Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

If you start cutting of more peoples dole payments than less people will break the rules .

You also highlight the reason why law and order along with defence are the most important priorities for government .
If you triple their dole payments they will go shopping and create employment

If you start cutting of more peoples dole payments than less people will break the rules .

You also highlight the reason why law and order along with defence are the most important priorities for government .
What rules have people broken?

Not showing up to meetings with employment services providers is a big one . Obviously not going to interviews and accepting employment is another one .
And they get penalised for not doing so. They have a % of their payments removed.

The smartest thing the rich did was teach the middle class to hate the poor and we are seeing it in action here. We lose far more through corporate tax avoidance than we do a few people gaming welfare (the evidence shows the number of people skipping out on their obligations is is in the 1 per cent or less). But look at where that anger is directed.

And they get penalised for not doing so. They have a % of their payments removed.

Aland Tudge the minister in charge of Centrelink has told my local branch that very few people have their dole payments stopped for not meting their mutual obligations , a very soft approach is being taken

The smartest thing the rich did was teach the middle class to hate the poor and we are seeing it in action here. We lose far more through corporate tax avoidance than we do a few people gaming welfare (the evidence shows the number of people skipping out on their obligations is is in the 1 per cent or less). But look at where that anger is directed.

Paying less tax means someone is keeping more of their own money , welfare from Centrelink means someone is getting money for doing nothing .

Aland Tudge the minister in charge of Centrelink has told my local branch that very few people have their dole payments stopped for not meting their mutual obligations , a very soft approach is being taken
Your local Liberal branch?

I didn't say there are enough jobs for everyone at any 1 moment.

well, feel free to explain how that isn't what you said:

any person who desperately try's to get and will take any job will get a job...

But lets not kid ourselves for some people it is a lifestyle chose or they are job snobs.

yes, for some it is. do you have any data to support your apparent extrapolation from "some" to the full ~730,000?

We can argue all day about how many people choose to be on the dole but the key is to set high standards for seeking work . If they don't meet those standards they lose their payments .

yes, we can argue all day. but you're only armed with ideological bullshit.

Paying less tax means someone is keeping more of their own money , welfare from Centrelink means someone is getting money for doing nothing .
Gina gets subsidies in the millions of dollars; not her own money, yours and mine. Your anger is entirely misdirected. And anyone who has paid tax is entitled to draw on the system when in need. Your idea of hordes of bludgers living the high life is the fevered imaginations of Tudge and co. to distract you.

Epic pisstake going on here.

Welfare cards

Alan Tudge said we're really really soft.

Things haven't been " soft " at Australia's unemployment agencies for a very very long time and anyone who says different is either 1 - not on the dole , 2 - on the take or 3 - just plain old ignorant

Gina gets subsidies in the millions of dollars; not her own money, yours and mine. Your anger is entirely misdirected. And anyone who has paid tax is entitled to draw on the system when in need. Your idea of hordes of bludgers living the high life is the fevered imaginations of Tudge and co. to distract you.

index.jpg

In addition to forcing people who are on the dole for more than 3 months to work for it , we need to implement welfare cards . They should not be allowed to buy luxuries why on the dole .

On $250 a week they must be absolutely wallowing in "luxuries".

I didn't say there are enough jobs for everyone at any 1 moment . But lets not kid ourselves for some people it is a lifestyle chose or they are job snobs .

We can argue all day about how many people choose to be on the dole but the key is to set high standards for seeking work . If they don't meet those standards they lose their payments .

They also need to work for the dole after a short period of time .

$250 a week must give them a virtually inexhaustible range of "lifestyle choices".

Define: income
"money received, especially on a regular basis, for work or through investments.
"he has a nice home and an adequate income"

you clearly have little experience in any field relevant to economics or labour. where do you get this idea that there are always enough jobs available for everyone? eg, when the GFC got into full swing, did millions of people just decide to get seriously lazy and quit their jobs?

unemployment numbers in AU in may were approx 730,000. that's not even counting the large number of underemployed. job adverts were about 175,000. please source the 555,000 phantom jobs hiding in the background, ready to be given to anyone who asks for them.

Kiwis. :D

I have been gainfully employed for 20 years, if for some reason I find myself on unemployment benefits, then I have ******* paid for this service over the course of 20 years and a decent service is exactly what I expect. Government is not a one-way street, take your taxes, but fail to provide the socially agreed safety net.

I'm with you. I've been working for 35 years, never drawn a cent of dole / newstart. I've done some shit jobs to tide me over, but I've always had something and I've been a net payer for probably most of it. I'm paying around $40-45k tax these days, if i'm ever desperate, I'd hope I can get a little back if needed.

I'm under no illusions now. I'll be 50 next year and if for whatever reason, I were to lose my job, despite my willingness to do anything, I reckon it would potentially be a struggle.

The whole 'job adverts' line is a load of bs, 70+% of jobs are found through networking/ asking directly.

Define: income
"money received, especially on a regular basis, for work or through investments.
"he has a nice home and an adequate income"

There's no definition of income.
"Income is income".

It can be money received on a regular basis, but money received on a regular basis is not always income.
E.g. If you make money on a regular basis out of a hobby, it is not income.

I'm with you. I've been working for 35 years, never drawn a cent of dole / newstart. I've done some shit jobs to tide me over, but I've always had something and I've been a net payer for probably most of it. I'm paying around $40-45k tax these days, if i'm ever desperate, I'd hope I can get a little back if needed.

I'm under no illusions now. I'll be 50 next year and if for whatever reason, I were to lose my job, despite my willingness to do anything, I reckon it would potentially be a struggle.
Successive governments have taken a sledgehammer approach to unemployment benefits. It's easy to demonise the 'slacker' who doesn't want to work. This is despite the fact that unemployment is a small part of the welfare pie (as seen above) and plenty of job seekers are net taxpayers who deserve better. Then there's the fact that the jobs just aren't necessarily there. The whole approach is political and it's bullshit.

Can you please explain what is wrong with the government's approach?

The government is simply saying that they expect someone on unemployment to leave no stone unturned to get a job.

Some on the dole will do whatever it takes to get a job while some will do whatever it takes not to get a job.

The government's is also saying that after a certain amount of time people on the dole have to work for it just like people on a wage do