Brent Stanton?

Ok, so lets trade our first and only top pick in the maybe last ever uncorrupted draft for a player that hasnt even been mentioned in any circles as being or having the potential to be a top class midfielder.

Please, oh please Collingwood, ignore Trade week, delist Rhyce Shaw, and move on and use all our draft picks for to build up a great young list that can sustain us as a "serious" flag threat for a number of years.

Pick no. 11 is too valuable to trade for an internally over rated Essendon hack.

So you Collingwood supporters hate shaw whose only flaw is not being able to kick great but would give up a first round draft pick to get a player who can't kick :S

Seriously wtf is up with this bs.

So you Collingwood supporters hate shaw whose only flaw is not being able to kick great but would give up a first round draft pick to get a player who can't kick :S

Seriously wtf is up with this bs.

I say F*** Brent Stanton & the horse he rode in on. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

There are rumours flying around Essendon are shopping Brent Stanton around. IMO he is just what we need - hard running, skillful, classy, goal kicking onballer. I would be happy to give up pick #11 for him. Averaged 22 possession game this year and usually gets a heavy tag. I really rate him.
Interested in what everyone else thinks?

No, no, no and can't beat a heavy tag.

I'd rather we use our pick 11 in a deal for Kerr ourselves. Possibly throw in Reid and see if the e-girls have a sniff.

Watched the last quarter of the '06 Grand Final on channel 7's GF marathon. He was unbelievable. Not only capable of wnning the ball, but hard tackling, good skills and broke the lines. In one passage he runs 40 metres with it taking it from HB to the forward line.

We have the cap space so I reckon we should try and land a big fish, but not just anyone, the big fish that will suit our needs down to a tea and will let O'Bree retire in a year or two without feeling guilty.

Short of this - go to the draft

Ranked 14th in the comp for kicks per game
Ranked 18th in the comp for inside 50's
Averaged 22.1 possessions per game
Kicked 18 goals this season
Had better stats than S.Pendlebury this year
Best game 32 disps (22 kicks 10 hballs), 12 marks, 9 tackles and 3 goals in Rd 15 37-pt win over Brisbane at Telstra Dome

Why would we tag him in round 17 if he wasnt a ball winner?

This just proves how useless stats are. Stanton is exactly what we dont need.

He is a hard running ball magnet yes but has very little effect on a football game. Love to see the stats on the games where he gets tagged. He wins most of his footy backward of centre and wide and chips it 20 metres to get it back again. Would love to see how many of those inside 50s resulted in scoring shots, not many im tipping. He cannot win the contested footy and is so slow that he could not run out of sight in a dark night. I know essendon supporters who would love pick 11 for him because they know he is no good.

No thanks we need ball winners, we dont need the leagues number 1 receiver.

Stanton, is a waster of space and if i was an essendon supporter ( very glad im not) i would be upset cause hes a disgrace to the number 5 hirdy wore

No. 5 is just a number.

You'd be glad if you'd won 16 premierships. ;)

LoL mate dont go on the past i hate to tell you but with the likes of stanton in your team you will not win a premiership for a while. I will say the kid does have talent but just does not have the football brain that is required at such a high level.

Chris Knights
Brent Stanton

What is the obsession of Collingwood fans in recruiting players who can't kick. Is it because thats pretty much all we have had for so long, we are used to only having players who can't kick, so now we want more.

Personally i am sick of it, Stanton is average at best, **** him off.

Well i'd rather 22 yr old Stanton running through our midfield than old slow Shane O'Bree who cant kick over a jam tin and is lucky to get over 20 possessions a game.

If we can't get a first rounder for Didak then Essendon have a fat chance in hell of getting one for Stanton.

Who the hell said we couldnt get a first rounder for Didak?! Can people stop saying that because it is just crap.

He has very poor disposal, and doesn't get inside enough. Quite a good player, but not what we need. Pass unless it's very cheap.

