TDot, LFC
In today's Age:

Cats set to hijack Roo-bound Harvey
By Jake Niall
December 10, 2003

Shane Harvey may end up at Geelong instead of Arden Street.

As with Jade Rawlings, Shane Harvey might be foiled in his ambition of joining his brother at Arden Street, with Geelong considering grabbing the younger Harvey with an early pick in the pre-season draft.

The Cats, who have a pick before the Kangaroos in the draft, are giving strong consideration to drafting Harvey, who walked out on Essendon after two seasons with the intention of joining his illustrious brother Brent at Arden Street.

With the Bulldogs and Carlton having committed to Jade Rawlings and Nick Stevens with picks one and two, respectively, only Melbourne and Richmond have choices before Geelong and neither is believed to be interested in Harvey. St Kilda, which would have the next pick (before the Roos), will not participate in the pre-season draft.

The Cats understand that Harvey is keen to play with his brother, but will not be dissuaded from selecting him because of his desire to become a Kangaroo. Harvey has suggested to other clubs - not the Kangaroos - that he would sign only a one-year contract.

While Harvey is the frontrunner to be chosen by Geelong, the Cats are also considering two other options - West Australian Paul Duffield, who plays under 18s for South Fremantle and was surprisingly overlooked in the national draft, and ex-Kangaroo Shannon Motlop. Duffield, the more likely choice should the Cats pass on Harvey, is certain to be drafted as a rookie otherwise.

Geelong is likely to make a final decision by the weekend on its pre-season pick, the fifth overall and third "live" choice in the draft.

Should Harvey be taken by the Cats, the Kangaroos may select another quick small forward in Aaron Davey, who impressed with the club's VFL affiliate Port Melbourne this year and, as with Duffield, was considered unfortunate not to be drafted. A number of clubs are interested in drafting Davey, a Northern Territorian, on to their rookie lists.

What's the point of us picking Shane Harvey when we know he will leave after one year and join the Kangaroos??

Interesting to note that we are interested in Duffield. Here's what GOALden Hawk had to say about Duffield:

Paul Duffield

Details:
Club: West Authur/South Fremantle
DOB: 5 Feb 85 Hgt: 185cm Wgt: 80kg
Position: Flanker
Natural foot: Right

Honours:
Western Australia 2003
Half Back Flank in WAFL Colts Team of the Year
National Draft Camp Invitee 2003

Profile:
Duffield is a flanker who played at either end of the ground for WA in the carnival. He was easy to spot in his lairy white boots.

Paul was a solid performer, showing flashes of class at times. He had a very good ability to find space where there was none, and he was always very balanced when disposing of the footy. His disposal by foot was very good.

Kicked a nice goal from the pocket against Vic Country. I'm a bit worried he is caught in between positions, but he might be worth a punt with a late pick.

Seems like a winger/flanker with good disposals. Sounds abit like a less talented Brent Stanton/Ricky Dyson. Still, I'm not convinced Duffield, or for that matter, S.Harvey should be picked up by the Cats.
I think we should be looking at drafting Aaron Davey, in the event that Melbourne pick Phil Read. If not Davey, then Michael Johnson and Jacob Surjan could come into the mix. Here's their profiles:

Michael Johnson

Details:
Club: Belmont/Perth
DOB: 20 Oct 84 Hgt: 194cm Wgt: 92kg
Position: Tall Defender/Forward
Natural foot: Unknown

Honours:

Profile:
A tall, athletic Aboriginal player in the Adam Goodes mould apparently. I say apparently because I haven't seen him play so can't say too much really. His draft camp description is "Tall outside defender/forward who is an intelligent footballer with very good ball skills. Can go forward and be dangerous."

Those in the know claim he is a real talent and were surprised when he wasn't drafted last year. Played seniors in the WAFL this year and was apparently quite impressive. As I haven't seen him play have no idea where he will go, but an athletic tall with footy smarts would have to be looked. Question must be why was he overlooked last year?

