Tigerbob

Storm, Bushies
Gday Adelaide folk.

My suspicion is that Brad Ottens' heart is not at Richmond anymore. He looks to be playing like his future lies elsewhere.

My question to you guys is what would you offer for Brad Ottens to be a Crow next year? I think (and hope) Richmond will rebuild the whole football club next year and Brad wont be part of that and the lure to go home might be strong.

It could be interesting at years end.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

Would be interested in getting Ottens, but we need to rebuild too & keep our 1st round pick. Perhaps we could swap some players & non-1st round picks, given AFC should be looking to trade players too.

G'day Tigerbob.

Our respective teams are a pair of losers aren't they. We probably know how the other feels.

Back to the question of Ottens. He would be very handy for the Crows, particularly if he played as he can rather than as he mostly does.

I'd be prepared to trade Brett Burton and Ian Perrie for Brad Ottens.

Id be willing to give you anyone not named Reilly, Johncock, Watts, Ricciuto, Hentschel, Jericho for him. And any pick you want after our first rounder.

Make up any deal you would like and id approve it.

Ottens still has a good 9 years left in him which is a long time, infact its nearly half my life so far so i'd imagine age wouldnt be a problem. It will take a good 2-3 years to build a good team again, maybe 4 years... having Ottens would be great. But im sure the Power could offer alot more than us if they want him.

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
Id be willing to give you anyone not named Reilly , Johncock, Watts, Ricciuto, Hentschel, Jericho for him. And any pick you want after our first rounder.

Make up any deal you would like and id approve it.

Ottens still has a good 9 years left in him which is a long time, infact its nearly half my life so far so i'd imagine age wouldnt be a problem. It will take a good 2-3 years to build a good team again, maybe 4 years... having Ottens would be great. But im sure the Power could offer alot more than us if they want him.
Good boy ;) Also add Schuback to the list and Edwards.

So he isnt that old in age? Well maybe I take back what I said and he could potentially be a good get for us.

Nah, fob Reilly off. I sense he is going to be nothing better than a bog-average player and we should trade him off while Melbourne clubs still think he has some value.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Nah, fob Reilly off. I sense he is going to be nothing better than a bog-average player and we should trade him off while Melbourne clubs still think he has some value.
**** off! :rolleyes:
Really, no one can rate him as yet. 10 AFL games so far. You are jumping the gun. :o

Why? Don' be so bloody stupid. I would far rather have Ottens than Reilly, who will never be a star, and if we can work a good deal Reilly would be great tradebait and I'd boot him out the door so fast and invite Ottens in for a three-course meal.

I know how good Dal Santo looked even after 10 games.

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
Ottens still has a good 9 years left in him which is a long time
I thik thats a bit rich ;)

Ottens will be 25 in january and history suggests that ruckman don't play until they are 34. Wear and tear on their body is far too great for them to play that long. 32 is probably the longerst ruckman can go for.

Th eonly way we will get out of this mess is if we make some changes in everything to do with football. We have to be SUPER agressive come trading period and we should not be sentimentally attached to our players.

Ottens is one bloke I would really go after. Otten's main attraction for me is his ability to play in the ruck and as a key forward. Basically you kill 2 bird with one stone. Carey (Key forward) and Clarke (ruckman) are at th end of their careers and Stevens (KPP) is a week to week proposition. Getting Ottens would give us a bit more flexibility.

I have said before that our 1st round draft pick is off limits and and I am begginging to think that out 2nd round draft pick should be off limits as well.

Players I would keep are: Ricciuto, McLeod, Hart, McGregor, Johncock, Hentschel, Watts, Jericho, Reilly and Schuback. Everyone else id up for trade. The first 3 I would keep because they are club legends and have deserved the respect. They are also playing some good footy and in a rebuilding phase you MUST have those types of players around youngsters otherwise the process is longer and more painful than it should be.

I reckon Burton could be part of the Ottens deal. we would also need to throw something else Richmond's way. Perrie or a draft pick that we might get from another trade might be the way to go.

Tigerbob, how is Shultz coming along?????? Would he be up for trade??????

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Good boy ;) Also add Schuback to the list and Edwards.

So he isnt that old in age? Well maybe I take back what I said and he could potentially be a good get for us.
I know you like Reilly and you think he will develop into a star. I think he will develop into a very good player but I am not sure about the star status yet. Reality is that Reilly still has some attractive trade value and if Adelaide were offered a good deal for him, they would take it.

I am pretty sure that for arguments sake, St. Kilda offered Adelaide Dal Santo for Reilly, We would trade him in a second.

