BOUTIQUE STADIUM DEAL

• Thread starter Thread starter theflea

Academic.
Heard Cats president/former AFL commissioner Colin Carter reject a boutique stadium for Melbourne on 3AW Melbourne, was not discussed at the AFL meeting this day, not even mentioned.
I'm sorry I was just trying to discuss the merits/otherwise of the idea as I saw it. Apologies I've been travelling for the last 3 months and don't have access to all the facts/media reports. I stated clearly that it will never happen. I'm sorry I'll just keep quiet now.

You are a Tiges fan, been a long time since you were relevant, man up, 2015 looks a real chance, good luck looking forward ...
Hey kwality, who do you think you are? Not sure what relevance any of that has to this topic, but go dangle a line elsewhere.

boy just pissed he cant get in to any west coast games and when he does he cant believe he's paying to sit in a concrete urinal looking directly into the sun's arseh*le

i hear they might be building a new stadium on a swamp in about 2035

As already said, this won't happen and it's ALL about a negotiation tactic.... falsely lulling the owners of Docklands (who Vlad must think are stupid?) into thinking the AFL have an alternative path(s) to follow.

Funny thing is Vlad tried this stunt a couple of years ago (prior to GC / GWS).... his case being "with 2 more (interstate) teams there'll be an extra game needed in Melbourne each weekend and so we'll need a new stadium". They were spruiking this crap to the punters like we're all idiots.

As I said this only makes sense if it is an ongoing stadium, not just til 2025. If it is ongoing then PRO is a very good option, becuase of the location. You can't beat right next to the MCG. I'm not sure of the financial logic of a small stadium when we already have 2. PP makes sense as well, but given they ripped down half the stands, tehy have to rebuild that as well. Which means that you need to look att he logic of location as well as cost between the two. Geelong wouldn't work, too far away for fans. I think this will die down soon and we'll look at the AFL thinking, 'are you guys taking what Rudd's supporters are?' The grand scheme that has nothing in it.

it really is a weird looking building, but i love it.

I don't know.....I like the idea of a roofed stadium, but I think they have done it on the cheap. Also may be hard to eat your pie and drink your beer at the same time with this seating

thunderdome.jpg

here you go wang we can all go to the footy here:

111353.jpg

as your walking in to the outer:
634853215814792513_The%20Corinthians%20Boutique%20Hotel%20Full%20Overview.jpg

and here is what they are planning for Punt Rd.
dalian_football_stadium_u051009_2.jpg
FML...

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/blues-keen-on-a-princes-park-revival-20130322-2glfe.html
It has recently emerged that the league is exploring the idea of a boutique stadium again. The AFL is looking into Richmond's recently remodelled Punt Road Oval home as another option.
While Tigers boss Brendon Gale said on Friday there would have to be ''compelling'' financial rationale behind another transformation of Punt Road, Swann said of his club's Carlton base: ''It's not that far gone that it couldn't be utilised. We'd love for it to happen. I think there would be a possibility that a Carlton-GWS or a Carlton-Gold Coast game could be played there.''

Best news I've heard all week.

AFL considers boutique stadium

" THE AFL is seriously looking at redeveloping Carlton's Visy Park or Richmond's Punt Road Oval into a boutique 20,000-seat venue, according to League boss Andrew Demetriou.

"We've done a feasibility study on Visy (Park)," Demetriou said on Monday. "Visy can work.

"But we've got a couple of other options. I think Punt Road's got some legs."

more here.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-03-25/afls-boutique-push

Well Punt Rd is our home and we are never going to get to use a 25k stadium so I say no!

I agree with ppl saying Western Oval. Seems very logical considering the teams using a 25k stadium would be WB and NM.

Well Punt Rd is our home and we are never going to get to use a 25k stadium so I say no!

I agree with ppl saying Western Oval. Seems very logical considering the teams using a 25k stadium would be WB and NM.

With respect, I think people need to think outside the box on this one. The way we live our lives has and can change even more dramatically in the next 50 years. It could well be most work 7 day weeks. U mainly watch footy on you iphone equivalents while doing other chores and all teams struggle to get more than 25000 to a game where the atmosphere would be more intimate and possible closer to the game in a smaller stadium so people go to the game as it is worth their while instead of on the flat screen.

Just because the world has gone one way for the last 50 years or so does not mean it may not re-balance. All empires fall and who is to say our new rulers in 20 years time do not have a different mindset entertaining the masses. The MCG may well become a white elephant except for GF's, you only have to look at empty stadiums in some of India's cricket matches where the passion for cricket is at its highest. To survive RFC decision makers must have the vision and put the club in a position to adapt in a changing environment and be agile. The code should expand but that does not mean crowds will stay at 80000 plus and more, or even that stakeholders will care like the empty race meetings. The other thing is the ground in off season can be used for other 25000 capacity entertainment such as rock bands/DJ's or whoever which will suit many.

