Brent macaffer

Playing what position? Who does he replace?
Apparently he's very Medhurst-like. Maybe we can move meddy up to the centre as he seems to play pretty good footy there, and leave macaffer as a permanent small forward.

In regards to who he replaces, It's a bit of a tough one. Maybe he can be used as a replacement for Leon, Dids, Daisy, or Meddy when one of them is out, until he proves himself a reliable player at AFL level.

He's still a rookie though, so this is all speculation.

I'm in favor of Macaffer coming in to replace Reid or Rocca, really liked his game yesterday and at a time like this when you've lost 2 talls you need to try a little something different who knows it may be a masterstroke.

I know he has played the majority of footy in the VFL as a permanent medium forward type with a few games here or there up the ground, but maybe if he was to get a gig at senior level where things are a bit different they could maybe try to develop him as a midfielder eventually as he has a very good frame, big a strong, and if he could develop his aerobic capacity maybe he could slide into the midfield rotations one day.

He's starting to find his place now at VFL level and has been very good lately in a side that lets face it is no good, yet he has still been able to have an impact up forward where others wouldn't and has given himself every chance of being included in the senior side, and there's only 1 way to find out if he has what it takes, and that's to play him.

He will definately be promoted at some point. He has to be promoted or let go and he is much too good to be delisted. Don't know if he will get a game this year but look for next year.

That VFL games threw a spanner in the works I reckon. I think there would have been some thinking at the club of Wood at FF (my preference) and Fraser and Bryan rotating but after the weekend they surely will go with one of the forwards -

Anthony - 3 goals, 11 marks
Macaffer - 5 goals, 11 marks
Dawes - 3 goals, 11 marks

I know the opposition wasn't great, but this is what we have been waiting for right? One of the promising forwards to show us what they can do?

I think we shouldn't get too excited too soon. I've seen many players string a few very good games together in the VFL. He could be a good player, but I doubt he is the answer.

Is Rusling the answer?

If we're putting our faith in a six feet tall forward to carry our forward line, we're kidding ourselves.

Travis Cloke, Ben Reid and Chris Dawes are the key position players up the ground.

As far as Rusling goes, I don't think he can return to full fitness because his shoulders are stuffed.

As far as I know, the shoulder injury Rusling sustained last time was different from the first 2. Bloody sad though seeing the kid on the sidelines.
There is nothing worse than guessing how good someone could be. The only way to determine whether anyone is any good is to see them perform.
Poor kid must have been kicking too many black cats. :D
On a serious note, I hope he recovers because personally I think he could be anything with his speed. Even James Clement commented on his ability and how hard he is to match up on. I respect James Clement's opinion over anybody elses. He was the best backman we had, and arguably the best in the AFL
I have seen him take good marks and he has sticky hands.
Put him in a Pagan's paddock situation and no one would be able to stop him. I don't think he is a bad kick as many people think either!
Next year will tell and I hope he recovers fully and delivers :thumbsu:

who thinks he is a bad kick? he's pretty accurate, more so than rocca and cloke were last year (they've improved heaps this year)

only problem with rusling was when the ball hit the deck...other than that he had everything going for him. has been a favourite of mine since his first game, i could see the potential. really hope to see him firing in 2009, along with brad dick!!!

who thinks he is a bad kick? he's pretty accurate, more so than rocca and cloke were last year (they've improved heaps this year)

only problem with rusling was when the ball hit the deck...other than that he had everything going for him. has been a favourite of mine since his first game, i could see the potential. really hope to see him firing in 2009, along with brad dick!!!
I wouldn't be wanting to tackle anyone If my shoulders were ____ed either.

Get some confidence into him after about 10 games he will start to tackle as all of our other forwards do.

If we're putting our faith in a six feet tall forward to carry our forward line, we're kidding ourselves.

Travis Cloke, Ben Reid and Chris Dawes are the key position players up the ground.

Go do some research before you post, he is 6 foot 2.

My prediction is Macaffer will be promoted this week and line up against the Swans. I really like the look of him, does everything well, good hands and good decision maker. Dare I say, a bit like Paul Chapman.

Would be interesting to see how he goes. I doubt he's quite ready but of course you never know with some players when they hit AFL, he might do well. OTOH picking him now could end up costing us the Sydney game. Anthony more likely.

Judging from Gavin Brown's comments in the VFL report from Satdee, it would seem likely that one of either Macaffer or even Dawes might debut against the Swans.

Either way I believe it's a positive for us.

I kinda like him, but like others I feel a bit guilty for not being more excited. If Dawes had have kicked 4, 4 and 5, the collective wank on this board would be borderline unbearable!

I see him as a more athletic version of Rupert Betheras (in hs prime). That is, he is not exactly standout, but he is a good mark, has neat skills and gets goals. There's no doubt that he ain't as powerful as Medhurst, nor as skilled as the D-Brothers: Daks, Dais, Davis & Dick (when erect). But he is pretty well rounded and has a good work ethic.

When considering a role, it is worth noting that Tarx has been playing half forward as a non-flashy linking option for good success (forgetting the anger vented at him last game for those misses). The reliable medium linking forward is actually an option.

Plus, the idea of Leon, Med, Diasy and Didak all floating around the half-forward is ok in theory, but it doesn't really eventuate that way due to rotations.

Suffice to say, I think he deserves a shot.