Sacramento Kings
Media is a funny thing. A month ago they were saying he will retire before the end of the year and shouldn't have played on at the end of last year. A month later and very good showing in 3 of the last 4 games and they want him to play on. Which bring the question whether he should hang up the boots at the end of the year or play on and help develop the likes of Watts and Krueger into key forward that we need then to be.

Personally, I think his form this year has been good. He has been asked to play a number of different roles. He started the year off as a key target where we went to him 75% of the time. Although, he didn't take a lot of marks or kicked a lot of goals, he brought the ball to ground even tho the delivery to him as been ordinary to say the least.

Once he has been given a bit more freedom with a role he was originally brough over for, he has been fantastic. As a 3rd forward he cover a lot of ground, creates a lot of space, sets up a few goals and kicks his share of sauasage rolls.

If Stevo's knee continues to hold up and Carey decides to play on next year it would be of great benefot for someone like Jericho, Watts and Krueger to play alongside those blokes and learn from them.

Question is should Carey play on next year?

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Question is should Carey play on next year?

Assuming he can get through another preseason and provide us with 15-22 games playing as the second or third tall option at contests or out of the square like Lynchy, then I'd say a big 'yes'.

But if Stevo goes down again and Carey's forced to be the focal point then I'd give a big 'no'. Even when he has played good games - such as Essendon - we've concentrated on him and relied on him far too much and as a result we've lacked other real goalkicking options. Basically, it's Carey or Bust - and in that situation, as proven in that Essendon game, it doesn't matter how many the King kicks it still won't be enough.

I'll say yes, because Bock and Watts are still very very raw, Stevo is injury-prone and Perrie is in limbo.

Re: Re: Carey

Originally posted by dyertribe
Assuming he can get through another preseason and provide us with 15-22 games playing as the second or third tall option at contests or out of the square like Lynchy, then I'd say a big 'yes'.

But if Stevo goes down again and Carey's forced to be the focal point then I'd give a big 'no'. Even when he has played good games - such as Essendon - we've concentrated on him and relied on him far too much and as a result we've lacked other real goalkicking options. Basically, it's Carey or Bust - and in that situation, as proven in that Essendon game, it doesn't matter how many the King kicks it still won't be enough.
Thats pretty much how I see it. If Stevo can play on and play his 20-22 games a year then I would be happy for Carey to play on provided he can get through another pre-season and play his 15-20 games. When we make him our primary target,the side and Carey himself struggle. If we play him as a roaming 3rd tall he provides a lot of value to us because not only will he kick his couple of goals, he will also bring others into play and set up a couple of goals.

I've been advocating that he should play until he is 40, and i'm serious!
IMO 5 minutes of Carey game time = 20 minutes for 80% of the players in the league!
even his shockers are productive in some way, and he always puts the team first (a great lesson for all).
If he had stayed at North (assume the stevens thing never happened) Then I very much doubt that any body would be expecting him to retire.
However if a miricle happens this year he will proberbly choose to go out on top, but I just cant see him retiring from a bottom 4 team.
Of course a lot of what happens next year depends on Sally and her career, From what I understand she loves Adelaide and is doing well.

I really believe he can play on and still be a worthwhile contributor. I love him. I think he is a legend - no hang on - he is THE KING!

k
xx

No.

As much as i admire the man this year should be his last, he struggles to get his arms above his head & can be knocked of balance by an opponent fairly easy.

plus i believe he would hold back the development of our future kp young guns by commanding the ball too much.

I'm in two minds on this - the heart says play on, the mind says go out on top.
As was said at the start of the thread, its a fine line between everyone looking for blood, and putting you on a pedestal.

He wants to go out on top, what better way to go out than with everyone saying he should play on :)

There isn't many players in the AFL that can change the sway of the game and you have 3 of them, Carey, Ricciuto and McLeod.

Carey at his age can still do it, don't you worry about that.