Its the reality of the AFL footy. Everyone is tradeable for the right price. Even Ricciuto;)

Why? Don' be so bloody stupid. I would far rather have Ottens than Reilly, who will never be a star, and if we can work a good deal Reilly would be great tradebait and I'd boot him out the door so fast and invite Ottens in for a three-course meal.

I'm not the one being bloody stupid here. :rolleyes: Again, you are reading what you want to hear. I didnt say I'd rather Reilly than Ottens. I wouldnt mind them both (Ottens isnt too old is he?)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Players I would keep are: Ricciuto, McLeod, Hart, McGregor, Johncock, Hentschel, Watts, Jericho, Reilly and Schuback.
So Stiffy are you saying that you would trade 1 of our leadership group in Goodwin?

I know you like Reilly and you think he will develop into a star. I think he will develop into a very good player but I am not sure about the star status yet. Reality is that Reilly still has some attractive trade value and if Adelaide were offered a good deal for him, they would take it.

I am pretty sure that for arguments sake, St. Kilda offered Adelaide Dal Santo for Reilly, We would trade him in a second.

Its the reality of the AFL footy. Everyone is tradeable for the right price. Even Ricciuto;)
Um, no, not Ricciuto. Adelaide would NEVER trade him!

I never said Reilly wasnt tradeable. I just think that it would be stupid to trade him when he could potentially become a really good player for us. And yeah, so if Adelaide was offered Dal Santo then we would take him. We'd be stupid not to. But I don't think Reilly would be the one traded to get the likes of Nick Dal Santo. We'd trade a Doughty and maybe someone else plus a pick.

I think hes a better play being fulltime at CHF. Him and Richardson should be the most lethal attacking combo in the league. He could definately play 32-33 yrs old, and even by that age we are sure to have a replacement..we'd have 5 years to find a CHF in the draft that is good. If we can get Ottens cheaply then we can concentrate on fixing other problems in the team such as our midfield and backline, which are as bad as our forward line right now!

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
So Stiffy are you saying that you would trade 1 of our leadership group in Goodwin?
If the price is right then YES. I wouldn't just give him away but if I was made a good offer for him I would take it.

Nothing against Goody because I love him as a player and he is a great bloke but at the end of the day club comes before individual.

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Um, no, not Ricciuto. Adelaide would NEVER trade him!

But I don't think Reilly would be the one traded to get the likes of Nick Dal Santo. We'd trade a Doughty and maybe someone else plus a pick.
Don't make me laugh. Dal Santo is worth more than Reilly and Doughty plus a draft pick together.

Dal Santo is a bloody star already and he is 20. The kid will rpobably turn out to be St. Kilda's best player of that lot of youngsters they have on their list.

If we are offered something that we like more than Reilly we will take it. Same goes for any player.

While I agree Crows would never trade Roo or McLeod or Hart, there is no such a thing as untouchable player. Everyone is up on offer if the price is right.

Don't make me laugh. Dal Santo is worth more than Reilly and Doughty plus a draft pick together.

Dal Santo is a bloody star already and he is 20. The kid will rpobably turn out to be St. Kilda's best player of that lot of youngsters they have on their list.

If we are offered something that we like more than Reilly we will take it. Same goes for any player.

While I agree Crows would never trade Roo or McLeod or Hart, there is no such a thing as untouchable player. Everyone is up on offer if the price is right.
Is there some hidden message in my posts!?! I DIDNT say that Reilly is worth more than NDS. My point WAS that to get NDS i doubt we would trade Reilly. It would have to be someone else...ok maybe not a dogga plus a pick..maybe its not enough. Probably even a goodwin :( or Burton even?
Gawd... :rolleyes:

And im not doubting NDS potential. He has lots of it that hes already shown. Hes a ripper of a player no doubt ;)

Reilly is going to turn out to be another flop.

What, 4 years is it on the list for 10 games? Talk about overrated. Doughty has had the same amount of time on the list and has shown a lot more than Reilly.

Reilly is going to turn out to be another flop.

What, 4 years is it on the list for 10 games? Talk about overrated. Doughty has had the same amount of time on the list and has shown a lot more than Reilly.
Well you know **** then because Reilly has been on the list for three years this year. Dogga has been on the list for longer and has been given more chances to prove something. He really hasnt proved a whole lot IMO

If the price is right then YES. I wouldn't just give him away but if I was made a good offer for him I would take it.

Nothing against Goody because I love him as a player and he is a great bloke but at the end of the day club comes before individual.
We need to be very careful not to destroy the fabric of the club, which can occur when trading club leaders. Need to also consider that Roo & Goody are very close & Roo is likely to lose motivation if his good mate is traded.