Team Chemistry

Suspended
G'day all,
just interested in wondering how highly do you rate Brett Deledio and compared to the other high picks in his draft (2004 i believe).
As well as this i think he'd be a great addition at any club including Geelong and what would it take to get him down to skilled.
Honest opinions, not stupid biased ones.

:eek:

Not sure. Deledio can be very inconsistent, but I think there's no way Richmond will get rid of him. 2008 could shape as a big season for him.

I also dont think there is a chance at all the tigers would get rid of him, he seems pretty popular there with the coaching panel.

But if a deal was to be done, i think we would be looking at a defender/midfield player that is about the same age. I cant really think of a player right now

What do you think Geelong would offer Chemistry?

He is brilliant.

Had a woeful game against you guys and another poor one against Brisbane but other then that has been good to brilliant this year. Lacks a little consistency but all 3rd year players do.

Is probably 1 or 2 from his draft. Most people would take franklin but the biggest difference is that franklin has well and truly torn a game apart but deledio has been a bit more consitent.

Next year will be a big year for him. Hopefully with a fully fit coughlan and polo and some improvement from those around him he will have a even better year.

To get him to geelong it would take selwood and a late 2nd round pick.

We simply wouldn't.

But I'm bored so I will play along anyway. It would take a round 1 pick and probably a pretty handy player or 2.

The thing about Brett Deledio is he is quite the opposite to blokes like Tivendale. He has excellent speed, disposal, marking, etc. however he simply doesn't get enough of the pill to win games of his own boot

We simply wouldn't.

But I'm bored so I will play along anyway. It would take a round 1 pick and probably a pretty handy player or 2.

The thing about Brett Deledio is he is quite the opposite to blokes like Tivendale. He has excellent speed, disposal, marking, etc. however he simply doesn't get enough of the pill to win games of his own boot
Agreed with all of this. Deledio could easily get enough of the ball to win a game, he just has to work out how to break tags.

It will be good to have him back next year with all these other young kids in the midfield. No team will have enough taggers to cover us

thanks for the honest replies, many other boards seem to just be utterly stupid and suggest trades like g. ablett and bartell for travis boak etc.
I dont think there is much chance at geelong getting deledio, but if they were to go for him our first draft pick would be a given aswell as a talanted youngster eg. Brett Prismall who despite not playing too many games is very talanted and in the games he has played, he has shown a lot of potential. I personally wouldn't want to trade pris, though he may feel that in order to excell at AFL level a trade is the best option. As well as this i think a fringe player eg D johnson or S byrnes.
So it would be something like pick 16, Prismall and Byrnes

:p haha not impressed by that comment tigerarmy?
Not much at all.

We cant cover Bartel on his own. What makes you think that next year with Polo, Deledio and Coughlan back that they will have to start tagging us?

Not much at all.

We cant cover Bartel on his own. What makes you think that next year with Polo, Deledio and Coughlan back that they will have to start tagging us?

We have 3 tagable players, Foley, Deledio and Coughlan. Thats it. Johnson, Polo, Tivendale, Raines, Newman, Conners, Casserly and everyone else that plays in the middle next year will be tagging the oppositions midfielders

G'day all,
just interested in wondering how highly do you rate Brett Deledio and compared to the other high picks in his draft (2004 i believe).
As well as this i think he'd be a great addition at any club including Geelong and what would it take to get him down to skilled.
Honest opinions, not stupid biased ones.

proven to be the best player from that draft....3 pix inside the top 10 would prize him from our grip:eek:

In the dreamtime game i reckon he was best on field really carved up the centre of the ground by miles giving us a glimpse of what we can expect in the years to come. (despite Longs mate being given the boomarang)
Lee mathews identified him as our most damaging player and he regularly gets the best tag. I dont think Richmond would consider it for anything given our current state of development.

proven to be the best player from that draft....3 pix inside the top 10 would prize him from our grip:eek:

mmm thats obviously where we disagree. I rate Franklin, Griffen, Lewis, Cloke (who you were unlucky to miss out on, i dont see why they all wanted to go to coll over rich)and possibly Roughhead atm higher than him. I reckon he is very good, but has proven too inconsistent to be regarded as the best player from this draft.

Selwood and a draft pick for deledio? no way, no one who follows an AFL, bar richmond supporters who would agree to that trade. Selwood will win this years rising star, almost certain now that pendles wont play much the rest of the year. Deledio hasnt acheived what he has.

mmm thats obviously where we disagree. I rate Franklin, Griffen, Lewis, Cloke (who you were unlucky to miss out on, i dont see why they all wanted to go to coll over rich)and possibly Roughhead atm higher than him. I reckon he is very good, but has proven too inconsistent to be regarded as the best player from this draft.

Griffen has been shaded by deledio ever since they started. Dont get sucked into the media hype. Lewis doesnt have the hurt factor deledio. Racks up more possies but i rather 20 possies from lids over 30 from lewis. I forgot bout cloke. Has been very good but kicking has hurt him (Plus he plays for collingwood). Roughead, now i know you're joking. Played maybe 3 good games against the worst defences in the league.

The players you have mentioned, except lewis, have been far more incosistent then Deledio.

Selwood and a draft pick for deledio? no way, no one who follows an AFL, bar richmond supporters who would agree to that trade. Selwood will win this years rising star, almost certain now that pendles wont play much the rest of the year. Deledio hasnt acheived what he has.

Deledio already won the Rising star award. Not to mention he is 3rd year player. Selwood has been sensational this year but if you want something then you have to give something.

I agree with you Selwood for Deledio would be a silly trade. Deledio is good, but selwood is going to be too valuable for geelong to trade

Griffen has been shaded by deledio ever since they started. Dont get sucked into the media hype. Lewis doesnt have the hurt factor deledio. Racks up more possies but i rather 20 possies from lids over 30 from lewis. I forgot bout cloke. Has been very good but kicking has hurt him (Plus he plays for collingwood). Roughead, now i know you're joking. Played maybe 3 good games against the worst defences in the league.

The players you have mentioned, except lewis, have been far more incosistent then Deledio.

Deledio already won the Rising star award. Not to mention he is 3rd year player. Selwood has been sensational this year but if you want something then you have to give something.

did he? in 05 i didnt know that, cheers.
i guess its one of those hypothetical trades that neither clubs supporters and hopefully coaching staff would never allow to happen.
Your right Roughead isnt the player deledio is, though KPP do take time to develop and roughead is starting to kick some bags. I still think Griffen would be considered by the AFL community to be better than delids, though i think a lot of that has had to do with the side he plays in and the brand of football that the 'scray play.

did he? in 05 i didnt know that, cheers.
i guess its one of those hypothetical trades that neither clubs supporters and hopefully coaching staff would never allow to happen.
Your right Roughead isnt the player deledio is, though KPP do take time to develop and roughead is starting to kick some bags. I still think Griffen would be considered by the AFL community to be better than delids, though i think a lot of that has had to do with the side he plays in and the brand of football that the 'scray play.

Roughead well never be an outstanding KPP. He will be more like an Anthony Rocca. His best can be brilliant, his worst shocking. Really only kicked goals against us, then thursty moved onto and shut him down, and Carlton. Good for the confidence but not something to write home about.

Griffen will be a star but there will be little between him and deledio except that Deledio is a far more versitile player. Over every season so far deledio has shaded Griffen, its just that deledio plays for richmond and therefore gets unfairly judged by the media. At any other club would already be considered on the verge of superstardom.

i think buddy has shown the most out of there draft, but i think deledio has been the most consistent by far. I would be guessing that deledio would be in the top 5 in the b&f before he broke his hand and with another preseason under his belt 2008 should be a big year.