mymansyd

Which of these guys would look good in a Crows' jumper?

The next most likely...
11:46:57 AM Mon 22 November, 2004
Matt Burgan

10 names to watch out for in the National Bank's Pre-Season and Rookie Draft

Ruory Kirkby - Bendigo Pioneers
2 April 1986, 192cm, 80kg

Kirkby was the most surprisingly overlooked player in this year's National Bank's AFL Draft, as he was widely regarded as a top-30 selection. He will now be a key target either for the pre-season or rookie draft. A key defender/forward, Kirkby is terrific overhead and mobile for his size. He won All-Australian honours in this year's under-18 championships. Kirkby was also named in the 2004 TAC Cup team of the year.

Heath Grundy - Norwood
2 June 1986, 192cm, 92kg

Grundy was another key forward/defender expected to be taken in this year's draft, particularly after an outstanding under-18 carnival, where he too gained All-Australian honours. He kicked three goals and took 11 marks against Western Australian in the championships. An AIS/AFL Academy graduate, Grundy also impressed playing senior football for Norwood in the SANFL in 2003/04.

Danyle Pearce - Sturt
7 April 1986, 177cm, 68kg

Pearce had an outstanding Draft Camp, as he won the 20-metre sprint with a time of 2.79 seconds, while he also topped the agility run in just 7.79 seconds. Athletically, his results were the best performed at the championships. Possessing genuine pace, Pearce represented South Australia in the under-18 championships this year. Originally from a basketball background, Pearce is related to the Burgoyne brothers and Aaron Davey.

Ryan Bain - Oakleigh Chargers
7 January 1986, 184cm, 81kg

Bain represented Victoria Metropolitan in this year's championships, where he had an impressive carnival, while he was also named in the 2004 TAC Cup team of the year. He is a skilful midfielder with great speed, who consistently finds space and wins the football. He will be another player who will be sought after in the upcoming December drafts.

Ben Sharp - Oakleigh Chargers
10 July 1986, 187cm, 78kg

Aerobically terrific, Sharp was outstanding in the under-18 championships this year, when he kicked the winning goal against South Australia, in extra time, which helped give Victorian Metropolitan the title. He was also rewarded with All-Australian selection. An AIS/AFL Academy member, Sharp is a hard-running midfielder who is a fine linkman in play.

Jesse D.Smith - Calder Cannons
20 February 1986, 183cm, 82kg

He had a terrific season in 2004, representing Victoria Metropolitan in the under-18 championships, while he was rewarded with best-on-ground honours in this year's TAC Cup grand final win over Eastern Ranges. He notched up 34 disposals at the MCG on grand final day. Smith also won the Calder Cannons best-and-fairest award. He is not to be confused with new Kangaroos midfielder Jesse W.Smith

Eddie Betts - Calder Cannons
26 November 1986, 173cm, 75kg

Betts had an outstanding junior career, which included being named an All-Australian in the under-18 championships in 2003. He also represented Victoria Metropolitan in 2004. Betts was also a dual Calder Cannons premiership player in 2003/04. A small, crumbing forward with terrific pace, he has been compared in some circles as an Aaron Davey type of player, which could make him an interesting prospect in December.

Nick Becker - Calder Cannons
7 July 1986, 186cm, 78kg

Becker was a terrific performer in the Calder Cannons premiership victory over the Eastern Rangers this year, when he notched up 26 disposals. He is a disciplined midfielder, who possesses good pace, agility and a terrific work ethic. Becker is also a strong mark and a penetrating kick. He attended this year's Draft Camp and was another who will be sought after in December.

Beau Wilkes - Claremont
20 March 1986, 194cm, 91kg

A strong marking forward, particularly in contested situations, Wilkes has a terrific work rate for a player of his size. He represented Western Australia at this year's under-18 championships and was a fine performer in his side's final match against Victoria Country, when he claimed 22 disposals and 12 marks. He was also named captain of the WAFL Colts team of the year in 2004.

Rowan Nayna - Dandenong Stingrays
3 May 1986, 181cm, 77kg

A quick, defender/midfielder, Nayna possesses a terrific vertical leap and runs the lines well. He represented Victoria Metropolitan at this year's under-18 championships, while he was also named in the TAC Cup team of the year. He continued to improve as the season progressed and he claimed a third placing in the Dandenong Stingrays best-and-fairest in 2004. He attended the recent Victorian state-based screening.

mymansyd said:
Ruory Kirkby - Bendigo Pioneers
2 April 1986, 192cm, 80kg

Kirkby was the most surprisingly overlooked player in this year's National Bank's AFL Draft, as he was widely regarded as a top-30 selection. He will now be a key target either for the pre-season or rookie draft. A key defender/forward, Kirkby is terrific overhead and mobile for his size. He won All-Australian honours in this year's under-18 championships. Kirkby was also named in the 2004 TAC Cup team of the year.

