mdc

Veteran 10k Posts
For those who play regularly...what's your shot like?

Just so we don't get a bunch of "I be Ray Allen" responses, how bout;

rough 3PT% in game? How many do you take? How many would you make /100 by yourself in a gym?

And what about from the FT line?

Mine would be:

3PT (around 30% in game on 2-3 attempts, around 55/100 by myself in a gym)

FT (roughly 75% in game, and usually around 85/100 by myself in a gym)

Basically just decent enough so that the defense doesn't leave me all alone behind the arc, but it needs a lot of work. What's yours like?

I was never really coached so my game is crazy unorthodox enough that I can get to the hole fairly well. Kinda like a drunk Manu with Desmond Mason's handle. :p
Anyway I've kinda neglected learning to shoot outside of a 10 foot floater or a baby hook. I guess I'd be a 9% 3 shooter on about 3 attempts per year. Probably in the 60% range on FT's mostly from a lack of practice.

Id say my 3 pointers ingame are about 30-40% and perhaps 40% in the gym.

My record for 3s in a game was 11, and Id still say I only shot around 40-50% that game coz every1 was passing me the ball from the outside wanting me to get more.

My FT's are pretty pathetic, Id say 60% at best in-game.

I can honestly be a bomber 1 night and just average the next, moments of brilliance I call it.

So overall id say, kinda.

No range whatsoever. Im only good under the basket.

So have never even attempted to jack up a 3 in a real game.

My FT% isnt flash either. Id say around 60%.

3 pointers average about 2-4 a game attempt 6-8 in a gym 45-100
FT probs 6-10 a game ( they hack me =[ ) in a gym 65-100

I used to be a better FT shooter dono what happened =[

usually when i go to gym with a mate or two i take 10 shots from 3, basically what I do is go from left basline, left 45, middle, right 45, right baseline, right baseline again, right 45, middle, left 45 and then left baseline. if you get what im saying you go around the arc and end up where you started.

anyway the other day i got 6 out of 10 which I thought was pretty good for what im used to.

3PT: (gym) 35-40%
FT: (gym) 40-45% at best :o
most 3s in a row: 5

im a guard btw and in games i kinda avoid shooting, i just really am shit when it comes to game.

Havn't played alot since u/18's, played vic country all through juniors with pendlebury and the brown twins (play afl for those unaware).

3PT usually shot 3 of probs 7 in game average, training in sets of 25 (12-17)

FT in game situation 75-80% and in sets of 100 at practice (85-90)

Sounds like a few of you guys are handy basketballers, well can shoot anyway!

If any of you are seriously good, the Minnesota TImberwolves could use a PG.

I'm not kidding.

If any of you are seriously good, the Minnesota TImberwolves could use a PG.

I'm not kidding.
Offer me a $20m/4year deal and I'm in.

Streaky as all hell these days. Used to play a bit and be a decent shot, but just play in a social comp now and never have the time to practice. Still make nearly all my FT's though. I honestly think it depends on the ball in game. You know how sometimes you get one and you just know you'll shoot well with it?

3PT: (game) 30%
3PT: (gym) 50%
FT: (game and in gym - no difference) 85%

Before I stopped with all the training and playing at the end of year 12 . . . .

30-40% 3FG in game, 40% training. Used to depend how I much I'd shoot in a game by my first few shots, I'd then know what night I was most like in for and I'd take my shots much closer to the paint if I was off. Very much a streak shooter. Could go 5-6 one game and be 0-7 the next.

50-60% free throws. Very ordinary.

I would say I was streaky because I was never coached, so when I do hit a couple subconciously I'd know what I have to do and I continue with the same action.

Haven't stepped on a court since last summer, went down there tonight for some practice and everything is rusty. With exams nearly over its going to be a busy few weeks for me trying to get some game back.

I usually hit 1-2 3's a game from around 4-5 attempts. It'd probably be about the same shooting by myself.

I've started shooting free throws with almost with two hands, looks very ugly but would have been going about 75% this season.

I don't have a consistent action and am pretty streaky. If I miss my first couple of 3's I usually become a bit hesitant and only take them if I'm wide open. Midrange shot isn't thje best though. Again very streaky.
Wonder if I play against any of you guys.
Men's domestic/social league at Bulleen Monday/Tuesday nights.

It's funny how much I used to play on confidence. Back when I played a lot, in my rep team I probally shot like 20-30% from beyond the arc, since I played with some quality players, state rep's n that, so my confidence was low. Then I would play for my domestic team on a different day, and I would basically be the go to guy, and I reckon I used to shoot 60-70%.

I was never a great shooter, only started playing at 20 and then only social bball with zero practice. I could get on a roll now and then, I'd guess around 20% from 3 land and 60% from the line. Seemed to always miss the first and hit the second and I started in the days of one and one.

My memory now has completely forgotten the 0/7 nights and lingers on the good, the 5/6 from beyond the arc in one game. In another i hit 4 in the last 3 minutes to almost pinch the game. Playing the top team and hitting 17 points in the first half to lead 34-15 or something.

Mucking around I could do anything, once hit 15 3's in a row going around the top of the arc, accuracy was always pretty good, length could be dodgy so always better from the top, my free throws always went right for some reason.

Main claim to fame is i hit 3 in a row from half court after a game-mucking around, did it in a game once from beyond half court after I'd been fouled on the steal/dribble, didn't count though.

too old, too fat, too slow, too short too injury prone these days, did think about hitting the over 35's but anyone still playing is too serious/good for my current skill set even if I am a "young buck". With knee and back I'm currently struggling around the golf course (shot +100 off 12 in 2 of my last 3 rounds) so Lwan Bowls looks the goods now.

If anyone wants to know what's wrong with Greg Oden I was the same when i hit 30 as well, never had an injury bar the odd sprained ankle or 12 and a footy type knee on knee that did the posterior cruciate, but once I hit about 32 I was popping muscles here there and everywhere.

I'm tipping Oden's about 32.

From the 3 line bout 60-70% (was always free though). 30% Free throw and FG though. We had a MASSIVE team with 2 beasts so I just sat on the 3 line and defended. Hit the 3s when i was given a shot. Its all I practised in training. Team broke up this year :(