Sep 18, 2007
Western Australia
FORM
Dees: 0-4- L4 Ladder position 16th

Blues: 1-3-W1 Ladder position- 12th

Last week:
The Demons sunk to a 4th consecutive loss, beaten by the Brent Harvey led Kangaroos. 48 points was the final margin but it could have been worse for the Demons if the Roo's had kicked straight. Dean Bailey said the club went backwards from last weeks competetive effort against the Cats. Some positives for the Dee's were the form of livewire Aaron Davey and 2 goals from Austin Woaneamirri. Russell Robertson finished with 3 goals although all of them came in the last qaurter when the game was in junk time. The general concensis among the media is that Dean Bailey's game plan is not working as the the Melbourne FC simply dont have the skill to excecute it.

The Blues had a surprise win against top for contenders Collingwood at the 'G'. The Blues ferocious tackling and classy midfield outplayed the Pies for most of the match although never put the Pies away. For the first time since RD 1 in 2007 the Blues conceded less than 100 points and broke a 14 match losing streak. The Blues blew off a last quarter challenge from the pies responding with 3 quick goals after Collingwood kicked 2 in a minute. Brendan Fevola was the stand out with 7 goals in a dominant performance. Jarrod Waite was as good if not better than Fevola down the other end keeping Rocca to 6 possesions and 1 goal in the final term whilst gathering 25+ possesions of his own including 10+ marks. Other noteable performances were from Marc Muprhy, Michael Jamison who beat Paul Medhurst easily, Bower who outplayed Trav Cloke, Richard Hadley and Chris Judd. The Blues didnt have a bad player on the ground but O'hailpin could have beena bit better. Coach Brett Ratten described getting his first win as coach as getting an 80kg monkey off his back.

Possible Changes:
Melb:
Brad Miller faces a 1 week ban. David Neitz may be omitted after a string on low performances. Dean Bailey may make a statement and make numerous changes.
Carl: No injury concerns but Ryan Houlihan may get a recal after a hip injury forced him out of the Rd 4 clash. Ohailpin looking shaky. May keep unchanged lineup after win. Hartlett and Edward kicked 4 each in the reserves.

Key Matchups:

Russell Robertson vs Michael Jamison

Russell kicked 6 last time these two teams met in a lackluster clash. If the Demons are any chance of winning the Demons may require a similar type of performance from their high flying forward. If Jamison can keep 'Robbo' quiet it is hard to see were the Demons can kick 15- 20 goals from.

Brendan Fevola vs Nathan Carroll
Nathan Carroll has had trouble containing the enigmatic forward and he faces a huge task this week. Fevola has kicked 15 goals in his last 2 games and is in red-hot form. Carroll will need help from his midfielders and fellow backman if he is goign to contain the Blues sperahead.
Nathan Jones vs Richard Hadley
The key to either teams midfield is the engine room and these 2 players look like the 2 'hard nuts' for their respective teams. Hadley gathered 18 disposals last week and had a 100% efficiency whilst Jones was beaten by Brent Harvey. Jones is noted as a hard nut who can finish around goals whilst Hadley gets down and dirty and his main focus has been getting the ball out to the Blues runners. Jones can do a great job at thsi but his form has not shown the player he is. Hadley has kicked 2 goals in the lst 2 weeks and layed 14 tackles in the same time.

Key Points:
Brendan Fevola was absent in both matches against Melbourne in 07 and the Blues missed him dearly, losing both matches.

Russell Robertson has performed well in the last few performances against the Blues kicking 6 last time they met and a bag earlier in the year.

Summary:
It will be expected that Melbourne will come out firing if as expected they cop it from the media. If the Demons can get a good start they are a big show to get their first win of the match but on the other hand if the Blues dont get to cocky and start well it could get ugly for the demons with the Blues on a high. The Blues midfield is starting to look really good with Nick Stevens and Chris Judd almost back to full fitness. The 'Dee's' have some midfield talent on paper but they have not shown their worth in the opening rounds. The ruck battle will be intriging with the 2 work-horses in Jeff White and Cameron Cloke with support of Jamar and Kruezer respectively. Both backlines struggle under pressure so the key will be which midfield can get the ball down quicker and better to their key men up forward.

