CC's response!

Roundhouse

http://footygoss.com/modules.php?op=...rder=0&thold=0

CC basically stated in a press conference today that if you don't wanna support the club nobody is begging you. The club needs real supporters to get behind them at the moment, and they are doing everything they can to turn things around. Save the knives until the end of the year if things don't change.

Pretty fair call I think.

He's been saying that for 5 years. And yes he's correct but just because you criticise your club for their actions does not make you a 'fake' supporter.

I'm fine with the 'if the dockers make the finals AND win a final' CC stays. If they dont, then kiss his ass goodbye.

We have a tough run in the second half and I dont see us getting it done with our Top 2 fullbacks on the shelf and our backup ruckman lame.

Regardless of what opinion you have, He was right on the money about the treatment of Schammer.

The first time it was funny , but now it is embarrassing and would not be helping him in the slightest.

If anything it would make him miss more targets which is a big help if you actually want team to win.

Reminds me of how E-girls fans booed Gerhig back to Victoria.

Ripper said:
Regardless of what opinion you have, He was right on the money about the treatment of Schammer.

The first time it was funny , but now it is embarrassing and would not be helping him in the slightest.

If anything it would make him miss more targets which is a big help if you actually want team to win.

Reminds me of how E-girls fans booed Gerhig back to Victoria.

You managed to involve WCE in this thread :D

As for Gehrigs poor treatment

You can blame Malthouse for that, he was clearly not 100% fitness wise but in the quest to possibly win one more premiership he was played anyway.

Ripper said:

Exactly. It's difficult enough in any job to not make an error when you're being scrutinised, imagine being taken the **** out of every time you.

Negativity builds on itself. Schammer has enourmous ability and he must be kicking himself enough when he makes a stuff up without having to cop it from the supporters.

Roundhouse said:
http://footygoss.com/modules.php?op=...rder=0&thold=0

CC basically stated in a press conference today that if you don't wanna support the club nobody is begging you. The club needs real supporters to get behind them at the moment, and they are doing everything they can to turn things around. Save the knives until the end of the year if things don't change.

Pretty fair call I think.

He was talking about the suporters at subi who are prepaid members who have cough up hard earned to support the dockers not particular individuals.
His comments will come back and bit him very hard.

So he says "like it or lump it" will the FFC refund half a season of memberships
back to the members who take up his offer? Not likely!
so his call in effect carries zip as his message to his players.

wehavethepassion said:
He was talking about the suporters at subi who are prepaid members who have cough up hard earned to support the dockers not particular individuals.

So he says "like it or lump it" will the FFC refund half a season of memberships
I agree with your first sentence. There are supporters of the club who do not support (and I would go as far as to suggest hate), a lot of the current personnel on board. I think it is fair to suggest to those people, as CC has done, that they are free to jump off at any time and come back when they are happy with the personel. Or alternatively, to stay away if they are never happy with the personel. No, the FFC wouldn't offer them refunds because that would indicate that they as club had made some money back guarantee to supporters when they signed up. Only a complete moron would feel justified in asking for his/her money back at any time during a season. I don't really take Connolly's comments as an offer as you have suggested WHTP.

Roundhouse said:
I agree with your first sentence. There are supporters of the club who do not support (and I would go as far as to suggest hate), a lot of the current personnel on board. I think it is fair to suggest to those people, as CC has done, that they are free to jump off at any time and come back when they are happy with the personel. Or alternatively, to stay away if they are never happy with the personel. No, the FFC wouldn't offer them refunds because that would indicate that they as club had made some money back guarantee to supporters when they signed up. Only a complete moron would feel justified in asking for his/her money back at any time during a season. I don't really take Connolly's comments as an offer as you have suggested WHTP.

I perceive he is saying "you support the dockers the way i want you to support the dockers" ie "my way or the highway" which is very simplisticand and nieve.

The problem with football clubs is two things "human beings" and "emotion".

I never leave early RH irrespective of the result. I support the dockers my way as you do yours. Footy by the very definition begs debate and argument, agreement and disagreement. We all want the the dockers to be consistenly a good side challeging for the holy grail - however, we differ on the means.

wehavethepassion said:

He was talking about the members who pay their hard earned to bronx cheer the dockers.

Big difference!

Booing the players is never acceptable, but I can understand the frustration of supporters. CC is taking us no where, and people are angry. A lot of people disagreed with his contract extension, and they have been vindicated.

The extension of Schwabs contract doesn't help the situation either. They should be a package deal. Schwab hired his buddy and was the one that pushed hard for the extension. CS has done a lot for the club off field but its results onfield that matter. Connolly should have been replaced at the end of last season but he wasn't because Schwab ensured he was contracted. Now they should both get the heave ho if we don't win a final. Schwab has demonstrated his ability in appointing a quality coach, and should not be involved in appointed Connolly's replacement.

Ripper said:
He was talking about the members who pay their hard earned to bronx cheer the dockers.

Big difference!

Lets not forget they've been giving it to him as well.

He needs to come over to the southern side of side he mite get a different response/reaction.

With our huge growth in season ticket holders, the fabric of the membership has changed maybe the extra
10K(season ticket holders ie 30K in a total membership of 35K) since 2001 have less patience??

wehavethepassion said:
With our huge growth in season ticket holders, the fabric of the membership has changed maybe the extra
10K(season ticket holders ie 30K in a total membership of 35K) since 2001 have less patience??

