Brodie has to go

Magpies 2007

Draftee
Sep 13, 2006
The brownlow confirmed my thoughts even further that we have to get rid of Brodie.

He should stick to dancing with the stars to get his votes ,he played many games in the midfield right in front of the umpires ,played the loose attacking player and still got zero votes .....why .

I feel he is to soft at the contest and only hits anyone solidly when they are not watching ,clearly he is not an option for us to move forward with ,we should trade him whilst some clubs feel he has some value.

As a midfielder or even a dangerous forward which he is supposed to be he is robbing us of the chance to play the likes of

Didak,Thomas,Shaw,Swan,Davis,Iles,Pendlebury and Tarrant to name a few in the middle to compliment the already experienced players like Lockyer,burns,obree,buckley,liccuria,as our best mid field rotating options .

Sorry brodie you are the weakest link goodbye!

get ya hand off it brodies a gun, how bout u start watchin the footy more and not dancing with the stars

He is way down the list of our problem midfielders. Way down. He can tag, he can get the ball and he can kick.

If Buckley and Burns are finished as full time midfielders Brodie Holland is as good as we’ve got among the experienced players – maybe with Johnson. O’Bree, Lockyer, Lonie and R. Shaw of the regulars would all go ahead of Holland. I have always been a Licuria fan but right now I’d keep Holland ahead of him. Holland 2006 was better than Davis’s entire career. Maybe Davis has turned some sort of corner and that hope may be enough but if you wanted a player you could expect output from Holland would be a long way ahead.

ernie burger said:
get ya hand off it brodies a gun, how bout u start watchin the footy more and not dancing with the stars
lmao i agree totally. There is absolutely no chance Brodie is going anywhere- he is probably the best inside type midfielder we got at the moment. If your looking to trade someone how about some of the 'older' boys....

I think burns has been a terrific servant for the club and it kills me to mention this but is his age catching up with him?? Perhaps he is denying some of the younger boys an opportunity to take the midfield mantle- like danny stanley, or sam iles.... I'd consider also putting 'lica' in that category as well, only because of his real lack of leg speed, yet his hard work/running is unquestionable and he too has been a terrific servant. Do you think the time is right to start injecting 'new young blood' into the midfield, but keeping a few of the senior boys in there because there is a little bit of too much sameness every year, without much leg speed? Your thoughts anyone?

Just on the midfield and particularly Burns, is it time to shift him back to the backline? Bring Heath Shaw into the midfield mix and only use Burns in the midfield for patches to assist with clearance from the bounce.

IMO we should trade or delist Lockyer and O’Bree, try and trade Lonie and Licuria and play a younger midfield with Buckley as a forward but lending a hand in the middle. Give Thomas and Pendlebury bigger midfield roles, try Yakka for a decent period early if he survives the cut and make Swan on of the main men we rely on along with Johnson and Holland. Hopefully we will get something quick and exciting from the draft that will help reasonably soon.

I think we have to recognise what wen have isn’t good enough and the best of it is virtually finished anyway.

Brodie is an extremely important part of the team, even if his influence on games isn't always evident. IMO his absence during our mid-season slump was a significant contributing factor to it. So as others have said, there are many more higher on the hitlist than Brodie at the moment.

And as for judging a player's worth by the amount of Brownlow votes he gathers? Actually it's not even worth addressing.:thumbsdown:

MarkT said:
Just on the midfield and particularly Burns, is it time to shift him back to the backline? Bring Heath Shaw into the midfield mix and only use Burns in the midfield for patches to assist with clearance from the bounce.

IMO we should trade or delist Lockyer and O’Bree, try and trade Lonie and Licuria and play a younger midfield with Buckley as a forward but lending a hand in the middle. Give Thomas and Pendlebury bigger midfield roles, try Yakka for a decent period early if he survives the cut and make Swan on of the main men we rely on along with Johnson and Holland. Hopefully we will get something quick and exciting from the draft that will help reasonably soon.