Heath Grundy - Norwood
2 June 1986, 192cm, 92kg

Grundy was another key forward/defender expected to be taken in this year's draft, particularly after an outstanding under-18 carnival, where he too gained All-Australian honours. He kicked three goals and took 11 marks against Western Australian in the championships. An AIS/AFL Academy graduate, Grundy also impressed playing senior football for Norwood in the SANFL in 2003/04.

I want one of these two in the PSD. I'm leaning toward Grundy because he looks a ready made player. Kirkby seems a little light on, could take a bit longer to get his body right for AFL contests.

Grundy or Pearce id say. In terms of squad balance its probably time for a quick midfielder. In 2003 we picked 3 talls. In 2004 3 talls and 2 midfielders. Id say a quick midfielder who is an excitement machine would turn our very good draft into an unbelievably good draft.

That said ive never seen either in the SANFL but I now have 100% total faith in our club again. Stewart to the Crows alongside Craig has had an amazingly positive impact so far with trading and drafting

From MymanSyd on another thread

Re: So who now for the PSD/Rookie spots?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Possible Pre-Season draft may look like this....

1 - Rich - Steve McKee
2 - Haw - Pass
3 - Dogs - Pass
4 - Coll - Blake Caracella
5 - Crows - ?????
6 - Carl - Trent Knobel
7 - Roos - Pass
8 - Frem - Jarrad Schofield
9 - WCst - Pass
10 - Melb - Pass
11 - Ess - Justin Blumfield
12 - Syd - Pass
13 - Geel - Pass
14 - StK - ?????
15 - Bris - Pass

Just having a stab, please don't be cruel.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
From MymanSyd on another thread

Re: So who now for the PSD/Rookie spots?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Possible Pre-Season draft may look like this....

1 - Rich - Steve McKee
2 - Haw - Pass
3 - Dogs - Pass
4 - Coll - Blake Caracella
5 - Crows - ?????
6 - Carl - Trent Knobel
7 - Roos - Pass
8 - Frem - Jarrad Schofield
9 - WCst - Pass
10 - Melb - Pass
11 - Ess - Justin Blumfield
12 - Syd - Pass
13 - Geel - Pass
14 - StK - ?????
15 - Bris - Pass

Just having a stab, please don't be cruel.

So if it does go like that, we've got first bite at any of these 10 overlooked players?

Bye bye Stevo. :(

DJ75 said:
Can we say bye bye stevo and Begley?
Then we could take Kirkby and Pearce and put Grundy on Rookie list.
Talk about setting a club up for the next generation!!

Sadly yes. You've got to look at the next 4-5 years minimum and ask if Stevo & Begley would give us as much as Kirkby & Pearce. I don't think they would.

(This comes with a disclaimer that says I reckon there are about 4-5 lucky buggers who should be in the gun before Begley).

PrideOf said:
Sadly yes. You've got to look at the next 4-5 years minimum and ask if Stevo & Begley would give us as much as Kirkby & Pearce. I don't think they would.

(This comes with a disclaimer that says I reckon there are about 4-5 lucky buggers who should be in the gun before Begley).
Couldn't agree more, I'd still find a place for Begley over some of the others (and stevo for that matter), but in terms of what we can actually do it would be a good move I think.

PrideOf said:

IMO Begley is a keeper, I wouldnt delist him for any of these guys. He is still pretty young and a quality player.

Stevens however, I think his time may have come. The choice is Stevens for a year at less than full fitness or Kirkby/Grundy for 5-10 years. As much as I like and admire Stevens, times up IMO. Bring on Kirkby or Grundy.

Crowked said:
Stevens however, I think his time may have come. The choice is Stevens for a year at less than full fitness or Kirkby/Grundy for 5-10 years. As much as I like and admire Stevens, times up IMO. Bring on Kirkby or Grundy.

Agree.

With probably the first 'live' selection at the PSD it means IMO we MUST delist either Stevens or/and Begley. We cant miss this golden opportunity. Either that or let Ladhams go and pay him out his salary (assuming not a big component of performance based in his contract as this may be tricky).

I think we need at least one PSD pick and maybe two - that said we wont get the best 2 players in the PSD as other clubs will have selections after our initial one.

