Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

As I wrote back in March or April, the sole purpose of JobKeeper wasn't about business or jobs. It was to keep a percentage of Lib voters away from the realities of Centrelink. It has done that well.

Nah, to keep the job figures fudged far from reality was/is the main goal.

And to all those who voted for the Coalition in 2019 - this is the kind of behaviour you voted for, you utter ****sticks.

Not to mention those who voted for OneNation.

And you'd feel like an EVEN BIGGER DONKEY if you voted for pauline hanson hey

" I'm for the battler " *

* Provided battler talks shit about blackfullahs , muzzos and chinamen on boomerbook

****en mutt

And to all those who voted for the Coalition in 2019 - this is the kind of behaviour you voted for, you utter ****sticks.
And i'll look down and whisper " No "

But if a victim (and I use the word deliberately) of these campaigners threatens to go to politicians or the media, these companies must inform DHS within an hour as they are considered:
ME - " Imagine the uproar if Gillard was still PM "

The cashless welfare card is to punish welfare recipients.

In the mind of Coalition voters, people on Centrelink are choosing to be on it and if you can just treat them bad enough, they will get off their "lazy arses" and get a job.

It's very easy to have this attitude when you've been handed everything your whole life, or been the small proportion of people who have emerged from pauper to prosperity.

The media shows the sensationalist stories of the Paxtons or a single mum with 6 kids every now and then to keep the perception going. If people saw and understood the real stories, there's no way they'd get away with this. Which is why Hansen's vote is such a betrayal to "battlers" who vote for her.

The cashless welfare card is to punish welfare recipients.

In the mind of Coalition voters, people on Centrelink are choosing to be on it and if you can just treat them bad enough, they will get off their "lazy arses" and get a job.

It's very easy to have this attitude when you've been handed everything your whole life, or been the small proportion of people who have emerged from pauper to prosperity.

The media shows the sensationalist stories of the Paxtons or a single mum with 6 kids every now and then to keep the perception going. If people saw and understood the real stories, there's no way they'd get away with this. Which is why Hansen's vote is such a betrayal to "battlers" who vote for her.

Why is it punishment?
Because it won't allow a recipient, in an underprivileged family to gamble or buy booze or drugs prior to feeding their family?
What do you want the cash for that will make it such a "punishment".

Remember that some places look better for welfare payments, because they include medical assistance where they have inadequate public health.

How will a cashless card make a "battler's" life more of a battle?

Try going on facebook and buying second-hand school uniforms or books with a cashless card.

Try going on gumtree and buying a bed for your soon-to-be teenager with a cashless card.

Try buying a second-hand set of tyres for your shitbox from a bloke down the road with a cashless card.

Try going on facebook and buying second-hand school uniforms or books with a cashless card.

Try going on gumtree and buying a bed for your soon-to-be teenager with a cashless card.

Try buying a second-hand set of tyres for your shitbox from a bloke down the road with a cashless card.
Not saying I'm for it but doesn't the system still allow for a % of cash?

It's not like they have enough money to pick and choose all the time. Buy something off facebook and tell them you've got money, but don't have actual cash for a couple of weeks.

It takes away some freedoms. The faux intent sounds good, but what are the actual results? Not good for the users, but the scheme is rating its socks off in focus groups of potential voters.

Queen Bitch said:
As the Senate debated the bill late on Wednesday, it appeared doomed to fail, prompting Social Services Minister Anne Ruston to circulate the amendments.

"We are a Government that listens, and from the feedback I have received I believe that communities in the Northern Territory will be much more comfortable with this being a voluntary choice between remaining on the Basics Card or transitioning to the Cashless Debit Card," she said.

Senator Ruston said the Coalition remained committed to making the program permanent.

"This amendment does not change our commitment; it simply means we have more work to do to in the future to convince the Parliament they should support this program on a permanent basis too."

The only thing that matters is blindly imposing their ideology and enriching their cohorts and donors.

Senator Rex Patrick said:
In opposing the bill, Senator Patrick argued the Government had provided anecdotes rather than evidence in its bid to prove the scheme had achieved positive results.
"In the end, when weighing up all of the evidence, the difficulty for me is the Government has not made out its case," he said.
Senator Patrick travelled to the trial site in Ceduna, and the Northern Territory, while deliberating whether to support the legislation.
He said what he heard on the ground had "undercut" the Government's claims the program had reduced alcoholism and gambling.
"When I try and balance up everything that I've seen, unfortunately the data is not there that supports the concept that the card achieves what it is intended to achieve," he said.
"Governments should create opportunities and provide services to support people.
"It's not their role to hold people back and create further disadvantage, which is what the welfare card does."

Those are all valid points.

And i've never been in favour of a zero cash system.
I'm in favour of a system that gives enough to buy groceries.
If they aren't proposing at least 50% cash component then they need to.

It's not like they have enough money to pick and choose all the time. Buy something off facebook and tell them you've got money, but don't have actual cash for a couple of weeks.

It takes away some freedoms. The faux intent sounds good, but what are the actual results? Not good for the users, but the scheme is rating its socks off in focus groups of potential voters.

Yes its taking away those freedoms.
Some people get extra welfare because they have children.
I think its fair to take away the freedom to gamble away the money that should normally be spent feeding their children.

But yes , i don't think the cashless portion should be more than what would normally be spent on food and groceries /rent.
If its set up so that most people have unused "credit" but no cash , then it will be wrong.

Those are all valid points.

And i've never been in favour of a zero cash system.
I'm in favour of a system that gives enough to buy groceries.
If they aren't proposing at least 50% cash component then they need to.

i dont know much about this, but how does the card work? is it like a visa debit card. where the retailer swipes it in their normal credit card machine, or does it require separate equipment?

so do they get paid straight away, and is their only compliance obligation retailers have to do?

asking because i know the voucher schemes OS can cause some dislike with retailers when it adds to their costs (and they effectively choose to exclude themselves from accepting them)

Why is it punishment?
Because it won't allow a recipient, in an underprivileged family to gamble or buy booze or drugs prior to feeding their family?
What do you want the cash for that will make it such a "punishment".

Remember that some places look better for welfare payments, because they include medical assistance where they have inadequate public health.

How will a cashless card make a "battler's" life more of a battle?

It is already possible to issue a person with an administration order enabling the state to manage that person's financial affairs.

i dont know much about this, but how does the card work? is it like a visa debit card. where the retailer swipes it in their normal credit card machine, or does it require separate equipment?

so do they get paid straight away, and is their only compliance obligation retailers have to do?

asking because i know the voucher schemes OS can cause some dislike with retailers when it adds to their costs (and they effectively choose to exclude themselves from accepting them)

Surely its just an accepted card or not. Like some places accept amex but some don't . But i don't know for sure.

Not sure now, but when it was introduced you couldn't use it at supermarkets that had a bottle shop attached. I *think* some supermarkets have integrated it with their POS systems to filter out such items.

Actually Supermarkets like Coles and Woolies have separated their Bottle Shops from their main stores already but there would be plenty of communities where the only local store was an owner operated IGA who sells both.
I'd bet there would be plenty of the small operators willing to ring up a couple of Kg of Steak but hand you a bottle.

Some truth bombs in here, especially toward the end of the article.
That blurb mentions nothing of a UBI

I wondered what truth bombs could there be - but understanding it's a UBI and not a cash card - it makes for a good article

I am also in favour of a UBI