I think we have to recognise what wen have isn’t good enough and the best of it is virtually finished anyway.
i like your thinking mark, but if we use burns and buckley sparingly through the middle [i infact think the speed of the game means they shouldn't do that in the first place] and we delist/trade o'bree, who exactly is going to extract the ball from a packed situation? holland is out for six and we could be kissing any finals chance goodbye.

i think lonie still at 23 has alot to offer but should be played in the midfield/wing not in the backline. He is a good long kick, quick and carries the footy and with the modern game players like him are necessities but needs to have an imapct regularly. I'm all for a new, young vibrant midfield consisting of perhaps 2-3 experienced heads and with the pool talent of this draft we will land quality young mid's.

I reckon o'bree is very good although he doesnt have pace he works hard, wins hard ball and is good on both sides of his body so for me he has probably resurrected himself considering he was at the crossroads 2yrs back. Lockyer- play him back in his normal spot of HBF or BP and i agree make heath shaw a permanent midfielder, with alot of run and dash. Burns- dunno if he is quick enough to play on a small forward but maybe keep him on the bench and just rotate him through the middle occassionally for hardness and strength at the contest- yet does that deprive our younger guys of game time in the middle? Licuria is compotent and probably is consistent without being awesome- a different role of HFF perhaps with occassional stint in the middle- he did kick a bag in round 22 against the roos and will always work hard and present (similar to a matthew bode get him to work hard, tackle, chase, lock the ball inside 50 etc- kicking is a worry however at times) I still think the future is good for us and im sure MM and his panel will realise the opportunity presenting itself and hopefully the younger guys can carry the load and repay the faith.

Brodie is good. He'll stay for a long time.

I don't think he ever really got over that archillies injury, he seemed to slow down after he had the 4 weeks out injured

i dont know if its been said, but after the dancing he had his best season ever, and was one of the only bright spots of that year. it's more like get back to the dancing, brodie. but seriously, there are others to get the chop before brodie. calling for the club to get rid of someone feels all refreshing, but when you dont have someone to be a replacement, its just stupid.

Magpies 2007 said:
The brownlow confirmed my thoughts even further that we have to get rid of Brodie.

He should stick to dancing with the stars to get his votes ,he played many games in the midfield right in front of the umpires ,played the loose attacking player and still got zero votes .....why .

I feel he is to soft at the contest and only hits anyone solidly when they are not watching ,clearly he is not an option for us to move forward with ,we should trade him whilst some clubs feel he has some value.

As a midfielder or even a dangerous forward which he is supposed to be he is robbing us of the chance to play the likes of

Didak,Thomas,Shaw,Swan,Davis,Iles,Pendlebury and Tarrant to name a few in the middle to compliment the already experienced players like Lockyer,burns,obree,buckley,liccuria,as our best mid field rotating options .

Sorry brodie you are the weakest link goodbye!

Get over yourself. He's one of our best and toughest midfielders. Who would you replace him with?

If we get rid of both O'Bree and Holland with no replacements we will be up Carlton Creek with no paddle for a few years. Don't get sucked in by all the propaganda surrounding O'Bree, he is a good usefull player. He is our only consistant, sorta young inside midfielder. Brodie is a bit of a in-between player and is good at different midfield roles.
The key thing is to make sure that they are not our key midfielders (unless they improve dramatically) and push them back as support players, players who sneak under the radar. O'Bree had a good year, but as our #1 midfielder he got tagged out of the game too easily.

ok, are there any midfielders we can get rid of then? The stats show that that's where we weren't very good this year, yet all the players there are unremoveable apparently. We've got enough retirements and Willy duds to axe so that we'll have enough list spots already, so we don't HAVE to get rid of any of them. But we also won't really change anything unless we do. Surely some are tradeable?

lenny&carl said:
ok, are there any midfielders we can get rid of then? The stats show that that's where we weren't very good this year, yet all the players there are unremoveable apparently. We've got enough retirements and Willy duds to axe so that we'll have enough list spots already, so we don't HAVE to get rid of any of them. But we also won't really change anything unless we do. Surely some are tradeable?

