- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
Probably because we aren't ?the past was the past and we are all now equal.

Goodes deserves more leeway to get it wrong and stuff it up then he gets. The standard he's held to is very high, and often by people who do not hold themselves to anything close to that standard.
I'd say there are very few footballers with the PR nous to effectively navigate the minefield of racism in Australia.
I agree with you, that Goodes was held to a higher standard but don’t think that is unreasonable. He was supposedly a leader and “Australian of the year”. He may not have asked to be a leader but he was.
A higher standard sure, but the one he's held to is impossibly high given people appear to expect him to talk about racism without upsetting anyone. His efforts to diffuse the situation with the Collingwood girl were pretty much completely ignored in the narrative people use to boo him for that.
You can't expect Goodes to analyze the ramifications of pointing the girl out in the heat of the moment, especially seeing as he was really upset at the time. There was nothing wrong with his actions after the event.
“The reasonable man adapts himself to the world: the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.”
It will probably end when people acknowledge the nation’s (not individuals) past mistakes and work genuinely toward solving them. Not just pay lip service to ‘we’re equal now’ and expect indigenous people to overcome generations of disadvantage in a few years through nothing but good intentions.Your words not mine.
I will ask you, how much is going to fix it? For how long? Another 150 years?
When is it going to end?
When will everyone lay down their weapons and walk away and accept the past was the past and we are all now equal.
It may be simplistic but its how our country is supposed to be
I cannot know why you booed, I can only know why you say you booed. I also think, if I was to ask everybody who booed, if racism was the cause, then the answer would be, not one single person booing because he was racist, which I do not believe.Man you come up with answers before you read the question.The big ape comment i was referring to was never directed at Aboriginal players it was at anbody who threw his weight around.When i started playing there were very few Indigenous players and far fewer again who merited the title of "big ape"as in bully boy.You also ignored my comments on why i booed.If people cant have a rational discussion on these matters its probably better to avoid them.
I saw a comment from an Aboriginal player (suburban, not AFL) that sums it up.
His mother stopped coming to his games, and his father stayed in the car with the windows up due to constant racial abuse.
I would guess that the people making those comments never got pulled up for it. I would also suspect that if challenged, they would have denied being racist, and would have said 'thats just footy, everybody slags their opponents to put them off, he should just toughen up'.
The people that make those comments, the people that laughed at them, the people that tolerated them make up a big portion of most AFL games, and it should be no suprise that they booed an Aboriginal player, and no suprise that they are adamant it isn't racial, or hostile to those that suggest it is.
As for your question, it was always racist, it just didn't get called out.
Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
I've noticed something at recent games. A lack of booing.
And as we know racists are among us also not booing. I can't stress this strongly enough - if you don't boo you're as good as the racists and are one of them.
It will probably end when people acknowledge the nation’s (not individuals) past mistakes and work genuinely toward solving them. Not just pay lip service to ‘we’re equal now’ and expect indigenous people to overcome generations of disadvantage in a few years through nothing but good intentions.
Thats just nonsense. What would be good enough would be real impacts. Indigenous Australians have some of the poorest life expectancy rates in the Western world and many live in Third World conditions. Those are facts, not feelings. What’s sad is you think that’s a good enough effort.I wrote a long winded response to this but when I read your comments again and my response I finally realised something.
No matter what white Australia does it will never be good enough. It will never go away.
Such a sad state to come to.
There is only 1 thing that will fix it and that is if all white men leave or die.
As she said at Australia Day last year "I hope Australia burns to the ground"
Well it just can't happen so it will never go away.
One thing i have learned in life is that if you are resentful and bitter towards someone the one that suffers the most is yourself.
There's grey areas on the edge of hate speech about what is and isn't,
I think your explanation of how one doesn't boo because of racism is what this thread really needs right now.
Thats just nonsense. What would be good enough would be real impacts. Indigenous Australians have some of the poorest life expectancy rates in the Western world and many live in Third World conditions. Those are facts, not feelings. What’s sad is you think that’s a good enough effort.
What I don't get is why that's white man's fault?
Australia gives over 30 billion dollars each year in support of the indigenous.
Where does that money go?
What is "real impact"?
Break down the $30 Billion that is supposedly given if actually true
And how much support in dollars $$ to non indigenous does Australia give ..
Also give details on Foreign assistances in dollar terms ??
You are making a mountain out of a molehill.I said i booed Goodes because he is a sniper.This is football parlay,are you a footy fan or a political activist?You have not addressed my reason for booing.I think "HE WAS A SNIPER".I have said the same thing on BF about a few players.To the best of my knowledge Goodes was the only indigenous bloke ive said it about.I think for you to say im this or im that is totally not acceptable.I cannot know why you booed, I can only know why you say you booed. I also think, if I was to ask everybody who booed, if racism was the cause, then the answer would be, not one single person booing because he was racist, which I do not believe.
So we have 2 sorts of booers, the sort that is said to be not racist, and is not, and the sort that is said to be not racist, but is.
When you booed, you gave everybody permission to decide which of those 2 camps you were in.
The irony is, people say that Goodes acting like a flog was the cause of how he was treated, and then when he didn't like it, he sooked.
Booing Goodes after it was known how it was seen, and the distress it was causing, is the very definition of flog behaviour. Flog behaviour lead to a reaction, which people didnt like, and now there has been a years long sook about it.
The report I read was basically 2:1
For every dollar spent on indigenous support 50 cents is spent on the rest of Australians
Look I've got no issue with supporting our citizens. I needed support at one particular point in my life as well. But the cycle of welfare has to change in this country.
Booing Goodes is not an indicator of racism across this country and it certainly isn't an indicator of lack of funding or support for our indigenous community.
This comment goes across for all people. Welfare doesn't change a person or help them past the next meal.
REAL change is each person deciding to stand up for themselves and become a contributer to society. Get off the welfare because welfare/money doesn't change the problems or solve anything.
Redirect Notice
www.google.com
It's a waste of time arguing this. The official decree from the AFL is that it was racist therefore it must have been.In a thread that is supposedly about convincing everyone that the booing of Goodes had nothing to do with his racial stance, there sure is a lot of discussion about his racial stance
The Government allocates 6.1 % of spending annually on Indigenous spending..
So taking into account you say for every dollar of Indigenous spending to non indigenous spending is 0.50 cents ..
Well Indigenous population is estimated at 500 000 people
The non indigenous population is 25 000 000 ..
Where is the money going regarding the 25 million non indigenous ??
Edit:
This is just for discussion not to offend people..
It's a waste of time arguing this. The official decree from the AFL is that it was racist therefore it must have been.
I have been known to boo B Matera........does that make me a racist?If a person or group of people do not feel valued, or feel marginalised. Why not just listen to them and respect their wishes to not be put in that position.
If you're making someone feel sh*t with your actions; stop doing it out of respect.
Yes its a PC world, but to me, any Aussie (or anyone for that matter) deserves a fair go at life, retribution, success, happiness etc...
No matter the scenario, bullying someone to force them to change achieves nothing.
Goodes retorts with a dignified stand again the bullying (whether that is for sliding in to contests, or being aboriginal). He is a product of the action of bullying. If you have issues with him, you're part of the problem no matter your angle.
I dislike Bandon Matera as a player. He goes against everything I value in playing football. I dont boo him.
Good on him for getting under my skin when we play against him, though.