Tip:
The Blues look to have too much midfield class with names like Judd, Stevens, Hadley, Murphy and Simpson running around and with Fevola on fire the Blues could be hard to stop if they get on top early. If the Dee's can get some pints on the bard early it could be a close contest
TIP: Blues by 36 points

Nice review.

I think this is a game where Carlton can inflict some pain on the opposition for once. I would hope we go in unchanged, for the first time in 2008 we were hard, determined and fought to the death, keep those who were apart of that together and make the others actually fight for their spot, including Houlihan, Hartlett & Hampson.

My only concern is that out of the past 10 encounter Melbourne have the wood with 7 wins and Carlton 3, our three wins came from the two games in 2006 and one game in 2004...Melbourne have been a bit of a boggy team for us.

But i say, hit them while they are down, pay back for stealing our last game at Princes Park!!

Great review, I'm really looking forward to the game, and will be attending. (A 1:10 game in Melbourne is rare?)

If we play as we did yesterday, Fevola on fire, Backline to hold up and Midfield to run riot, then i can't see Melbourne getting within 40 points of us. For the first time in a while, i can see us putting a side away - providing we go into this game with the same mentality as we did yesterday.

My tip, Carlton by 56 :thumbsu:

Great summary mate,

fwiw I think Houlihan will be brought back into the side, probably at the expense of Grigg.

Interesting on Setanta, this could be a perfect game for either CHF (Setanta or Hartlett) to stamp their spot in the side. My opinion I would stay with Setanta, he has been pushed all over the ground in recent time and is only just beginning to be rested there, he bleeds for the club and can only improve on last weeks effort.

He probably needs more coaching at playing CHF, Setanta could be a real physical forward something we severely lack, though from watching him on the weekend cannot seem to muscle out his opponent lets hope it was just a bad week.

Hartlett will be given more opportunities in the future if he can string a few more good games together and Setanta does not improve then his call up will come.

I think Grigg did enough to earn a spot this week. I hope setant plays forward this week because if you can remember he took like 10 marks last year agasint dees playing CHF and kicked 2 goals and almost dominated

Assuming Houlihan is brought back in, who is dropped?

The only options are Grigg, Pfeiffer and Russell. Seeing as though Russell wasn't dropped last week I cannot see him getting dropped after his first 1/2 decent game. If Grigg or Pfeiffer get dropped it's pretty tough but I guess someone will have to go.

Assuming Houlihan is brought back in, who is dropped?

The only options are Grigg, Pfeiffer and Russell. Seeing as though Russell wasn't dropped last week I cannot see him getting dropped after his first 1/2 decent game. If Grigg or Pfeiffer get dropped it's pretty tough but I guess someone will have to go.

y bring in houlihan?

No changes for me.
Nice review by the way, we'll pump them no worries
Its great that Miller is out his a decent player imo,

dees look to be struggling up forward,
Neita looks lost, think jammo can hold robbo, who would you put on davey? Maybe carrazzo? and we should be able to hold the rest of their forwards...

Dees defense looks pretty average as well,
fev should skin carol on the lead with his pace, sentanta to continue up forward with his desperation and willingness to chase a bonus to the team, eddie looks sharp as well:thumbsu:
Fisher presenting was fantastic as well, our forward line will be too good for them imo

Dees midfield is decent
Wouldn't underestimate their midfield.
They can win the footy just their skills are lacking from time to time.
Jones is a little warrior, Mcdonald is servicable, bartram is a good young kid, through in green, davey and mclean we'll definately need to be on our game.

They have good ruck stocks in White (still a top ruckman), Johnson and Jamar as good support.

Overall im confident, but we'll need to match their endevour, they'll be desperate for their best chance of a win this year.
Might need sticks to give another rev up before the match.

Definately need to get them back for their win at princess park...broke my heart that day!

Carlton Vs Melbourne preview