celtic_pride

Veteran 10k Posts
B.Celtics, FC Barcelona, Leeds Utd
Today was the best game Carrots has played for a long time for the club, certainly all year ...

Kicked those two beautiful goals to help us get the lead and build momentum in the final quarter, and just generally played a solid game throughout ...

He is often maligned by supporters, but today showed just how pivotal and important Carrots is to our side and structure, esp when he was on song.

I am sure he was one of those players Ratten impored to lift and improve his work rate after last week's fiasco, and it certainly showed today with 33possies and those crucial goals.

I would like to point out 79 percent effiency is an excellent ratio for someone who gets more then 30 possies (better ratio then Judd in fact)

Today was the best game Carrots has played for a long time for the club, certainly all year ...

Kicked those two beautiful goals to help us get the lead and build momentum in the final quarter, and just generally played a solid game throughout ...

He is often maligned by supporters, but today showed just how pivotal and important Carrots is to our side and structure, esp when he was on song.

I am sure he was one of those players Ratten impored to lift and improve his work rate after last week's fiasco, and it certainly showed today with 33possies and those crucial goals.

I would like to point out 79 percent effiency is an excellent ratio for someone who gets more then 30 possies (better ratio then Judd in fact)
Impressed with what the commentators have said about his game. Loved him from the very start. He always tries 100% and is a very important part of our 22.

Impressed with what the commentators have said about his game. Loved him from the very start. He always tries 100% and is a very important part of our 22. GO Carrots :thumbsu:

It was the only game all year he has been allowed off the leash a little bit. Won a B&F because he is a midfield ball magnet, just had deficiencies in his disposal, that's all, and he is obviously working on that.

err? Are you serious... :o

Best option would be preferred.

He'd snagged two rippers, he was entitled to go for it.

A lot of fans don't, he is a crucial part of our team. He never gets beaten when playing lock down, and plays his offensive roles well. Also, he directs players out on the ground and does a lot of talking in the huddle at the breaks/before the game.

IMO was the major rerason for the fightback, ie. Ratts throwing him in the centre. With Judd and Gibbs brilliant also.

Great to see him doing what he does best, ie. extracting and running with the pill. Was wrapped for the boy...

Setanta is the kind of player we need...someone that isn't scared to go for the ball, and someone that isn't scared to back themselves kicking for goal!!!

The WABlues Love Setanta...he helped us over the line today!!!!

I agree with that on Carrots as well as your mate Ohailipin playing a great game.Carrots is like Houilhan both are good players really when they put it together.I know both players do give supporters a headache at times but both are still better then any of the fringe type players that come in and out of the side and most of the kids at the moment with their skills or how to find the ball.

I've said it for a while, i think Carrazzo could be our very own Kane Cornes. Holt one of the best midfielders from the other team while getting his 20+ touches a game. He has the engine, just has this knack of finding the footy and is committed to the job at hand. He showed today he can be somewhat damaging with his feet, still not a world beater but definitely better than many outsiders suggest.

Today he was let free somewhat, started on Hasleby early but didn't really pay much attention to him for most of the game (not that Hasleby needs much attention). Still think he is best suited to a midfield run-with role but the license to run forward when he wants.

Well done Carrots today, lets hope you continue the good form. Maybe Ratts needs to find the right match-up for him through the middle each week, ie) someone his own speed or in Hasleby's case someone slower so he can run off and get forward of the ball more often like yesterday.

There you go "Fiveo" contribution completed.:cool:

his goals were fantastic but i'm still concerned about his disposal. too often his hand passes are only in the vicinity of teammates rather than to advantage

Spot on. Which footy clinic started the "handpass to the bootlaces" trend, ffs?

Regardless of his disposal, he was instrumental in the last qtr.
11 disposals and 2 goals at a time like that is nothing to sneeze at.
He does seem decent at finding the big sticks actually, one of the reasons I like the idea of him being there as either a defensive forward-mid or to get let off the leash like he was yesterday.

With all our mids firing like they did in that final qtr, it's no wonder we won.
If only they had done so from the start...

his goals were fantastic but i'm still concerned about his disposal. too often his hand passes are only in the vicinity of teammates rather than to advantage

I hear ya, but i reckon it has a lot to do with the situations he finds himself in when he has the ball.

A lot of the time Carrots gets the pill when we're under pressure and the oppo's doing everything they can to force a turn-over. IMO, Carrots is one of the better players in our team at going a little bit this way, going a little bit that way, buying a second or two and getting it to a teammate who has a little bit of time/space and ensuring we retain possession. This is his definite strength, as opposed to him being involved as a linkman in offensive, forward movements.

Hang on, I've just pretty much agreed with you.