The club mightn't get a choice on this one, unless Carey has a change of heart.

His current plans are to stay in Adelaide for at least the next two years, and he is currently looking to buy a hotel in partnership with some of the other Crow players with whom he has developed a close friendship.

Fox Footy have offered him a very lucrative contract for next year, and at this stage that is his likely option, although not yet set in stone.

Roo and the boys would like him to play on next year and are working hard on him to try and get him to change his mind.

Time will tell.

what I think is curious is that it all depends on the people around him. We all agree, I think, that he still has a lot to offer as a 3rd tall. Let's face it he is an overmatch for any teams 3rd defender.

Ok, no worries. If we are forced to play him as our no.1 tall, I think we are agreed that is beyond him. fine.

butif we think about what this means. If we have no one better than him, we will play him as the no.1 focal point and he's not really up to that. Let's go back to the part where we have NO ONE better.

If we get to the point where he's again our no.1 forward that means we are better off with him, surely? developing players is one thing, leading lambs to the slaughter is another.

Next year, if he as help, he will provide obvious tangible contributions, if he does not have help, it might be more subtle but that doesn't mean it's not there.

if he feels fit, and wants to, I think he should play on.

Originally posted by macca23
The club mightn't get a choice on this one, unless Carey has a change of heart.

His current plans are to stay in Adelaide for at least the next two years, and he is currently looking to buy a hotel in partnership with some of the other Crow players with whom he has developed a close friendship.

Fox Footy have offered him a very lucrative contract for next year, and at this stage that is his likely option, although not yet set in stone.

Roo and the boys would like him to play on next year and are working hard on him to try and get him to change his mind.

Time will tell.
He did say at the beginning of the year that this would be his final season but has been having second thoughts throughout the year.

If he does retire we will be struggling to have consistent key forwards. What would happen is that Stevo will again become #1 target and carry the workload that I think he is not capable of carrying alone anymore. McGregor is far too inconsistent and the likes of Watts, Bock, Hentschel and Krueger are to raw to hold the KP for the entire year.

Carey has kicked 24 goals in 10 games so far this year. He hasn't missed a match throughout the year except the showdown at kadina. If he continues at this rate he is on target to kick 50 + goals for the year. That is a bloody good return for someone thats is supposedly finished.

I reckon if he can continue on with his form, he might play on for another year to assist with the development of the likes of Watts and Krueger who we have to fast track.

I wonder if we get Ottens whether or not that will change clubs thinking with Carey as Ottens could also be the option as a key forward.

Interesting times ahead.

At this stage yes he should go around again he is in great form his knee isnt troubling him and he is a leader and an inspiration to the younger brigade............Wayne Carey PLAY ON:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

If he continues at this rate he is on target to kick 50 + goals for the year. That is a bloody good return for someone thats is supposedly finished.

lol, very true.

can we have some more players that bad?

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
lol, very true.

can we have some more players that bad?
I'd like a team full of them :p

But seriously, a month ago he was copping it left right and centre. Everyone said he will quit within a month, he is finished, the king is dead, dead man walking etc. Now he is the king of old again.

I remember seeing Wayne kill us time after time in games. I just watched in awe at his feats. i still do today when he is on fire. That goal in the third quarter was just brilliant.

To have Macca and Wayne in the same side and playing aswell as they did on Saturday is just a sheer joy to watch, just as it was to see Jars show his magic for North, Hawthorn and in particular Adelaide.

The decision will wrest with him, but I am glad we have been given the opportunity to witness one of the best players to ever grace the game, play for our side.

Lets hope we have another McLeod, Jarman or Carey waiting in the wings, because even if you lose it makes going to the football worthwhile.

Even when he packs football in i would like to see him at the club. With him and Jars's forward knowledge, you can teach our young forwards alot about footy

I'd like to see him play on if his body continues to hold up this year. There are so many things that he does that generate no stats for himself but definitely create options for the team.