Agree but not Holland he is one of the only players in our team that has some mongrel , thread should of read Lonie has to go he is a squib that even when he gets the ball often goes to a team mate under more pressure than him. For someone with such a long kick he rarely kicks long and usually chips it sideways or handballs to a pressured team mate.. he is the weakest link and the WHOLE AFL knows it.

lenny&carl said:

Yes, some are, but let's go through them;

Burns (32 in December) - Too old.
Licuria (28) - Slowing down.
O'Bree (27) - Keep.
Holland (26) - Tradable.
Johnson (25) - Definite keep.
R Shaw (25 in October) - Speed factor. Keep.
Lonie (23) - Tradable.
Swan (22) - Definite keep.
Rowe (21) - On the outer.
Iacobucci (20) - Keep at this stage unless delisted.
Davies (20) - Keep at this stage unless delisted.

Life would not change without Lonie. He's worth something. To suggest Holland is, somewhat a violation towards some supporters, because he has been very good for us since 2004. But he's worth something.
I think most AFL clubs would be interested in Lonie and Holland. Lonie delivers well by foot and he carries the ball. Holland is a hard-nosed midfielder with good, but not great, vision.

Between us, I reckon we have a little ripper in the maggoos who goes by the name of Daniel Nicholls. In my opinion, he's better than Holland and Lonie. He will put his head over the ball and would not shrink. He will receive and deliver a flawless pass onto the forward's chest. He will carry the ball.
If he doesn't make the grade I would be gobsmacked.

Us3 said:
i like your thinking mark, but if we use burns and buckley sparingly through the middle [i infact think the speed of the game means they shouldn't do that in the first place] and we delist/trade o'bree, who exactly is going to extract the ball from a packed situation? holland is out for six and we could be kissing any finals chance goodbye.
I think it’s a problem but the fact is our midfield isn’t good enough as it is so it’s only a question of missing the 8 as opposed to making up numbers if players like Swan, Johnson, Holland, H.Shaw etc don’t stack up. If they do however, players like Burns and Buckley can be the icing. At least we’ll know exactly where we stand and get some games in the midfield into Thomas, Pendlebury and hopefully pick 10 and maybe 28.

magpies42 said:
ok good idea! but who do you suggest we replace him with! As long as we dont have better options brodie and shane will play
That’s not how you should look at it. The only valid question, given where we are, is are they good enough to be premiership midfielders. I’d say Holland is a yes and O’Bree a no. I rate Holland a lot more highly than O’Bree who IMO is a front runner and even when he is in form he slows our forward movement down. Same can be said for Lockyer. IMO we need to trade O’Bree and Lockyer to move forward even if we don’t know whether players like Shaw and Thomas are good enough yet or ever will be.

loki04 said:
Agree but not Holland he is one of the only players in our team that has some mongrel , thread should of read Lonie has to go he is a squib that even when he gets the ball often goes to a team mate under more pressure than him. For someone with such a long kick he rarely kicks long and usually chips it sideways or handballs to a pressured team mate.. he is the weakest link and the WHOLE AFL knows it.
Lonie has improved a hell of a lot this year. He is tradable. He is only the weakest link when he is forced to play in defence on a player who spends most of the time in the forward 50. I.e. he can only play on loose running HFFs. His first half of the year was very underrated. He played in the midfield and on the wing and was actually a tackling machine and even putting his head over the ball. He had a few tagging jobs, his best was his BOG (IMO) job on Adam Goodes where he not only kept him out of the game, asides from some easy possesions in the backline, he beat him at his own game and was the most damaging player on the ground.

Lonie still has potential, his is pretty young and hasn't put a full season together. He is not a dud, but he is good trade bait.

brodie holland shane obree paul licuria, get rid of those 3, they should not be playing afl football, they are all to slow with no skills what so ever, they would not make any other team in the league, so why are they with us? to often they kick the ball on top of the players head and not in front, thats why tarrant isnt as good as he should be, we are very lucky bucks is there as he is the only one who can kick it to the forwards.

i dont care if we get rid of two of them and keep one just so theres a big body there to help out thomo and pendles until they get big and old enough to look after themselves, but as for people saying they are the most important for the team is just terrible, GET RID OF THEM

Brodie has to go