Change in VirtualSports' Captaincy System

• Thread starter Thread starter Stubz

you guess?, just because the majority of the top do, does not make it impossible for someone with out ablett to do it, it will surely be harder having to pick a captain to score about ablett's score every week but it is sure possible.

Yes I guess, can't be bothered in doing research and double checking all of those top 300 SC coaches. ( sorry sparts the devil made me say it :eek:)

Since I've tried to have a sensible expression of views with and about " perma captain topic" very interested to hear adam what your thoughts are.

I mean take Cox this week as an example:- should have had a huge week and against 2 very inexperience ruckmen at punt rd and scores a miserly 93.......I would have been toast this week due to the fact I could not have chosen my preferred captain (ablett)
As Sparts has mentioned earlier there are too permitations rules etc to change the set up due to the fact Ablett is the son of the elephantman and is a freak as his father.
I am interested in hear if Sparts, Adam etc has little gaz in their teams. And have any of your thought at what asking price will he be next year??

what was at the start of season $712000?? I cant remember.... but I paid that, I took that risk and under the rules as such I have the right to play him as capitano as many times as I wish:thumbsu::)

Sparts I use enough time as it is on trying to find that bargain basement rookie that earns the extra dollars during the year so I can buy that extra premium at the later stages of the comp. If they introduced this rule of yours, my missus will divorce me:eek:

Remember what is most important here fella's! Stoomphing ya mates in your private leagues...... thats why/how fantasy footy started in the first place.

ozzyoslo has now left the building

I got Ablett in a couple of weeks ago and have decided to just perma-captain like 50% of the SC community are doing. If he continues his form of 151 PPG, than he should be priced at around $813,286 next year if this years magic number of 5386 is anything to go by.

i wonder how many get him next year if he is the price you say he will be.

I don't know if anyone has brought this up yet but what will happen when Gold Coast is in and we have the bye for a season or two? Theres gonna be weeks Geelong aren't playing, which will mean no captain Ablett. How will it work if you are playing short because of this? Extra players on the bench? Use an average of the players on the field?

12 people in the top 100 coaches after round 11 (so some might've traded Gazza in this week) do not have Ablett. That shows that while it is very hard, it is possible to do well without Ablett. It just takes a bit of knowledge.:)

But it would be very interesting to see how many of these 12 people in the top 100 traded him out when GAJ first did his groin injury.

I have my suspicions that perhaps a fair few of these people would have been scared off by thinking Geelong were going to prolong and overstate the 2-3 week groin injury prediction like they did with one Bradley Ottens.

it's not always going to be this way though.

if you think perma captaining of ablett is bad, you should play fantasy premierleague. for probably 2-2.5 years, ronaldo has been everyone's captain every week

it's not always going to be this way though.

if you think perma captaining of ablett is bad, you should play fantasy premierleague. for probably 2-2.5 years, ronaldo has been everyone's captain every week
yep i remember that, i never got him :( but i still won my league, ronaldo can't do that anymore, well in EPL fantasy at least :P

But it would be very interesting to see how many of these 12 people in the top 100 traded him out when GAJ first did his groin injury.

I have my suspicions that perhaps a fair few of these people would have been scared off by thinking Geelong were going to prolong and overstate the 2-3 week groin injury prediction like they did with one Bradley Ottens.

38th overall. Don't have him. Never had him. Wishing i did have him which will occur next week but hoping he bombs or gets injured.

Thanks PK, So you will try to get him in yeah ?? Calculating this how did/do you manage this?? how trades etc. very interested in hearing this as many people earlier speculated the efforts in getting gazza into the team after initially deciding not to purchase him .
I really would appreciate your input on this as factual !!

Thanks PK, So you will try to get him in yeah ?? Calculating this how did/do you manage this?? how trades etc. very interested in hearing this as many people earlier speculated the efforts in getting gazza into the team after initially deciding not to purchase him .
I really would appreciate your input on this as factual !!

Here's what happened...

Nearly all of the pre-season i had gary in my team. I helped my dad with his team and told him that you need gary because you don't have to worry about choosing a captain you can just lock him in week in week out.

But as you do with supercoach you play around with your team and as it turned out i found a really good combination which had all those bargains like higgins skippy etc aswell as all the players who i saw as value like judd dal santo selwood etc, but this was at the expense of ablett.

It was extremely balanced and i was happier with this team than the team that i had originally come up that had gary. Of course i would've wanted gary in there but it was unworkable without sacrificing this balanced team which i was finding it very hard to budge on.

This coupled with the advice from a mate, "hawthorn will shut him down, he will pull a 60 and his price will free fall". I don't know what i was thinking. It was pre-season and i definitely wasn't in a football state of mind. Somehow just because he said it i thought it would happen lol.

But i think it was more based on the fact i really liked my team and then his comments were the decision breaker.

So then it comes to this point in the season where he has averaged 150. I believe he has essentially cost me high top 10. My captain choices are rarely appropriate ones and atm i sit 500 points from 1st. If gary outscores my captain choice by 25 points for 10 rounds, there is the 500 points. But realistically he has been out scoring my captain by 30 to 40.