Jacob Surjan

Details:
Club: South Coogee/South Fremantle
DOB: 15 Aug 85 Hgt: 179cm Wgt: 75kg
Position: Onballer/Half Forward Flank
Natural foot: Left

Honours:
Westen Australia 2003

Profile:
Fairly small onballer who loves to go forward and kick the impossible goal. Surjan has been touted as a top 10 pick by some people, I'm not sure if he worth that much but he should definitely be picked up.

Had a pretty good carnival for WA, in particular the first game against Vic Country at the G. Both of his goals were fantastic snaps, really knows how to find the big sticks. He always looks dangerous with the ball and is so elusive he would be hard to close down.

Jacob hits the ball at pace and also has a massive leap on him for someone not that tall. Took one of the marks of the carnival against SA. He is very good at reading the play in close, just one of those kids who knows where the footy will end up.

Some great results at draft camp, number 1 for agility and in the top 10 for the sprint and vertical leap. Like Farren Ray, he probably needs a little bit of time in the gym and to work on his defensive game, but he looks a pretty good prospect.

I couldn't find much on Davey, but here is the info I could gather for your benefit:

"Aaron Davey was recruited to the Port Melbourne Football Club in Season 2003 from Port Adelaide in the SANFL. Aaron has quickly established himself as one of the most exciting and promising players in the VFL, electrifying crowds with his exceptional pace and skills.

Many experts at Port Melbourne draw similarities to Aaron and Kangaroos player Daniel Wells in terms of sheer talent and ability"

"The Bombers are eyeing Aaron Davey, the small forward with electrifying pace who, in the event that Deluca is taken by Carlton, would be one of two Port Melbourne (non-AFL listed) players to be drafted. Davey, originally from the Northern Territory, is rated by most pundits as a second-round draft choice."

"Though untried at AFL level, Corcoran said Davey had "blistering pace that can break a game open -- I think everyone's looking for that"

"...possesses blistering pace and has the uncanny ability to avoid and shrug off tackles. Can play wing or as a small forward"

"Herald Sun - Nov 16.

THE WILDCARD: AARON DAVEY

WATCHING a few videos of Aaron Davey's exploits was all it took to convince Port Melbourne he could play.

Once the nod was given by coach David Dunbar, it didn't take long for Davey to relocate from Adelaide.
His name -- and eye-catching speed -- was thrust before the club by Kangaroos recruiting manager Neville Stibbard and friend Daniel Motlop.

"I rang Daniel just to see if I could come and play down there, and Neville Stibbard said to see what could happen and then I got a call from David Dunbar," Davey, 20, said.

"I'd played the last three years for Port Magpies in the SANFL but I wanted to try to get drafted."

Davey started slowly in the VFL reserves but gradually made an impression. He played 11 senior games and won the VFL's Fothergill-Round medal for the most promising young player.

Currently, in Darwin for the off-season with his partner and daughter, Davey is looming as a top 20 pick in the national draft.

"My intention was to hopefully get drafted but I would have been happy with the rookie draft," he said.

"Now it's real serious and I've shocked myself to do what I've done. It'd be good to go and play with Daniel, but I'd be happy anywhere."

Davey was joined in Darwin by delisted Roo Shannon Motlop, who is aiming to get fit before hopefully landing at a new club.

Port Melbourne general manager Barry Kidd said Davey had been a handy acquisition this season.

"Hopefully he gets drafted by North Melbourne. He's got pace and the ability to kick goals," Kidd said.

"He's had a fantastic year at Port and he's got electric pace and very clean hands."

Only query seems to be his size (height and weight) and the resultant fact that he get pushed off the ball easily. Nevertheless, I'd be willing to have a punt on him. He possesses blistering pace, something highly valued in today's game, and can play as a goalsneak. Imagine Tenace, Wojcinski, Davey, and Surjan (If we draft him in the Rookie Draft) in one team! That's one hell of a lot of speed.