What on earth does this have to do with Connolly (the 30K ticket holders in 35k total????) You can't miss an opportunity to have a dig can you Chris? The vitriol and hatred just keeps on coming. Do you think it's only the Dockers whose membership tallies include non-ticketed members?? You spend way too much time in the company of that fool GG.

chook2734 said:
What on earth does this have to do with Connolly (the 30K ticket holders in 35k total????) You can't miss an opportunity to have a dig can you Chris? The vitriol and hatred just keeps on coming. Do you think it's only the Dockers whose membership tallies include non-ticketed members?? You spend way too much time in the company of that fool GG.

Never met the man Chook. Obviously you missed the point of my reply.
Connolly is having a go at paid up season ticlket holders who vent their spleen at underperforming players. He doesn't like the way they are going about it. Needs to hand them out a manual on "how to support your team according to connolly"

The point i'm making for a slow learner like you is that the seat holders prior to the huge influx(prior 2003) were possibly more accepting of dud performances than the current seat holders who jeering plyers and coaches alike..

By the way chook are you still in the vic dockers cheer squad?

chook2734 said:

Chook, here as well as on WHTP, it appears that you are the one that is vitriolic and full of hatred; hatred of anyone or anything that disagrees with you.

You appear to go after people with a certain vengance and at times appears that you attack merely for the sake of attacking.

By all means allow yourself to be heard but for god sake get rid of the angst man.:thumbsd:

wehavethepassion said:
Never met the man Chook. Obviously you missed the point of my reply.
Connolly is having a go at paid up season ticlket holders who vent their spleen at underperforming players. He doesn't like the way they are going about it. Needs to hand them out a manual on "how to support your team according to connolly"

The point i'm making for a slow learner like you is that the seat holders prior to the huge influx(prior 2003) were possibly more accepting of dud performances than the current seat holders who jeering plyers and coaches alike..

By the way chook are you still in the vic dockers cheer squad?

Sorry Chris, I was under the impression that the discussion was in regard to Connolly's statement. Your response still doesn't explain the need to point out the 5,000 non-ticketed members, in fact I'd suggest it points out how off topic it was.

The majority who are anti Schwab/Connolly/Hart or whoever they are anti, were anti these people last year. They knew these positions were going to remain for at least the duration of the 2006 season - if these people still signed on as members with this knowledge, they've got no one to blame but themselves. They knew what they were buying.

Booing your own players is not really the way to go, but there is a simple solution. If the coach wants the supporters to be 100% behind the club, then he better get the players putting in a 100% effort on the field.

dominguez said:
The extension of Schwabs contract doesn't help the situation either. They should be a package deal. Schwab hired his buddy and was the one that pushed hard for the extension. CS has done a lot for the club off field but its results onfield that matter. Connolly should have been replaced at the end of last season but he wasn't because Schwab ensured he was contracted. Now they should both get the heave ho if we don't win a final. Schwab has demonstrated his ability in appointing a quality coach, and should not be involved in appointed Connolly's replacement.
I'm not sure how much people know about corporate governance on BigFooty but I suspects its not a lot. so we need to get some things straight.

Schwab is CEO, and he reports to the BOARD. There are 8 Board members currently including Rick Hart, the President and Ben Allan and Les Everett who are member elected. Other members include Brian O'Donnell, Tony Buhagiar, Mel Ashton. I think Len Hitchen is is still Vice President, which leaves one I can't find.

Now these are the guys that ultimately detemine the contracts for the coach and the CEO. Now it may be Cameron Schwab is in their pockets or carries too much sway -- which I doubt -- but either way they are responsible.

So before you tee off on Schwabby, just bear in mind he makes the recommendations. It's the Board who signs off on them. When you want to write to the club and complain about stuff it should be going to Rick Hart. he's the President and he's above the CEO in the pecking order.

http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=media&spg=display&articleid=241551

Les Everett
http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=clubnews&spg=display&articleid=179257

Brian O'Donnell
http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=247337

Well done Dagg! By time someone put the role of corporate governance into perspective.

Unfortunately alot of people dont think before they write and theres the ever lurking presence of the Freo Mob who have axes to grind and just wait for something to go wrong before they complain about directors, appointment of Freo people regardless of their abilities, the presence of Victorians or the lack of a Bar, members lounges etc etc etc.

The re-appointment of CC was the result of the Dunstall and Hawthorn approach who made an aggressive pitch to him to be their new coach.

I suspect it was the deal to keep him at Freo. This was at a time when he was doing well and to lose him would have left us basically in caretake mode til we found someone else for the following year.

Freo Shark said:
Well done Dagg! By time someone put the role of corporate governance into perspective.

Unfortunately alot of people dont think before they write and theres the ever lurking presence of the Freo Mob who have axes to grind and just wait for something to go wrong before they complain about directors, appointment of Freo people regardless of their abilities, the presence of Victorians or the lack of a Bar, members lounges etc etc etc.

The re-appointment of CC was the result of the Dunstall and Hawthorn approach who made an aggressive pitch to him to be their new coach.

I suspect it was the deal to keep him at Freo. This was at a time when he was doing well and to lose him would have left us basically in caretake mode til we found someone else for the following year.

Many would dispute that he was doing well or deserved a contract extension. We had gone backwards the year before, and a lot of people could see the writing on the wall for the future. Was there a realistic chance he would leave for Hawthorn while still under contract to us? He still had a year left ... so he had that year to prove himself (which he failed to do) and earn a contract extension (which he would not have got in hindsight).