• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

Swans to honour club greats

Sydney's ex-skipper Paul Kelly mightn't share current captain Brett Kirk's love of meditation, but their approaches to playing AFL are the same.
Give it everything you've got.

It says so on a plaque on the change-room wall at the SCG, where Kelly describes himself as "a bloke that had a go".

"I'm glad I'm not playing now," Kelly laughed on Tuesday as he launched the club's inaugural Hall of Fame dinner to be held at Melbourne's Crown Casino on July 18.

"It (yoga) was half in when I was here (1990-2002). There's still debate whether it's good or bad.

"It's individuals isn't it? I like the ice baths.

"You might leave me out of the yoga."

Kelly, a plumber and father of five from Wagga, came to Sydney with little idea about the club's history and no concept of the potential burden of taking on the No.14 jersey, previously worn by triple Brownlow Medallist Bob Skilton.

Kelly went on to win his own Brownlow in 1995, despite coming from a rugby league background.

"When I came to the Swans they hadn't been here that long and we were sort of all over the shop a little bit anyway," Kelly recalled.

"With Roosy (coach Paul Roos), the culture and the history is jammed into the kids as soon as they get drafted.

"They are sat down and shown videos and 'this is who we are, this is who went before us and make sure you know it'."

Four-time club champion Kelly's name is prominent in this induction and the 39-year-old is clearly chuffed.

"It's great. I didn't appreciate it really until the last couple of years when you are looking from the outside and you sort of realise what you did and who you were and that sort of stuff," he said.

"When you are doing it, you are just doing it mate. You are trying to be as good as you can be that week."

Kelly said the club's 2007 dinner to celebrate 25 years in Sydney was "the best footy function I've been to". He said next month's event will be another landmark occasion for the Swans.

From a list of about 1500 players who have played for the club since 1874, selectors have trimmed their squad to 90.

The number of inaugural inductees hasn't been announced but Kelly is keen to see the AFL's all-time leading goalkicker Tony Lockett honoured.

"I often get asked who was the best player I played with. Tony Lockett would be my pick," Kelly said.

"People were coming to watch Plugger. He was dragging them in.

"I don't think we've had that since then."

Skilton says he's thrilled at the way the football world now regards the Swans, who are 10th on the ladder and shooting for a seventh successive finals campaign.

"The thing that I'm proudest of our club now is for the first time, as far as I'm concerned in my lifetime, we are now respected as a football club," Skilton said on Tuesday.

"Other clubs have chosen to copy the way we've gone about it. Our cultures and whatever else."

Skilton said he loves watching gritty midfielder Kirk, describing him as the game's best on-field leader.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfnews/swans-to-honour-club-greats/2009/06/16/1244918030437.html

---------------------------------------------------

I love Paul Kelly and really miss seeing him play. The man was everything the Swans want to stand for and is a big reason why the Swans have such a great culture even to this day.

Think i almost shed a tear when Kelly retired. :o He was such an inspiration and very courageous too. Unfortunately the latter part of his career was hampered with a few injuries, IIRC it was after he did his knee against Port.

I always have these small bits of play stuck in my head when remembering Kelly, like the tackle he laid on Joel Smith against Hawthorn at the MCG early this century when he roared from nowhere to win a free kick (holding the ball) and finish it with a goal.

Never got to see Kelly play personally, but I suspect it'll be much the same when Kirk's gone. I just hope that once again we have someone to stand up and fill that spot in the team, because God knows we need someone like that to lead us. :thumbsu:

Someone will. We said exactly the same thing when Kelly retired, but Kirk replaced him. Don't know who?

Gotta love Kell.

I feel so privileged to have seen him play.

Can still remember his last game at Telstra Stadium against Richmond in 02. A really great win and a great way to send Kells and Dunks out.

Was really fighting back the tears when they did their lap of honour. IIRC they played some pretty emotional music to go with the lap.

Gotta love Kell.

I feel so privileged to have seen him play.

Can still remember his last game at Telstra Stadium against Richmond in 02. A really great win and a great way to send Kells and Dunks out.

Was really fighting back the tears when they did their lap of honour. IIRC they played some pretty emotional music to go with the lap.

Yeah i was there too.

