freo1

Just curious to hear what saints fans think of him and how he went last night? I have my own opinions, but they may be bias so was just wondering how all see him and what you thought of his game.

cheers

Saw him lay off a nice handball at the centre bounce, then moments later either he was crunched in an illegal tackle or he sold his team mate into a tackle.

First time I have ever seen him without the number 7 on his back

i think he was ok for us early on. after the first quater he looked tired (says something about freos fitness level). worked back into in the 4th though. still a fair way off but definetly had a better game than ray. ray should be worried. at the moment i'd pick peake over ray.

Personally, I saw some nice signs, but not enough for me to think he's a shoe-in for a spot. Just sensed an attitude that reminded me of Fiora... meh... I could be way off base though, so we'll see.

Obviously, Peake was brought in as a backup for Lovett for that pacy mid spot. After Ali Smith's performance last night, I could see the young lad leaving Peake in the seconds for us - having said that, Alias is more like to be serving an "apprenticeship" this year in the seconds, so who knows?

Personally, I saw some nice signs, but not enough for me to think he's a shoe-in for a spot. Just sensed an attitude that reminded me of Fiora... meh... I could be way off base though, so we'll see.

Obviously, Peake was brought in as a backup for Lovett for that pacy mid spot. After Ali Smith's performance last night, I could see the young lad leaving Peake in the seconds for us - having said that, Alias is more like to be serving an "apprenticeship" this year in the seconds, so who knows?

that's why Freo werent going to offer him a new contract - basically an attitude problem. Potential for a very good player but not sure about his mental side. Who knows, if Lyon can straighten him out you may have a very handy depth player.

i think he was ok for us early on. after the first quater he looked tired (says something about freos fitness level). worked back into in the 4th though. still a fair way off but definetly had a better game than ray. ray should be worried. at the moment i'd pick peake over ray.

he's a seasoned AFL player who's just completed a whole pre-season with St Kilda. If he's not fit now that says either something about the Saints fitness or the way he's trained over the pre-season, and we all know the saints a very fit outfit so that only leaves........

I think that if Stkilda had their normal midfield operating Peake would have had some space and would have been one of the go to men from stoppages, turnovers etc. I think we then could have seen what he can do. Last night he had to do some inside stuff so I dont think saints fans saw the real run we would like him to give us moving forward.

I think this is it, in a better midfield as an outside receiving player he will look much better like he did for us in 2006 when we made the prelim (he polled BOG in several games then). Last few years at Freo he has had to work inside a lot with our clear out of players. All through juniors there were complaints about his Meh attitude but if he can finally sort that out (which he should by going to another club) I think he can be a handy player for the saints and I wish him well.

Front runner who can be made to look good.
That is his forte.
Wait until the turnovers kick in. Then he will be made to look like the player we got rid of.

Thought Peake had an OK game, his work rate and effort were pretty good. Had a couple of turnovers but wasn't the lone ranger there.

Not sure exactly what his role is supposed to be, he seemed to spend most of his time in defence which I'm not sure is his best position, given that he is prone to turning it over. Think he's much better suited playing out on the wings pushing forward as he's a pretty good shot for goal and can create problems for opposition defences with his pace.

Thought Peake had an OK game, his work rate and effort were pretty good. Had a couple of turnovers but wasn't the lone ranger there.

Not sure exactly what his role is supposed to be, he seemed to spend most of his time in defence which I'm not sure is his best position, given that he is prone to turning it over. Think he's much better suited playing out on the wings pushing forward as he's a pretty good shot for goal and can create problems for opposition defences with his pace.

you're spot on there. with his skills, at times lack of awareness, and the fact he's not a good tackler he's not suited to the backline at all. Running the ball forward of centre though is his strength. He has a good ability to run the ball across 50 and kick long goals, still a horrible looking kicking style, but seems more confident in himslef going for goal than pin pointing a pass. I think there's definately potential in him so hopefully he's played in a position he can do well in, get his head right and be a good player for the saints

To be fair to Brett, you've got to actually have somebody to pinpoint to, and last year your boys didn't have much of a forward line with Pav playing midfield. Still, I take your overall point. Just less and less excited about Peake, and am returning to thinking he's going to be a Sandy stalwart (which I stated when we first got him). Happy to be proven wrong, but hey.

i think he was ok for us early on. after the first quater he looked tired (says something about freos fitness level).

If Lovett had to be accused of rape to not be allowed to train with the Saints, what evil did Peake have to commit to spend his pre-season training with Fremantle? :rolleyes:

No way......:thumbsd:

Not sure I'd play Peake ahead of Ray at this stage but Ray definitely seems to have dropped off since his impressive start last season. I barely noticed him last night.

That being said, I don't see why both Ray and Peake can't play in the same team. They are similar types of players but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a case of choosing one and not the other.

brett peake looked abit fumbly and out of touch but i think he gradually looked better as the game went on.. me being a former wa boy, used to watch freo play alot at subi (although im a blues fan with heaps of freo mates) i think the smaller melbourne grounds wont suit peake because he likes to run and create space.. (subi)

One of the things that mystified me about Peake was that despite supposedly being lightning quick, you never really noticed it on the field. He would never chase someone down from behind, and any runs he went on didn't seem that much different to any other player with reasonable speed (except Peake would run around in circles much more).

People say his attitude is poor, and that might be the case, but sometimes a player just doesn't care as much as others ... what can you do? From the start it sounded like he was a bit reluctant to pursue an AFL career (ala, say, Nathan Ablett), but because he was the son of one of the greatest WA players of all time, it was expected/hoped that he would follow suit. I think Peake realised that getting paid to play footy would be the means for him to comfortably do what he would prefer, drinking tins and catching waves.

For all the talk when we recruited him about him falling over and turning it over (not dissimilar to the "advice" we got from Dogs supporters when trading for Faz), I haven't seen these problems yet. Whilst it is early days, I think he'll fit in well (but then I always did given he's played a number of good games against us in the past). Greg Hutchison clearly believes he is in our best 22.

His effort to turn Maxwell inside out and then calmly spot up Sammy Fisher for a goal in the 4th quarter was very impressive. Give him a chance brothers! Our game style isn't just picked up over a summer.

Not sure I'd play Peake ahead of Ray at this stage but Ray definitely seems to have dropped off since his impressive start last season. I barely noticed him last night.

That being said, I don't see why both Ray and Peake can't play in the same team. They are similar types of players but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a case of choosing one and not the other.

i agree with this, both in my 22 atm..

His effort to turn Maxwell inside out and then calmly spot up Sammy Fisher for a goal in the 4th quarter was very impressive. Give him a chance brothers! Our game style isn't just picked up over a summer.

His effort in being turned inside out by Swan was deplorable, needs to improve this before he goes close to cementing a starting gig.

As myself and one of the Freo supporters said, playing in defence isn't Peake's best position which is where he was caught out by Swan. He probably plays a bit too loose to be a reliable defender and isn't the best tackler. He is better suited on the wing or around half forward where he is the one making the play rather than trying to shut down an opponent.

That being said, he still needs to work on the defensive side of his game if he is going to get a regular game under Lyon. As was shown with Milne and Dal Santo a couple of years ago if you don't have a defensive side to your game then you'll be out of the team.