With the Rookie draft, we can then pick two of Duffield, Cosgriff, Clifton, Surjan, Oswald.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
What's the point of us picking Shane Harvey when we know he will leave after one year and join the Kangaroos??

There is no point in picking Shane Harvey. Simple.

Never know, he could turn into an exceptional crummer, and fall intimately in love with the Geelong footy club.

;)

Ohh... and it's not like it would take all that much, just rekindle some of that good old childhood faith ;)

I reckon we need flankers (ie. Surjan or whoever). We have plenty of young tall forwards already i reckon. But i agree, we should't be picking Harvey if he'll leave after one season

How do you guys read this

"Duffield, the more likely choice should the Cats pass on Harvey, is certain to be drafted as a rookie otherwise".

Drafted at pick 5 in the rookie draft by us if he isn't taken in the PSD or simply picked up in the rookie draft overall?

Would the 4 clubs above us nab him? Somebidy told me Melb will take Molan at 3 so that just leaves the WB, Carl and Rich.

Originally posted by BigCat1
How do you guys read this

"Duffield, the more likely choice should the Cats pass on Harvey, is certain to be drafted as a rookie otherwise".

Drafted at pick 5 in the rookie draft by us if he isn't taken in the PSD or simply picked up in the rookie draft overall?

Would the 4 clubs above us nab him? Somebidy told me Melb will take Molan at 3 so that just leaves the WB, Carl and Rich.

Drafted in the PSD by us if we pass on Harvey. If no one picks him up in the PSD, then he is certain to be picked up in the Rookie Draft.

Originally posted by Mattster
I reckon we need flankers (ie. Surjan or whoever). We have plenty of young tall forwards already i reckon. But i agree, we should't be picking Harvey if he'll leave after one season

I personally would like to pick up Davey in the PSD. Then with our 2 picks in the Rookie, draft up Jacob Surjan and Lance Oswald/Ben Clifton/Ben Cosgriff/Michael Johnson.

Originally posted by Sammy D
So when is the PSD anyway???

Did Shane support geelong as a kid like Brent did?

Brent Harvey supported Geelong as a kid? Dammit! OK we must make sure James Allan doesn't go anywhere but Geelong!

PSD is next tuesday (the 16th). Hopefully we wont pick up Harvey, I cant see him being any more than a useless forward. I hope we draft someone relatively unknown like we did with Brent Moloney last year.

I hope we pick up Shane Harvey. You know i think people have him the wrong way. And if we draft him he im sure he would stay at the club the rest of his career. At least 2 years anyway. Anyway he is a good player who if we overlooked i would be dissapointed.

I'm easy either way. I'm just thankful Motlop seems to be out of the way :confused:

Harvey has tons of talent and could pay off big time. On the flip side he has also shown he's a sook and there are question marks on his work ethic.

Duffield is apparently the best left over player from the draft and another Brent Maloney I can handle. :D

Rookies will also be interesting. Pick 5 could net us quiet a handy player. Hopefully Gayfer

Originally posted by GeeCat
Brent Harvey supported Geelong as a kid? Dammit! OK we must make sure James Allan doesn't go anywhere but Geelong!

I'm pretty sure the entire family were passionate Geelong supporters.

And yes, i agree about Allan. James Allan would be fantastic second selection in the rookie draft.

Pick him up at your own Peril ..

I am glad we are rid of him actually..... He pranced around the club wishing Injuries to senior players so he could get a game..

His work rate playing with Bendigo wasn't up to scratch and it seemed that he had his heart set on going to the Kangas to play with Brent a long time ago

Maybe being a Geelong supporter might change things a little, but if he ended up down the Geelong Rd. he would be even further away from his brother than before...

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Doubtful.We thought the same when Justin Murphy came to Geelong.He was a Geelong supporter as a kid.

And we all know how that gamble ended...

P.S: I still reckon that was a fair bump by Dasher!

I think it would be a good idea for Geelong to pick up S Harvey.

