FadeAway

Newcastle United
Back at the start of the year when the Grand Prix was on, my best mate was invited to the Vodafone tent. There was heaps of celebrities in and out, including Bucks...

My best mate managed to ask Bucks to call me to say hi, i couldnt believe it! I was at home playing on the PC i get a call from my mate in the tent, he said to me... "Damo someone wants to say hi", it was bloody BUCKS!!!!! I couldnt believe it, what a top BLOKE! We had a 3-4 minute chat about his 2nd place in the celebrity race and....FOOTY!!!!

I asked him where he thought we would finish, mind you this is back in March! He said the following.... Ill never forget it.

Damo, the Pies will finish 8th, 7th at best this year. I was bloody shocked so i asked why, he said.

Damo, Collingwood's problem is that they are a high intesity squad, they need such an even spread effort to get over teams so if they are down as little as 2-3% they will struggle. Particualy against teams they should win against.

What do you know, he was DEAD SET on the money!!! And by the way, he wont coach Collingwood. He wants to go elsewere first to get a broader look at how other clubs do business. Mick will be at the helm for a long time yet, that came from Bucks!!!

He certainly knows his stuff.

And I hope Mick is there for a while yet, certainly until Bucks is ready in a few years time.

Doubt Mick would last 1 more Season

Dave, Why don't you want Malthouse at Collingwood?

It's the second time since 1981 (27yrs) that collingwood has played in 3 successive finals.
the other time was 88, 89 & 90

Given our injuries this year and the loss of Didak and Health Shaw we may have blown another year. You can't blame MM for that.

MM is a great coach and having shared the coaches box with him, i don't think he will go anywhere. He is so determined on the young developing kids and Bucks might not even be a coach remember people.

Dave, Why don't you want Malthouse at Collingwood?

It's the second time since 1981 (27yrs) that collingwood has played in 3 successive finals.
the other time was 88, 89 & 90

Given our injuries this year and the loss of Didak and Health Shaw we may have blown another year. You can't blame MM for that.

Dave isn't the only one who will call for Malthouse's head!

Just wait till the Annual General Meeting!

MM is a great coach and having shared the coaches box with him, i don't think he will go anywhere. He is so determined on the young developing kids and Bucks might not even be a coach remember people.

Of course Sheed's was never an un tried coach was he.

What would make us a team that is less dependant upon "intensity"?

Is this all due to a lack of talent or is it due to our game plan?

If we get a more talented midfield gruop will this make us less dependant on intensity to win or will mick's game plan still demand it?

I'm interested in peoples thoughts on this.

If we get a more talented midfield gruop will this make us less dependant on intensity to win or will mick's game plan still demand it?

I'd suggest a mix of both, game plan being a major part though.

Having one of the worst midfield groups in the AFL doesn't help, if we do not draft mainly mids and a developing Ruck this year the recruiting department should be shot.

Also we don't need another tall defender, we will be getting S.Reed for cheap and either one of Reid and Cloke could hold down CHB with Brown at FB.

QUOTE=FadeAway;12272087]Damo, the Pies will finish 8th, 7th at best this year. I was bloody shocked so i asked why, he said.

Damo, Collingwood's problem is that they are a high intesity squad, they need such an even spread effort to get over teams so if they are down as little as 2-3% they will struggle. Particualy against teams they should win against.
[/QUOTE]He has said this consistently all year on 3AW.
Mick will be at the helm for a long time yet, that came from Bucks!!!
Forget Bucks, it must be obvious to everyone that MM is here for a good while yet.

Could be some sort of omen?
We recruited the mids we had needed for years for the 1990 season and made up the ground we had to make up. There is the only omen worth worrying about. Fill the list holes, win the flag. Been that way for over 100 years.

I think it is a talent thing. We don't have the weapons offensively to break the game open. Our attack is very reliant on either beating poor midfields or forcing turn overs and exposing teams on the turn over. It's a combination of not being able to get our hands on the ball first often enough and not having the footskills and pace to run the ball through the center.

Of course whether Mick is willing to implement a game plan that allows us to play more freely and with more risk is questionable, but for now we don't have the skills to play that way.

Not so sure about that.

Consider that we have a kick:handball ratio of almost 2 (highest in the league by far) and then consider how many of our players are actually better by foot than hand. Is it really optimal?

Not so sure about that.

Consider that we have a kick:handball ratio of almost 2 (highest in the league by far) and then consider how many of our players are actually better by foot than hand. Is it really optimal?

Fair point. To hand ball and run and carry would require more pace. It would also be better suited to having at least an extra player loose behind the ball.

If our 22 faced off against Geelong's 22 in a foot-race, I'd be confident of winning more than half.

And yes, we would have to stray from that man-on-man strategy that Malthouse clings on to. The horror.

If our 22 faced off against Geelong's 22 in a foot-race, I'd be confident of winning more than half.

And yes, we would have to stray from that man-on-man strategy that Malthouse clings on to. The horror.

I like our game style a lot actually. But it does need Ant in the forward line to take the heat on the pressure ball coming in. His loss is going to hurt us more than anyone