There are many reasons a scalable 25000 stadium may have superior viable fundamentals even for RFC club games going forward in a changing landscape. If the crown who owns the land envisages a mutual benefit in such a stadium you cannot fault them. If Punt road oval is the location/business model of choice so be it. Provided RFC future and identity at the location remains I do not see a problem particularly if it means RFC is relevant in a 100 years and its legacy is as strong as ever as opposed to a Fitzroy scenario!!

One thing is for sure, turning Punt Road into a 100,000 capacity oval to rival the MCG clearly makes less sense in a growing uncertain world that we live in!!

I saw AC/DC in the Tennis Centre Melb and I think Sydney Entertainment centre,(been a while) would I see them at MCG, probably not. I go to the MCG every now and then, I watch most games on TV which is better for viewing and as I enjoy the game itself the atmosphere at the MCG is irrelevant for me as a spectator and fan. The only thing I experienced of note at the MCG was the thundering feat from fans in the Great Southern stand when Brett Lee was charging in bowling out the Pakis in a onedayer. So if you asked me would I rather see RFC play whoever at Punt Road or the MCG I would say the former!!

I dont think this is as remote a concept as some are suggesting, the advantages of Punt rd are head and shoulders above the other options. Dont forget the main reason visy was wiped as a viable option were parking and public transport restrictions, these havent gone away. Im not convinced it will be a win win for richmond as its ultimately being built for the likes of north dogs demons et al, gone would be our Y &?B trademark of the ground

I have never been to docklands and know the deal with some clubs/AFL is not ideal.

You would have to think going forward 25 years + a subscription for games may well entail rights to certain games via the media plus a select number of actual games at the actual venue. You may well buy via rights through the clubs , who knows.

Just thinking, surely Docklands could automate some of its services to reduce cost. I cannot see why you would need so many to attend to make the deals viable otherwise the stadium has an inappropriate business model I would think given the crowd monitoring that can occur off site these days with cameras and so forth. It would be interesting to see the cost structure of a game played at these stadiums.

The other thing to consider is you could have a multi purpose stadium these days a bit like some of the Japanese unit/house designs with multiple rooms in a confined space. For example, there could be a rotating playing surface where multiple games are played on it, even VFL games and, separate different surfaces such as a surface for Richmond teams training so any training would not be affected. Anything is possible these days with technology and know how!!

You would have to think given PRO is Richmond heartland and rightfully part and parcel of Tigerland a separate independent shared services facility associated with on site admin to draw upon business/geographical synergies, in conjunction with an event management group could be set up at site , in parallel with RFC club admin,to manage/administer events whether it be AFL matches , the latest and greatest musical events or other forms of entertainment attracting the necessary audience. The bottom line is if the event group and RFC club can coexist the business models and returns for stakeholders clearly are far superior than any other alternatives!! This would be realised further if the proposed advanced venue could handle smaller 10K-15K indoor audiences due to advanced multi-purpose technologies. PRO could become the venue of choice in Melbourne for many events if it possessed the guilt edge technological advances which address the viewing needs of audiences these days

So would Richmond Reserves share the ground with who-ever the low-crowd-drawing teams play? I guess its a chance to steal even more supporters from Norf and the Dogs.

If the stadium was going to be used regularly beyond 2025 - then great. Otherwise it shouldn't fly. I have no idea of the worth of building the stadium given the AFL will get Docklands for 41 in the end. But I can't see any good case if it will become unused after 2025. If they reckon North etc will work better long run in a 25K stadium then go for it.
If they do go for it, then PRO works very well. However we will pretty much always draw more than 25K, so we wouldn't use the stadium - how weird is that? If it was built at PRO I reckon we should push to try and get an ongoing revenue stream from it. Would be great. But unlikely.

He was right about Colin Carter. The point is that rather than spend $150m on a new boutique you might as well spend the $150m compensating teams that are unfairly treated by the fixture. The AFL gets Etihad for $1 when the deal expires (after paying $30m in 2000), no need to pay it out early, it makes no sense. To pay it out early would mean calculating the present value of the future cash flows between now and 2025, which is where the owners get their $250-$300m price tag.
This is all bluff from Demetriou

I get all that Liv. I was being ironical.

Don't like this at all

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-03-29/tigers-on-the-prowl

ANY PLAN to redevelop Punt Road into a third stadium for Melbourne would likely force Richmond to re-locate.

All the money we have spent to upgrade your home ground so it can finally be used for match simulations and financial cost, to think that we might have to find somewhere else is utter bullshit. Unless the AFL set us up with a training venue with equal facilities, then go jump in a lake AFL.

Vlad on SEN confirmed they have had a look at Princes Park and looking at Punt Rd now. Also said if they build there would require the ground to be moved, due to close to Punt Rd. Wouldn't seem good for the long term prospects of our new building.....