For starters it is only the pre-season draft... which very few clubs take part in after the 'cream' has been taken

You pick up a young kid with plenty of ability, played well in the VFL (although apparently his commitment was a bit wayward at times). And did have an impact at AFL level on occasions.

Wanted to leave EFC because he wasn't being given a chance when blokes like Reynolds were (because the coaching staff saw something special in Reynolds). Can't blame him for that... much.

Give him a season of games... let him prove himself... and if he stays you have a winner... if he leaves you are much more likely to trade your way into the 2nd round of the national draft next year or pick up another player than to just let him go.

Think about it... Pre season draft pick possibly wasted. But a chance at a bonus 2nd round pick next year in the national draft. Not bad IMO... worth the risk.

Originally posted by Rogue Bomber
I think it would be a good idea for Geelong to pick up S Harvey.

For starters it is only the pre-season draft... which very few clubs take part in after the 'cream' has been taken

You pick up a young kid with plenty of ability, played well in the VFL (although apparently his commitment was a bit wayward at times). And did have an impact at AFL level on occasions.

Wanted to leave EFC because he wasn't being given a chance when blokes like Reynolds were (because the coaching staff saw something special in Reynolds). Can't blame him for that... much.

Give him a season of games... let him prove himself... and if he stays you have a winner... if he leaves you are much more likely to trade your way into the 2nd round of the national draft next year or pick up another player than to just let him go.

Think about it... Pre season draft pick possibly wasted. But a chance at a bonus 2nd round pick next year in the national draft. Not bad IMO... worth the risk.

Nice plan, but I doubt such an event will eventuate. No point picking up a kid who will play half-arsed and then be asked to be traded to the Kangas. And as of such, I doubt the Kangas would be willing to trade a 2nd round draft pick for Harvey. Fact of the matter is, I don't rate Harvey that well. I'd rather see us pick up a genuine youngster, as there are still a few gems in the draft pool leftover.

Originally posted by BigCat1
Harvey has tons of talent and could pay off big time. On the flip side he has also shown he's a sook and there are question marks on his work ethic.

I'm an Essendon supporter having a browse around on other board. Im not a troll.

Harvey is absolutely no good for you. Yes he has talent. He actually has more natural talent than his brother. Work ethic? NONE!

I have seen him at training on numerous occasions and I tell you what, he does not work at all! He spends most of his time on the boundary line talking to other second rate players and trying to snap fluke goals. I have seen Sheeds and other coaching committee go off at him.... and it does nothing.

Nearly all players are playing like hell to try and impress the coach, that kid just sits in the corner like he should have everything brought to him.

If you can get him to spark then he will be a fantastic player, but reality is.... if he ends up a Cat then he will just have the same ethic for 12 months until trade time opens up again.

You will have wasted a draft selection and wasted his 60oddK wage.

Don't do it.

This was in today's Addy

"Although family ties have again played a part, Geelong looks set to pick Shane Harvey with selection No. 5 in tomorrow's pre-season draft

Ex-Kangaroo Shannon Motlop and strong-marking St Joseph's forward Aaron Greaves are understood to be in the mix if the Cats don't draft Harvey.

South Fremantle half-back flanker Paul Duffield is another to have caught the eye of Cats officials in recent weeks, but is likely to be rookie listed."

I just can't believe Motlop is still in the equation :confused: Also I can't see the logic of Greaves. He's 26 next year and still playing locals. IMO if they are the only options then there is only one choice. Weather he likes it or not! If he lives up to his potential then we will be getting a very good player. If he doesn't, well we can get rid of him next year and get something in return.

Hopefully Duffman lasts untill the rookie list ;)

I'm not against the idea of taking a punt that may pay off well, even if the chances of it doing so aren't great. But I'll be peeved if the pick turns out to be a dud while Shannon Byrnes is tearing them up in the VFL, but can't be promoted because there is no space on the senior list for a rookie promotion.