And credit to the Tiger players as well actually. They stayed out on the ground the entire time Kelly and Dunkley did their lap of honour then formed a line either side of the gates clapping them off. Was a great gesture that.

Another Kelly moment i remember, (sorry about this :p) Ironically against Richmond as well, it was at the SCG on a Friday night (we won by 60 points i think), but Kelly was out on the lead around 55-60m out and he sort of knw the ball was going over his head and turned and ran, but the Richmond player was sucked into the ball. It went over his head too, but Kelly had turned and ran back to where the ball was going, swooped on it, and drilled it from 45m out on the boundry. I got a good look at it too i was sitting front row on the boundry and it was a beauty.

Kirky you f**king champ!

Signing_-_Front_of_Jumper.jpg

Kelly you f**king legend!

SYDNEY.JPG

It's time for young bloods to be given chance to show their worth: Kelly

FORMER Swans captain Paul Kelly says the time is rapidly approaching to inject youngsters into the senior team and "see how they are going to go".

Kelly - now a plumber in Wagga Wagga but also a member of the AFL's Hall of Fame and vice-captain of the Swans' team of the century - was speaking yesterday at the launch of the club's Hall of Fame, of which he is certain to be inducted when the inaugural intake is announced on July 18.

"I think they are obviously getting towards the end of another era," Kelly said. "When I went through mine [his era] there was a number of players who left in a short period of two or three years and they are getting to that again, and there's going to be another four or five, six or seven, blokes [who will soon leave].

"They got over the last one, I don't know whether they are going to fare as well this time around. I think they really need to get some younger blokes in there and give them some games and see how they are going to go, especially with the draft … it's the last [uncompromised] draft.

"If you don't get too many young kids out of this one, you're not going to get any out of the next two [as the Gold Coast and west Sydney join the competition], so it's a pretty crucial time at the end of this year, I reckon.

"They [Swans] have been up and down, we've shown some good and bad, some good halves, good games, good quarters, we just haven't been able to get the group as a group to play consistent footy.

"A few blokes are good this game and that game, then a bit up and down. It's probably a sign of the times, the older blokes perhaps are just off where they were last year and the year before and we need a few of the younger fellows to show us what they have got."

When Kelly arrived at the Swans in 1990 they were heading to the bottom after some glory years. They bottomed out in 1993 and 1994, before rebounding with good recruitment to make the 1996 grand final, and since then have only missed the finals twice, the last time in 2002, Kelly's final season.

He says that even if the Swans did miss out this season as they tried to rebuild, the support for the team is much stronger now and the repercussions from the Sydney public of missing the finals would not be dire.

Selectors have delved through the list of about 1500 players who have turned out for the club since 1874, and produced a list of 90 Hall of Fame candidates, including many legends of the game, such as Roy Cazaly, Ron Clegg, Fred Goldsmith, Bob Skilton and Tony Lockett.

"I think the team of the century was fantastic and then we had our 25-years-in-Sydney dinner, and the Hall of Fame is going to be up there with those two," Kelly said. "I think there are lot of blokes that have done lots to a footy club that perhaps weren't in the team of the century and didn't win best and fairests or Brownlows or those individual awards, but perhaps been great club people."

Meanwhile, coach Paul Roos said defender Craig Bolton, who injured his knee in Sydney's match against Hawthorn, would be given until the last minute to prove his fitness for the clash with Collingwood at ANZ Stadium on Saturday. "He'd be 50-50, but we'll name him and see how he trains … " Roos said.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rf...heir-worthkelly/2009/06/16/1244918036851.html

Also i read

Kelly, a plumber and father of five from Wagga, came to Sydney with little idea about the club's history and no concept of the potential burden of taking on the No.14 jersey, previously worn by triple Brownlow Medallist Bob Skilton.

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=826254

Good work Paul. I know he has at least 2 sons so hopefully the other 3 are boys as well. In my fantasy reality in a few years time the Swans will have 2 or 3 Kelly's in the team :D

Of course tht also depends on what his wife is like. If she is completely untalented and unathletic it could pose a problem :p

have you seen Buddy Franklin's dad? haha if you see him you'd never think he could produce an absolute athletic freak.

Yeah but his mother was a sports person (And so is sister (Plays netball I believe))

I wouldn't mind a couple of Kellys running around (Hopefully they get their fathers toughness)