Correct. Outside player who doesnt cope well with a tag. Reminds me of nick stevens.

correction he does cope well with a tag. he struggled a bit at the start of the year but he was tagged in every game this year and averaged 22 posessiosn among all those other stats. that says he copes well with a tag. my main issue with stanton is he doesnt run hard enough defensively, loves getting the ball and getting the goals but doesnt seem to want to do the team things to often like blocking, putting his body on the line which could be the reason he is getting shopped around. i very much doubt he would be traded, i think the rumours are more that other clubs are interested other then essendon shopping him around

Fair call. I would agree with all of that. If being soft and too offensive is his only problem then i

This just proves how useless stats are. Stanton is exactly what we dont need.

He is a hard running ball magnet yes but has very little effect on a football game. Love to see the stats on the games where he gets tagged. He wins most of his footy backward of centre and wide and chips it 20 metres to get it back again. Would love to see how many of those inside 50s resulted in scoring shots, not many im tipping. He cannot win the contested footy and is so slow that he could not run out of sight in a dark night. I know essendon supporters who would love pick 11 for him because they know he is no good.

No thanks we need ball winners, we dont need the leagues number 1 receiver.

this whole cant take a tag thing is a myth, stanton was our first player tagged in pretty much every game this season yet still averaged 22 possessions, he struggled early in the season with a tag but has grown used to it, he doesnt struggle with a tag. he wins most of his footy backward of the centre and chips it wide? is that why he is what ranked 14th for inside 50's? he runs forward, he kicked 18 goals i think it was, thats not a player who has no effect on the game and chips the ball around in the back half the whole game

haha jeez he is "so slow" ahh dont you love exageration he probably has average or above average speed for an afl footballer but just because he isnt lightning quick means he is "so slow"

does anyone know a site which shows clearence stats? he actually turned himself into more of a inside midfeilder then ever this year due largely to getting tagged, he is my no means strictly an outside midfeilder

the reason essendon supporters are not completely against getting rid of him is because he doesnt run hard enough defensively and doesnt do the small team things like blocking etc when he needs to, it has nothing to do with any of the reasons you mentioned because they are all incorrecet

LoL mate dont go on the past i hate to tell you but with the likes of stanton in your team you will not win a premiership for a while. I will say the kid does have talent but just does not have the football brain that is required at such a high level.

haha jeez i love how opposition supporters claim to know so much about our players yet really have no idea, there is no problem with his footy smarts, he wouldnt be able to get the ball in the most vulnerable positions on the ground if he didnt have the footy smarts. he got quite a few clearences this year, he knows where and when to run, a player that avergaes 22 possessions most of which in the most vulnerable position on the ground for the opposition cannot not have the footy smarts for afl level.

his queries are 1. kicking and 2. defensive aspects that is it. dont just make up shit

Ok no worries......we'll keep stants and you can ride the coat-tails of shannon cox to you next premiership:D

Well i'd rather 22 yr old Stanton running through our midfield than old slow Shane O'Bree who cant kick over a jam tin and is lucky to get over 20 possessions a game.

Well good for you, but if you really want to give up pick #11 for Stanton, then you should give Freo a ring, they might have a job for you.

Honestly i would rather have O'Bree in the middle for another two years than to give up #11 for Stanton.

Well good for you, but if you really want to give up pick #11 for Stanton, then you should give Freo a ring, they might have a job for you.

Honestly i would rather have O'Bree in the middle for another two years than to give up #11 for Stanton.

Your kidden mate..

Stanton is a gun, just no one around him for support at essendon. i would give up pick 11 happily to get a midfielder like this to sit along side swan, cousins and pendles!

thats a classy hard tough midfield right there. not every individual player can possess all those qualities himself. its a team !

Seriously Sqawka Stanton is Ryan Cook with more AFL experince. In a poor side who need his run to provide an option and as the Essendon supporters have said with less of a willingness to do the team things like be accountable and block for team mates.

In all seriousness his just a guy with a decent footy brain and elite fitness. I am more then confident if we wanted to we could get Cook to do the EXACT same thing Stanton does. The only thing Stanton is a gun at is running all day.