Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

Mate the trick is to apply for as many jobs as possible and not just ones advertised online . Approach even companies that are not advertising, if they get angry than who cares.

Also do not worry about rejection, if you apply for 300 jobs and 299 say no than you have succeeded.

DONE that...I get a burst of enthusiasm and go crazy monthly.

Carers jobs I don't get interviews for often get re-advertised...one sent exact same rejection letter...only date was changed!

I've even sent emails to the parent company.

One... I think I intimidated the 20 something team leader phone interviewer and they made up a BS rejection reason. I sent them a Christmas card ... they have re-advertised.

THANKS for your interest!

Case closed then :rolleyes:

It sounds like GC gets his employees from yhe Centrelink agencies and when they say "most people on the dole dont want to work" they neglect to add "for free".

Most people on the dole dont want to work for free.

What would a regular recruiter know about the aspirations of the unemployed? They only deal with people actively looking for work amd usually these people already have jobs.

GC is ypur family business involved in the work for the dole slave labor scheme?

The issue with any payment is the worst people ruin it for the rest... It is meant to be an income to support you until you find employment.. But as low as it is there are 3rd or 4th generation income support recipients now who simply have no intention in looking for work or working. I'm a previous centrelink staff member, worked in the call centre and then in a face to face office in a lower socio-economic area of Melbourne and we had plenty of long term "customers" who had never had a job and no interest at all in getting one. The government would argue that order to deter people from just staying on the payments they can't be much higher than they are.

Despite them not being enough for the genuine ones that are trying to do the right thing.

The issue with any payment is the worst people ruin it for the rest... It is meant to be an income to support you until you find employment.. But as low as it is there are 3rd or 4th generation income support recipients now who simply have no intention in looking for work or working. I'm a previous centrelink staff member, worked in the call centre and then in a face to face office in a lower socio-economic area of Melbourne and we had plenty of long term "customers" who had never had a job and no interest at all in getting one. The government would argue that order to deter people from just staying on the payments they can't be much higher than they are.

Despite them not being enough for the genuine ones that are trying to do the right thing.

If someone is so content to live on the existing welfare level then do you really want them in your workplace, quite frankly I don't want them within a million miles of mine, if someone is so lacking in ambition that they don't look for employment then the odds are they are unemployable.

The idea that you have to keep the serious job seeker in a state of poverty to punish someone who clearly is content is just lazy policy making and ignores the adverse consequences of that policy.

Newstart should be increased, as should DSP, the irony is we gladly give the aged pension to retirees regardless of whether they should retire or not, because if we applied the same standards to the aged pension as we do to Newstart then many retirees would be told to stay in the workforce, many of the women on the aged pension haven even worked yet we never hear a word of complaint about that. (nor should we)

Guys having spoken to a professional recruiter who helps us with some of our recruitment, he told me that most people on the dole simply do not want to work. There are a number of industry's crying out for workers which from what I can remember include the warehousing, labouring and call centre industry's. These are all industry's that need workers in our big cities and there were more.

It is total BS that someone can not find a job within 12 months if they leave no stone unturned. I know this and so do most workers which is why neither the liberals or labour will increase New start.

"Call centre"

Interesting because I happen to know several recruiters who recruit for that space and they have no difficulty in sourcing candidates for contact centre roles and the feedback from major recruitment agencies, is that there are currently no labour shortages in Australia.

Contact centre roles actually require a certain level of phone handling and computer related skills.

=

I think Paul Murray had the best idea about increasing Newstart, if its to be increased than only make it so people can get it for 6 months every 2 years.

How easy it is for a bloke on a very high income to come up with a simple policy idea which in reality will cause more problems than it solves, cutting people off welfare will not force them to find a job, that recruiter you mentioned, I bet he wont like it when candidates start hounding him for jobs because recruiters are not paid to help a job seeker to find employment, they are paid by the employer for filling roles with suitable candidates based on the employer's needs.

If he works at a government employment provider then he is not a recruiter.

"Call centre"

Interesting because I happen to know several recruiters who recruit for that space and they have no difficulty in sourcing candidates for contact centre roles and the feedback from major recruitment agencies, is that there are currently no labour shortages in Australia.

Contact centre roles actually require a certain level of phone handling and computer related skills.

There is always jobs available to pick fruit.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/n...t/news-story/7d5483abad48a4c0e3e8b4fdde966995

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/na...s/news-story/c66dbf38e429cf62230a6378d79def84
https://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/news/10-unemployed-qld-boss-cant-find-workers/3212843/

Truth is many people just do not want to do jobs such as fruit picking, cleaning, kitchen hands and labourers because they feel its beneath their dignity.

How easy it is for a bloke on a very high income to come up with a simple policy idea which in reality will cause more problems than it solves, cutting people off welfare will not force them to find a job, that recruiter you mentioned, I bet he wont like it when candidates start hounding him for jobs because recruiters are not paid to help a job seeker to find employment, they are paid by the employer for filling roles with suitable candidates based on the employer's needs.

If he works at a government employment provider then he is not a recruiter.

Listen at the end of the day if someone is out of work that is their problem. As a generous nation we give them a payment but if that's not enough than they need to figure out a solution themselves because the taxpayer has rights too.