What a few days to be a Crows fan. Reading the various articles from the experts in the know in recent days I firmly believe we have been THE BEST PERFORMED club in trading this year based on the selections we had.

Crowked said:
IMO Begley is a keeper, I wouldnt delist him for any of these guys. He is still pretty young and a quality player.

Excellent comment in all respects.

There's still a ton of good footy in Begley IMO who is in our best 22.

Sadly the same can't be said for Stevo and his day has come IMO, thanks to those injuries.

Either Kirkby or Grundy would make me very happy.

macca23 said:
Excellent comment in all respects.

There's still a ton of good footy in Begley IMO who is in our best 22.

Sadly the same can't be said for Stevo and his day has come IMO, thanks to those injuries.

Either Kirkby or Grundy would make me very happy.

Yeah have to agree. Begley is definitely a keeper for me, because his best is very good and he brings leadership qualities to the squad that desperatley needs it. Stevo has been one of my favourite players, and i was all for giving him every chance to prove himself. Unfortunatley i think it has come to the stage that a Grundy on the list is much more beneficial than stevo for what would probably only be a year, and with his injuries problems i dont think its worth it now. Sorry stevo.

Crowked said:

Spot on mate. I can't see the point in keeping Stevo on for another year. Let's grab a promising young gun. While I agree there are at least 5 players who should be looked at before Begs, I don't think Begs is irreplaceable.

Time for Stevo to hang up the boots and take his place as one of the legends of our club.

im pretty sure these players can only be rookie drafted and not on to your actual list.
quite happy to be corrected if wrong. so is there a need to delist stevo. If we manage to rookie list one of the players could we get them onto the list if stevens is placed onthe long term injury list from the start of the season. if stevo is delisted arewe only open to uncontracted players who nominate for the psd ?

i say lets take Grundy as he is from Adelaide and take Pearce as well

mr snip said:
im pretty sure these players can only be rookie drafted and not on to your actual list.
quite happy to be corrected if wrong. so is there a need to delist stevo. If we manage to rookie list one of the players could we get them onto the list if stevens is placed onthe long term injury list from the start of the season. if stevo is delisted arewe only open to uncontracted players who nominate for the psd ?
We can pick them up on the senior list if they have been overlooked in the National Draft, assuming of course that we have a spot for him. Last year Port selected Surjan in the pre-season draft after he was overlooked in the National Draft.

Yeah, you can get gems in the pre-season draft for sure, Surjan being a prime example. Stewart worked wonders there, wonder what influence he will have on our (hopeful) pick in the pre-season draft....be nice to delist another player, who is the problem....I hope Stevo is ok but if he is not we must be tough and cut him....and pick up Grundy in replacement....but I really hope we can keep Stevo....Shirley is on thin ice...as is Ladhams.

John Hinge will be on the rookie list, he has been almost assured a spot, this comes from a reliable source.

As long as we don't recycle any AFL players. Wonder if people still think that McGough would be a good pick up if he was still available.

For my 2c worth, I reckon Grundy and Pearce would be good possibilities. What do people think of Elijah Ware from CDFC ?

Thunderstruck said:
Yeah, you can get gems in the pre-season draft for sure, Surjan being a prime example. Stewart worked wonders there, wonder what influence he will have on our (hopeful) pick in the pre-season draft....be nice to delist another player, who is the problem....I hope Stevo is ok but if he is not we must be tough and cut him....and pick up Grundy in replacement....but I really hope we can keep Stevo....Shirley is on thin ice...as is Ladhams.

I hear Surjans name getting mentioned quite alot.Too be honest, I can't see what all the fuss is about.

People are just using him as an example that you can pick up reasonable kids in the PSD that have been overlooked in the ND.

Fact, is there is still a heap of quality kids left over, you just have to sift through them all, and find out who you should use your last few picks on. I'd be rapt if they picked Grundy in the PSD (assuming Stevo doesn't come up) and then also snared Pearce on the rookie list. I'd like to see us pick up a midfielder aswell - possibly Batchelor.

If you listened to a lot of other posters, we should be looking at McGough if he was still available. What a joke.

The only guys i'd consider for PSD
Wilkes
Bain
Sharp
Grundy
Pearce
Kirkby
Fisher
Kirkby and Grundy were overlooked because they were'nt athletic enough. Sharp probably overlooked because he played in a pocket but he can play onballer and i think he is a steal
Pearce because of his size. His pace and skills evrything is really good except his physical side.Bain and wilkes i don't know why