Brad Ottens

• Thread starter Thread starter Tigerbob

I've heard this from a couple of people - and not too sure whether to believe it or not..
But apparently, Chad Cornes has told Port Adelaide that for next season he wants to play at Adelaide.

If that were true - forget Ottens.

Originally posted by lozstar
I've heard this from a couple of people - and not too sure whether to believe it or not..
But apparently, Chad Cornes has told Port Adelaide that for next season he wants to play at Adelaide.

If that were true - forget Ottens.
I reckon people that told you that are telling a few porkies ;)

Originally posted by lozstar
Quite possibly, yes..
Still would be nice if it were true.
Apparently geelong will be making a move for chad.
And they can afford to pay him heaps.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am sure both Cornes boys will stay at Port for their entire careers.

I would love them both in our side but it just ain't gonna happen.
yesterday i would have bet om it.
but today well if chad can get $600k interstate ??

Originally posted by jc67
yesterday i would have bet om it.
but today well if chad can get $600k interstate ??
Chad and Kane are under contract and will be next year as well so Geelong don't have a hope in hell of getting him.

As much as I like Chad as a player, he is not worth anywhere near $600K. Thats the sort of money that even Tredrea wouldn't be on.

Chad and Kane are under contract and will be next year as well so Geelong don't have a hope in hell of getting him.

As much as I like Chad as a player, he is not worth anywhere near $600K. Thats the sort of money that even Tredrea wouldn't be on.
I still agree ($600k is ludicrius), but if it's on offer??
BTW chad is out of contract this year, ben graham will retire and gellong despratly need a CHF.

I still agree ($600k is ludicrius), but if it's on offer??
BTW chad is out of contract this year, ben graham will retire and gellong despratly need a CHF.
Both Chad and Kane are in the 2nd year of the 3 year deal IIRC. They still have a year to run.

If Chad is available, he is the bloke I would be throwing kitchen sink at but I am pretty sure they are contracted until the end of 2005.

Both Chad and Kane are in the 2nd year of the 3 year deal IIRC. They still have a year to run.

If Chad is available, he is the bloke I would be throwing kitchen sink at but I am pretty sure they are contracted until the end of 2005.
This comes from the same bloke that told me about ottens a couple of months ago.
I still have doubts though (It's just tooo much money for him)
eitherway I recon this years trade period will see some very big names and money moving around

Originally posted by spindoctor
Doughty + Bassett + 3rd rd draft pick = Faulkner + Harris

I know his royal Stiffness wants to marry Harris :p

BUT

I watched him closely in the Geelong v Bulldogs game today, and there was nothing there that made my heart pound.

As for Faulkner, he's got promise, but he's done zero so far. I don't think what we'd offer for him and what they would expect would match

This comes from the same bloke that told me about ottens a couple of months ago.
I still have doubts though (It's just tooo much money for him)
eitherway I recon this years trade period will see some very big names and money moving around
Lets hope we land a couple of those big names while still keeping our 1st and 2nd round draft picks.

Originally posted by macca23
I know his royal Stiffness wants to marry Harris :p

BUT

I watched him closely in the Geelong v Bulldogs game today, and there was nothing there that made my heart pound.
Give him a couple oif years. Harris will be one of the best FBs in the comp.

Anyone who can beat Lynch one on one and keep Tredrea quite is a good player ;)

Give him a couple oif years. Harris will be one of the best FBs in the comp.

Anyone who can beat Lynch one on one and keep Tredrea quite is a good player ;)

I knew that would flush you out of the woodwork Stiffy!!

Harris is probably okay, but he didn't stand out today.

Having said that, it is about time that Adelaide got itself a genuine FB for the first time in it's history.

Ceratin football judges have said the FB position is as important as CHF.

As much as I admire Bassett, he's not the answer at FB.
And I can't see an alternative position for him - so it maybe neccessary to trade him

What I want in a FB is to wear his player like a glove. I don't care if he doesn't get a kick as long as his opponent doesn't get one either.

Last year he beat Lynch. This year he was excellent on Tredrea when he was moved on him. What more do we want in a FB????:)

2 things:

- certain players mentioned are too old to be traded. this prob includes goodwin. what's the point?
- all scenario's are still to heavily rooted in the comfort zone. We want ottens but on our terms. forgive me for thinking Richmond aren't going to go gaga for that. he is an underachiever, with size and superstar potential. how much do you want that? stop talking about untouchables; he will cost, because SOMEONE ELSE will pay it.

Life is too short to spend time reading Burton + 2nd round trade proposals for Brad Ottens.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Life is too short to spend time reading Burton + 2nd round trade proposals for Brad Ottens.

You got nothin' better to do.

And sadly, neither do I. What would you do this offseason, C-mo? Realistic ...

Originally posted by McLeod23
Aidan Parker will become the greatest FB in AFC's history.

He has to get a game first......and before that he has to be elevated onto the senior list and that seems to be a long way off ATM

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
It should have happened this year. Bugger the salary cap :mad:

l agree 100% but it didnt happen.

Why did they put Skipworth on the list instead of A Parker?? Only gary Ayres and the match commitee can answer that.

Originally posted by crows98
l agree 100% but it didnt happen.

Why did they put Skipworth on the list instead of A Parker?? Only gary Ayres and the match commitee can answer that.
I know. That was a bad decision. Parker showed more last year and we need more backman than midfielders for our furture. Parker could have been blooded by now, and become a regular by next year. Now that wont happen for at least another year :rolleyes:

I dont think Chad or Kane have ever displayed any desire to play for Adelaide. So the rumours going around that Chad wants to play for Adelaide would definately be false. Graham came out today and said that those rumours are 100% ludicruos.

I recall even before being drafted Chad said he would prefer to go to Port than Adelaide. Same with Kane but that would be due to Chad being there.

Geelong can throw 600k at Chad but i dont think he'd take it. He'd be on very good money as it is and considering he just moved back to Glenelg from Semaphore because he missed his family too much I'd hate to think how he'd go moving to Geelong. I think Chad wouldnt go well moving interstate and also not playing with his brother.

Also...what would Geelong be willing to part with to get Chad? Not much id say.