No excuses, there are a few bad employees in every industry the idea that most farmers are evil monsters is nonsense.

If an employer breaks the law than report them, if someone loses their job than they are no worse of because they simply go back on the dole.

You need to understand that if someone is out of work than it is their problem not the taxpayer, they have to find the solution.

No excuses, there are a few bad employees in every industry the idea that most farmers are evil monsters is nonsense.

If an employer breaks the law than report them, if someone loses their job than they are no worse of because they simply go back on the dole.

You need to understand that if someone is out of work than it is their problem not the taxpayer, they have to find the solution.
Where did you get the idea that farmers are evil?
Where did I blame the taxpayer?

But hey I get it, say you are living in Frankston/Geelong/or wherever, leave your family and go and get a job working for a pittance in Mildura and still not earn as much as Newstart after you pay for accommodation, food and travel expenses. Do you have any more great ideas?

Your selfishness is depressing GC.

You are incapable of demonstrating any understanding towards people that have had less opportunities than you. The irritating thing is that if you didnt have family backing then you would be picking fruit, washing dishes or, on the dole.

If you were preaching from a position of having life experience in picking fruit or rising from the slums then i wpuld still think you are a dick, but it is even worse because you are a (not very intelligent) spoilt brat that has had everything handed to him.

Listen at the end of the day if someone is out of work that is their problem. As a generous nation we give them a payment but if that's not enough than they need to figure out a solution themselves because the taxpayer has rights too.

Sure the taxpayer has rights and as you would know, PAYE taxes are spent on a whole range of government activities often without consultation with the taxpayer.

Actually welfare is a core responsibility of the federal government, along with defense, foreign policy, trade and immigration.

Most Australians experience some time out of work at some stage of their working lives.

IN 2013-2014 4.8 Million meetings were missed by people on the dole.

http://www.news.com.au/finance/work...s/news-story/0379620c974101309829508c95ca6161

Considering your stated concern for taxpayers, you really should not be supporting the continuation of the failed government employment system, it is not designed to help job seekers into employment and it is unsuitable for anyone with any level of experience or qualifications.

By missing those interviews, those job seekers are potentially saving taxpayers money as the government's employment system is paid for carrying out activities regardless of whether that activity results in employment for the job seeker, which is unlike how the professional recruitment industry operates as the professional recruiters are only paid when they fill actual roles.

Government demonstrates its seriousness by not having any of the major professional recruitment firms involved instead they have a network of no-name or charity based agencies which have little to no expertise in recruitment or business.

Your selfishness is depressing GC.

You are incapable of demonstrating any understanding towards people that have had less opportunities than you. The irritating thing is that if you didnt have family backing then you would be picking fruit, washing dishes or, on the dole.

If you were preaching from a position of having life experience in picking fruit or rising from the slums then i wpuld still think you are a dick, but it is even worse because you are a (not very intelligent) spoilt brat that has had everything handed to him.
I really reckon this guy's account has to be a pisstake, and therefore one of the greatest ever BF trolls.

The problem most have with centrelink is the long term dole bludger.

According to my sources the latest scam is NEIS - the new enterprise scheme. Instead of having to check into CL once a week, you can go on this program where you pretend to start your own home based import/export business, and basically get 12 months of dole payments while sitting at home watching Game of Thrones.

8190f39aa5b98fb1aef8a00639442de8.png

There is always jobs available to pick fruit.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/n...t/news-story/7d5483abad48a4c0e3e8b4fdde966995

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/na...s/news-story/c66dbf38e429cf62230a6378d79def84
https://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/news/10-unemployed-qld-boss-cant-find-workers/3212843/

Truth is many people just do not want to do jobs such as fruit picking, cleaning, kitchen hands and labourers because they feel its beneath their dignity.

There are plainly many people who turn those jobs down because they are lazy no-hopers, but honestly I reckon you'd be mad to go near any of those with the possible exception of kitchen hand.

At the end of the day, picking fruit teaches you no useful skills, gets you no useful contacts, leads nowhere and does nothing except convert your time and muscle power into cash.

If you want to get ahead far better to take the dole and study something useful and technical, or if that's not your plan, take the dole and spend the 7.5 hours a day cold-applying for entry level positions in your industry of choice.

If you pick fruit for six months, those are six months you could have used to acquire a useful skill or generate leads in a field that interests you.

The reason those jobs aren't filled aren't because people are lazy, they're because objectively you have to be a ****ing idiot or desperate to take them.

There are plainly many people who turn those jobs down because they are lazy no-hopers, but honestly I reckon you'd be mad to go near any of those with the possible exception of kitchen hand.

At the end of the day, picking fruit teaches you no useful skills, gets you no useful contacts, leads nowhere and does nothing except convert your time and muscle power into cash.

If you want to get ahead far better to take the dole and study something useful and technical, or if that's not your plan, take the dole and spend the 7.5 hours a day cold-applying for entry level positions in your industry of choice.

If you pick fruit for six months, those are six months you could have used to acquire a useful skill or generate leads in a field that interests you.

The reason those jobs aren't filled aren't because people are lazy, they're because objectively you have to be a ******* idiot or desperate to take them.

A lot of places consider being unemployed a negative when you apply for a job and picking fruit would look better on your cv.
Plenty of professional long term students out there.