

Anyways

I wanna see Nash at our centre bounces, simply because he has a big body for a midfielder, he's moderatly fast, and mainly because he has the best skillwork compared to the rest of the team (he rarely mucks up). Our skill work was one of our biggest problems over the past few years and we need someone who is consistant in skillwork. >>> Jay Nash

I would also like to see Jetta just because we lack speed in our midfield, and if he gets that ball put down into his hands he will split the pack and kill in the stopages.

Obviously I would have to put Stants in there just because he can run the whole game out and has dominated in inside 50 assists. The downside to him is just that he lacks a lot in defence and that could be a problem.

Agree with you about Nash, said it on the same thread i think.
He is also a good tackler and knows how to apply defensive pressure.

Also, i think Lovett will spend more time in the midfield over jetta, and if we have lovett, dempsey and winders in the middle, we wouldn't be consisdered slow. The problem is getting them all playing together, we always seem to have at least 2 of our quickest players injured.

totally agree mate. the more i think about it the worse i feel. i dont think our major problem is legspeed, its footy smarts and disposal. i reckon throw maybe lovett into the midfield full time, and maybe look at a defensive mid who can get the ball and stopp the hemmoraging. someone like marty mattner?!

ofcourse judd would go a long way to solving our issues. add an ebert and judd to the midfield and i feel better

I'd love to see Lovett in the middle full-time, a consistent season from Lovett could provide Knights with the finals finish he needs in '08 to back up his bold claims! Otherwise I'm afraid there may be a supporter backlash... not from me, I'm pretty realistic about our chances, he was either saying what the board wanted to hear or he is a visionery and sees things in players other people don't, like Kevin Sheedy in the 80s-90s!

On the midfield, I definitely think Dempsey and Houli will get more time in there. Look for Pev to start getting dropped to the reserves IMO, even though he was pretty good this year. I dont think Stanton will ever make it to be an A-Grade midfielder, though I'd love to be proven wrong. I dont know if Jetta has the engine to play alot in the midfield. Id love to see Dempsey, McVeigh, Winderlich, Watson and Houli make up the core of our midfield. I dont see it happening soon, but in a perfect world, that would be a good midfield.

I agree mate, especially about Stanton and I too wish I am proven wrong!

Could you think Jetta could work on engine with a couple more pre-seasons or is it just his "make" ala Anthony Rocca!!! Hahahahahaha Anthony Rocca!!! Hahahahahaha

I like the sound of that midfield a lot more than what we have, for one of those players (other than Mcveigh) to turn into a genuine star would make a massive difference on our climb up the ladder!

Anyways

Not bad and I'm getting excited! Lovett would be a good change through the midfield and can interchange with Jetta in the forward line.

I mentioned earlier that Laycock is much better than Hille as a ruckman.

HBF: Jetta and Nash
Centre: Winderlich Watson Mcveigh
HF: Davey and Lovett
Ruck: Laycock/Hille Stanton Dempsey
Interchange: Houli and Hislop.
Emergency: Pevrill

All the love for Dempsey confuses me
Yes we can always use fast talented players, but his kicking lets himself & the team down. & His hammies are like piano wire. If he can overcome these two problems, the sky's the limit, but they're big problems at a club that has been struck by soft-tissue injuries & riddled by skill errors

Houli & Hislop are the 2 players we've been missing for years IMO, strong bodies, skillful, & will hit the contest and come out with the footy. Both genuine, well-rounded midfielders.
Also would love to see Hocking on the list, not sure of his long-term potential, but could give us drive & bollocks from day 1
Henry hopefully will continue in his development, he's like the anti-stanton: all defence & no attack. Would prefer both of them to develop offence & defence
Don't forget Rama either. Good recruit next season, 100 game premiership player

All sounds rosy at this time of the year, but I think there's plenty to look forward to

See I don't really understand that.

Stanton's first 4 years are better than Ablett, Bartel, Ling and many more midfielders which are now considered A grade.

He is at the stage of his career were I think he can become our next A grade midfielder.

His kicking has improved (not that it was ever a huge concern for me) and I expect him to run a fair few players into the ground next year similar to what Rob Harvey does.

A lot of people are putting McVeigh into their midfield but I think it might be time to make him a permanent backline player.

Why?

I don't think he can get it enough in the midfield to be that damaging.

He's turning 27 and the most amount of possessions for a season he has averaged his 18.4.

I don't think he can go up another level in the midfield but he can become a champion defender like Harvey, Hardwick, Wanganeen, Milburn, Andrew Mckay, etc... over the next 5 years or so.

See I don't really understand that.

Stanton's first 4 years are better than Ablett, Bartel, Ling and many more midfielders which are now considered A grade.

He is at the stage of his career were I think he can become our next A grade midfielder.

His kicking has improved (not that it was ever a huge concern for me) and I expect him to run a fair few players into the ground next year similar to what Rob Harvey does.
I dont consider Ling an A-grade midfielder. He is a gun tagger, but he isnt an out and out midfielder like Stanton was. Ablett was played alot in the forward line early in his career, where Stanton has had more midfield experience and still isnt at Abletts level. And Bartel is a gun, no doubting it. However I dont think Stanton will ever reach his level. Seeing as though Bartel debuted a year before Stanton, Im willing to give Stanton this coming season to prove your point correct.

Bartel debuted 2 years before Stanton.