Roast Bryce Gibbs

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibba

stress less people he's only in his 3rd year? 20-21? Still learning. Some clubs wait 3-4 years to see ONE game out of some of their high draft picks.

Only question i always ask myself (concerning Bryce) when we're in a game that needs SOMETHING to shake it up and not necessarily because we're losing either is that ....... Why don't we play him up forward?

Why don't we play him up forward? I'm sure he can do it. I've seen him do it with my own eyes to great effect for 5-10 minute periods in his very short afl career. Good size, has the skills, can take a grab, can use his greatest asset IMO which is reading the play, vision to maximum effect by hurting the opposition on the scoreboard.

Did his apprenticeship in the backline i'm sure he'd love to kick a few of his own.

He could be a matchup nightmare for opposition coaches.

Bryce has been one of our best players every week this season up until the crows game.

He had an off week. Talk of him going back to the VFL is unbelievable. Literally unbelievable. I mean i can't actually believe that a carlton supporter would actually say/type it and mean it.

Most people would probably that, of the players in the AFL at Bryce's age/level of experience, Joel Selwood is probably the only one better than him. So Bryce is not going TOO bad is he ?

I'll tell you who else was terrible... Jarrad Waite.

ONE freakin' handball for the ENTIRE GAME. What the hell, Jarrad? If you think that's good enough, you're in for a rude shock! He'll be damn lucky to be playing in the Bullants next week... probably should be dropped to the Little League.

Waite was definitely worse than Gibbs.

Gibbs lacks physicality, body size and strength. He might need a wake up call in the 2nds. But he does need more work in the gym.
Lacks physicality, yes.

The other two, doubtful - he turned himself into a unit over preseason, and is winning one-on-ones because of his strength. Was evident throughout the preseason and NAB Cup that he came to play this year and after a blistering opening couple of rounds he's tapered off a bit.

Doesn't need a wake-up call in the seconds - played SANFL at 17 and kicked 6 goals as Rover - a class above.

Needs to be shown a tape of Pendlebury, as an example of who he is becoming, and what not to do. Blooded through our ranks as a back-flanker, (perhaps naturally) he has a defensive mindset, and as such plays the defensive roving role, whereas Murphy plays the more offensive role. Is really just learning the caper in our midfield so needs to be cut some slack by us Blues supporters for playing in the manner he does.

Omg, leave him alone. You guys are a disgrace to the team. He one of our best and u drill him for an off day!

Im sick and F***ing tired of this S***!!! Leave the F***ing players alone!!!!

Unbeleiveable!! :(

Gibbs lacks physicality, body size and strength. He might need a wake up call in the 2nds. But he does need more work in the gym.

You are fully entitled to your opinion, however 95% of Carlton fans and brains trust would totally disagree, again l make the point if our B&F was counted after Round 9 no question Gibbs would be top 4, your comments are based on one game which is totally wrong, even Judd himself had a shocker did you comment on this NO.

Gibbs is now listed at 84kg which is very similar to Dal Santo, Judd, Mitchell etc so l am not quite sure you sure you are correct at all in relation to beefing up, as a midfielder which he should be this is clearly about the level for most midfielders.

ONE freakin' handball for the ENTIRE GAME. What the hell, Jarrad? If you think that's good enough, you're in for a rude shock! He'll be damn lucky to be playing in the Bullants next week... probably should be dropped to the Little League.

Good call. He'll be lucky if he gets another game this year based on that effort.

Omg, leave him alone. You guys are a disgrace to the team. He one of our best and u drill him for an off day!

Im sick and F***ing tired of this S***!!! Leave the F***ing players alone!!!!

Unbeleiveable!! :(

AND BLUESMAN HAS ONLY BEEN HERE 2 MONTHS :eek:

:thumbsu: very ott thread ,couldn't agree more with this statement

Look at Post 3 and you will find the offender who sidetracked the OP - mind you Post 2 had a good point :cool:

Leave Waitey alone - at least he gave it a go. You wanna know who boils my blood - Robbie bloody Warnock! For the picks we gave up for him he couldn't get a single hitout, let alone one to advantage. Useless ruckman, might as well have not been there.

I want our draft picks back!:mad:

Leave Waitey alone - at least he gave it a go. You wanna know who boils my blood - Robbie bloody Warnock! For the picks we gave up for him he couldn't get a single hitout, let alone one to advantage. Useless ruckman, might as well have not been there.

I want our draft picks back!:mad:

Cough (psst He was joking) cough cough :o

I beg to differ - "at least he gave it a go". Does not sound like it to me :confused:

Hey MY BAD - just read the whole of his post :o

ps Trying to reduce my time on the board by skim reading

Hehe no worries, bad humour I know but trying to alleviate some of the mood in here of late.

I don't post very often and tend to be more of a lurker, but when I do you know it won't be very serious. On that note, however, can some of the more wraith-bearing amongst us throw some humour in with their diatribes, you have no idea how much more enjoyable it makes it to read, instead of the old 'sook sook, squib, soft, drop him, sook sook'.

Black humour is the best humour :thumbsu: , sarcasm doesn't count though.

gibbs is a jet, you just wouldnt drop him unless he had a longish run of bad form.

how good is paul bower:thumbsu:

I just made a mild funny re: Waite because this board (and Big Footy... and the internet... and the world in general) overreacts hysterically to everything. The truth is almost always between the two loudest opposing voices.

We lose in shocking fashion, and everyone from our inspiring, Brownlow favourite superstar captain to our untried, untested rookies needs to be dropped. We win and Gibbs is better than Hird, Wiggins is in AA form and Shaun Hampson is better than Dean Cox.

Guess what? None of that is true.

I still say Waite went missing after the first quarter...

Fumbled a fair bit and it wouldn't surprise me if his confidence took a bit of a hit when he kicked it straight to Tippett when kicking in from a behind.

Had an ordinary game but he has had a sensational year and I'll back him to learn from today's performance and become a better player as a result.

Not so sure that he has had a sensational year. Felt he was much better at stages last season. Has played some good footy this year but believe he is below what should be expected of him. Having said this most of the side is well below what they should be this season. In my opinion we have only played to our potential in 3 games which includes the Hawthorn loss.