GeeCat

TDot, LFC
From an article in The Age...

"Disappointed he was able to only make it as a bit player during his 65 games at Port, Guerra asked to be traded to a club in Melbourne - it didn't matter which one.

Williams agreed to the request, frustrated by Guerra's lack of application to the task of being a professional athlete. Already resigned to losing Nick Stevens without a trade, Port told Guerra that it would deal him somewhere.

Six clubs looked at him, some unable to match the asking price of around $170,000. Interest was only lukewarm and it came down to three clubs - the Kangaroos, Geelong and St Kilda.

The Roos showed the most interest but, like Geelong, had their heart set on Jade Rawlings. Neither club was prepared to do the trade with that deal hanging in the balance. Ultimately that would go down to the wire, forcing a mad, last-minute scramble.

Later, Power threw Guerra at the Roos for Daniel Motlop, who was interested in leaving Arden Street, but the Roos weren't interested.

St Kilda's offer of pick No. 39 was an ambit one. Brian Waldron threw it up not expecting Port to bite, but it had little else to offer. "

Anyone else think he would have complimented Chappy nicely in our forward line?

I talked Guerra up all last season on Cats Claw, and he would have been nice, however with the Rawlings deal/Street deal, it would have been nearly impossible to get this deal done, especially when you consider how tight Port are with trading.

In hindsight we'd all prefer to have given up pick 22 for Guerra, thus meaning we couldn't have wasted it, however that's life.

Phat Port practically gave Brent away. I'd hardly say they were tight on that deal??:confused:

I also don't buy into that thing about not being enough time to get the all these deals done. The club had months to prepare for that period. It made all the right noises but delivered little. That's the bottom line. The whole footy dept has little else to do in that period apart from concentrating totally on the trade period. like end of financial year for some of us the footy dept should be burning the midnight oil for that entire week to make sure the club is heading in the right direction.

PS I take it from that last line people are now seeing we wasted a valuable top 20 pick on an average 23 yr old VFL player.

Originally posted by BigCat1
Phat Port practically gave Brent away. I'd hardly say they were tight on that deal??:confused:

Why did they practically give him away? Simply because they held out for too much, and missed out, thus had to give him away at the last moment.

Port have a strong history of being incredibly tight in trade talks, wanting plenty, but unwilling to give up much.

Originally posted by BigCat1

PS I take it from that last line people are now seeing we wasted a valuable top 20 pick on an average 23 yr old VFL player.

Short memory mate. You and i were the two people who were horribly disappointed from day one.

Both of us copped a bit here and elsewhere for being upset at the drafting of Thurley.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Why did they practically give him away? Simply because they held out for too much, and missed out, thus had to give him away at the last moment.

Port have a strong history of being incredibly tight in trade talks, wanting plenty, but unwilling to give up much.
I'm pretty sure that talk comes from certain `big 4' clubs wanting something for nothing. Apart from the Wallace driven Eagleton trade, how many of Port's trades do you reckon have been unfair to the other party?

As for the Guerra deal, I believe we were trying to package him with a Stevens deal to various clubs, and the St Kilda deal went through in the last 20 minutes. As has been said here already, it wouldn't have taken much to top their offer, but hey, go Thurley.

Good nuggety country boys like Guerra don't head Geelong's way every day, I'd have thought.It looks more like some other clubs decided to play funny buggers with this one at trade time, not Port.

Originally posted by Porthos
I'm pretty sure that talk comes from certain `big 4' clubs wanting something for nothing. Apart from the Wallace driven Eagleton trade, how many of Port's trades do you reckon have been unfair to the other party?

It's not the ones that have gone through, moreso the ones that haven't.

None of us really know for sure, but from what i hear, Port aren't the ideal trading partners as they are known to drive a hard bargain.

Not necessarily a bad thing, however the definite feel is that it's hard to get deals done with Port.

Originally posted by Porthos

Good nuggety country boys like Guerra don't head Geelong's way every day, I'd have thought.

As i said before, i was a big rap for Guerra last year, but having said that, we've got Paul Chapman filling a similar role.

Guerra is averaging 8 touches, 2 marks and 3.3 goals.
Chappy is averaging 15 touches, 4 marks and 1.8 goals.

I'm certainly happy with what we have.

Did we have resevations about his social focus?Talent wise it would have been interesting fitting him in our side, certainly he has a physical side which Thurley doesn't.
Would he keep a fit S.Johnson out of the side or Haynes or Chapman etc. To me, the Saints didnt have as many small forwards as us so he was probably a better fit in their side