The Uncle

I think the MFC made its future plans very clear last night by electing to draft 4 midfielders with their first 4 draft picks. Instead of perhaps drafting for needs and getting a KPF at 11 or 18 we took the best available players in our minds. Personally I am a massive fan of this idea, It appears we are looking to play a high rotation running game, we have drafted not only athletic players but also skillful players. Hopefully this year we finally get a chance to see the run and carry work of Blease off the half back line, not to mention the pin point passing of Strauss and now add to that not only Scully and Trengove but a big inside mid Gysberts and Tapscott who excites me the most. Although it will take a number of years to develop all these players, once we do we will have quality, versatile midfielders running from half back and half forward, on both wings and in the center making it almost impossible to match up and run with us.

Not to mention I couldn't be happier with our next 2 picks, looks like we drafted a genuine tap ruck man in Gawn who is a man mountain and Fitzpatrick will be a perfect back up ruckman/3rd tall down forward.

So are you as happy as me? And who do we rookie list?

Yeah, initially I was a little worried by the lack of a KPF, but the more I think about it, I can see the vision for the future, and that obviously entails the creation of quick ball movement through plenty of run and rotation through the midfield.

Further, the forward line could well end up being very dynamic as well, so we may only really need Watts down there to provide the focal point, Aussie to sit at his feet and then guys such as Jurrah having a fair bit of creative freedom to provide other avenues to goal. Fitzpatrick and Gawn, assuming they develop, will also be able to play well up forward too, and the former may even find himself playing as a KPF more often than he finds himself in the ruck.

I'm very excited.

As for the rookie list, I think we have to select Meesen and Newton under the new rules, given the fact that they still have a year to run on their contracts.

I think the MFC made its future plans very clear last night by electing to draft 4 midfielders with their first 4 draft picks. Instead of perhaps drafting for needs and getting a KPF at 11 or 18 we took the best available players in our minds. Personally I am a massive fan of this idea, It appears we are looking to play a high rotation running game, we have drafted not only athletic players but also skillful players. Hopefully this year we finally get a chance to see the run and carry work of Blease off the half back line, not to mention the pin point passing of Strauss and now add to that not only Scully and Trengove but a big inside mid Gysberts and Tapscott who excites me the most. Although it will take a number of years to develop all these players, once we do we will have quality, versatile midfielders running from half back and half forward, on both wings and in the center making it almost impossible to match up and run with us.

Not to mention I couldn't be happier with our next 2 picks, looks like we drafted a genuine tap ruck man in Gawn who is a man mountain and Fitzpatrick will be a perfect back up ruckman/3rd tall down forward.

So are you as happy as me? And who do we rookie list?
very happy uncle with EVERY pick. wasnt that keen on lucas, gysberts or talia who cares. besides we had half an hour to think about pick 11 so i believe we got it perfect. specially fitzpatrick at 50.
for some reason strauss and tapscott are my 2 fav players and havn't even played. weird

Strauss is certainly an exciting prospect, I've heard the kid could hit a fly on the lead from 50m. A friend of mine who played Oakleigh with him saw him the other day and apparently his body is finally right and is looking forward to a big pre-season, Roll on round 1

He has broken his hand and can't touch a footy for 6 weeks, but besides that you're right.

Strauss is certainly an exciting prospect, I've heard the kid could hit a fly on the lead from 50m.

The kid is a surgeon by foot. Need him to get more involved and get more touches but if he develops and learns to be a 20+ possesion player, he will be devastating.

He has broken his hand and can't touch a footy for 6 weeks, but besides that you're right.

Bugger... :(

Guess he won't have quite so much of a pre-season then.

Whilst not ideal it is only november. He will be able to do all of the base building running work, and will have a slightly modified weights program. Once the new year rolls around he should be back fit as a fiddle.

Hope so mate... we'd definitely want him to be getting some games under his belt next year I'd reckon...

Yeh Ive only seen it posted on BF but havnt heard about the injury anywhere else.

And on the OP - I think it was more of a best player available drafting strategy than deliberately taking midfielders. Better to be overloaded with runners than talls if you had to choose I suppose.

Yeh Ive only seen it posted on BF but havnt heard about the injury anywhere else.

Since I've not seen any article about it anywhere, it seems like perhaps this was just a rumour - hope so anyway.

Could that be just a teensy bit of sarcasm seeping into your posting there mate? Surely not... :p