Buckley CHB

I was a bit young to fully understand the game when Carey was at his peak but watching old replays etc there is one thing that is totally clear. Carey was probably the most unstoppable player one on one and the defensive structures of the game have probably started changing around guys like him and Plugger.

Teams where consistantly smashed for leaving Carey one out with space the guy was too good. With all that said and I am probably going to be smashed for this but I think Buddy Franklin's 2008 season is probably the most amazing, talanted and dominate season of footy I have seen by an individual. When you consider how hard the game has gotten for fowards. The year before Brownny won the coleman with 77 which was one of the lowest winners of all time. This year Jack Riewoldt won it with 75 (IIRC). I know Fev also kicked 99 that year but the difference if the amount of ball directed to him. Fev kicked 99 with no one else in the team breaking 30, Buddy did it with Roughhead kicking 70 odd too. Without seeing the stats I am going to guess Buddy was one of the most inaccurate players to kick a hundred in a season too. It was a freak display of a year.

Carey later admitted he laughed when bux was put on him thinking he was gonna have a day out on him... t0ss bag.. Im pretty sure that day the roos were wearing their Orange strip.... Pies had no chance prior to the game but did smash them under the unshaw years.
I'm dead sure that was 2000!

We won the first 5....then didn't win about until about round 15.. which i'm sure was the Roos, in their orange strip!

This is a bit like the I caught a fish this big story that grows in time.

Bucks played on carey once or twice. Not numerous times and caned him as suggested.

Fwiw If that stats shown are the correct stats then carey still had 6 marks and kicked 3 in a game were I believe we smashed them in the centre. Most CHFs these days would take those stats in a heat beat.

Bucks was very good in this game but Its the only time were I remember bucks doing pretty well on Carey. I think there may have been another game were bucks started on carey and Carey beat him so bucks was moved.

I am pretty sure he had 2 or even all 3 of those goals before Bucks moved onto him that day, Bucks towelled him up, besides I reckon any team would take 31 possessions from their CHB ;)

I'm going to be the wet fish, sorry guys.

I can't remember when it was exactly but it would've been late 90's when we were just ok and North were heaps better. It was definitely an MCG game, on a saturday afternoon. We were going ok against North, maybe down a goal or two at three quarter time but Carey had been killing us all day so we put Buckley on him for the last quarter.

All I can say is Carey is the best player I've ever seen and Buckley couldn't get near him. Possibly three last quarter goals. I didn't want Buckley on him ever again for obvious reasons.

No. As others have suggested, it was the mid-1996 game when we had a day out and won against the odds.

For what it's worth, we weren't crap all season that year - we actually started off OK and then fell in a hole. For whatever reason, that pattern repeated itself in 1997 and 1998 - Tony Shaw's first three seasons as coach.

yeah im preety sure thats true beat him in one game and then played on him later that season and had 5 or 6 goals kicked on him. I think he says it in his Auto-Biography......

..... just checked in his book, round 15 1996, after 5 minutes into the start of the game bucks moved onto him, after carey had already kicked two goals on Andrew Schauble. Bucks kept him to only 11 possesions and one more goal while he went on to have 30.

The next time bucks played on him in Round 11 1998 Carey had 20 touches and four goals and was BOG.

If anyone has the book read from 201-205.