To stop the rot, it takes three trades to get gary in, one more than it usually would by downgrading a cash cow and upgrading to a premium. It would've only taken 2 but my hand was forced with higgins as any smart coaches should've with a b/e of 100 as well as all the likelihood of having a long term niggling injury and coming back and losing value. This the same week chapman tipped to be a late withdrawl and with no cover, i went higgins to leon via rich. Originally it was to be rich to ablett via higgins but the circumstances didn't allow for this.

So for the trade, I had about 150k in spare cash which turned into 300k last week when i went mitch brown to ballantyne. This leaves a suban to ??? next week to free up the cash and some left over to go collins to ablett. Unless ablett pulls a 40 then i can simply do collins to ablett. But if ablett does pull a 40 that will most likely be because of an injury which wouldn't require me to trade him in anyway lol.

So that is my spiel.

Yeah but see mate your an outlier... :p

BTW have you done the maths to see were you would have been ranked if you had? I've got a funny feeling you could of been first.

If you read his post above, you'd see that his team would have been completely different if he'd put Ablett in. With the power of ifs PK might very well be doing better if he had Ablett. But he could also, and perhaps more likely, not have been scoring nearly as well without his more balanced midfield, particularly factoring in those two weeks where Gary was sitting on the bench.

If anything I reckon it was those two weeks where he managed to get the jump on everyone else. He had the advantage over that time.

You sound like you're going to have a very scary team when you do get in Ablett in, PK. Good luck.

If you read his post above, you'd see that his team would have been completely different if he'd put Ablett in. With the power of ifs PK might very well be doing better if he had Ablett. But he could also, and perhaps more likely, not have been scoring nearly as well without his more balanced midfield, particularly factoring in those two weeks where Gary was sitting on the bench.

If anything I reckon it was those two weeks where he managed to get the jump on everyone else. He had the advantage over that time.

You sound like you're going to have a very scary team when you do get in Ablett in, PK. Good luck.
Ooops somehow I missed PK's post above, perhaps I forgot there were 3 pages to this thread...

A few points:

1. If Ablett wasn't dominating like he is at the mo, this would be a non-issue because you can throw a blanket over the next tier of players and therefore everyone would need to factor in conditions, opposition etc. Changing the captaincy is an Ablett-focussed remedy which might not be needed next year or for many future years. There is something definitely unsound about making system changes based on the performance of one player. I say leave it, enjoy the ride while it lasts. The fact that Ablett costs a mint - both at the outset and now - is enough of a limitation on automatically choosing him (and then making him perma-captain). There are many players who didn't have Ablett from the start who are doing well because they were able to jack up other parts of the ground significantly.

2. All that being said, I think the 1.5X vice-captain is a good idea. It gives an additional layer of variation and skill to the system which is not a bad thing. I think it's too simplistic to say that the VC would be automatic. There is no one in the comp who would be automatic at the mo. Montagna is statistically second best but, for example, wouldn't necessarily be chosen ahead of Cox, Judd etc who were playing juicy opposition. Additionally, SC players love scoring and love their players doing that and the VC 1.5X system would enhance that. An interesting side consideration is what would happen if the VC or C didn't play. Is there a VCC? Or a VCCC? Or would it just be the Emergency's normal score?

PS - Nice cameo on YSCC this week 30 Spartans! Mid-season review good idea and lessened the pain of the split round.

Good thread guys although has taken all afternoon to wade through.

I appreciate the kind words at the end of your post mate, I really do! :thumbsu:

I acknowledge that I was pretty amateurish in comparison to the other boys, but yeah it was the first time I had done something like that. There was a fair bit of editing and a fair few take twos etc. followed with profanities when I stuffed up. But yeah hopefully you got something out of my crazed rambling. :D

BTW how are you going in SC this year mate? You sound like you know what your talking in regards to how the game works and I am presuming from your knowledge your around the top 1K mark?

Cheers once against buddy and I appreciate your thoughts in regards to the podcast and GAJ as a perma-captain!

2191 in SC at the moment (team Next.). I cracked the weekly top 10 in round 3 (score 2670) but a bit of bad luck and some injuries - and I appreciate I'm not alone at all in that regard - have meant that I've experienced a steady decline since those dizzying heights!! Hoping for top 1K-ish by the end of the season.

Yeah ah oh well not much you can do about those dang injuries, but such is SC life! A score of 2670 is absolutely massive mate, you mustn't of been far off the $1K, what was your weekly ranking, I'm guessing top 10?

BTW, I noticed you location is Toorak, so you don't really need the $1K/$20K anyways, I'm guessing either you or you parents are kind of rich? :D

So frustrating :(! just lost 80 points because of my poor captain choice. Didn't pull the trigger on Riewoldt when I heard Thornton was out as the last time I changed captain at last minute, Leon pulled a 60. As it turned out Riewoldt 132 Goodes 92. Would be 2014 with 5 to come Enright, Broughton, Selwood, Chapman and Pavlich. But instead am 1934. Its so annoying that those with Ablett don't have to deal with this!!! He will pull 150 and my superior team will be brought back to the field.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_4bLNM0axE

If I'm reading this correctly, you have Riewoldt and Goodes. If this is the case, then your captaincy choice only cost you 40 points not 80.

e.g. Goodes 92x2, Riewoldt 132 = 316
Riewoldt 132x2, Goodes 92 = 356

The points you potentially miss out on are only the difference between the 2 players actual scores. (Riewoldt 132- Goodes 92 = 40). Just wanted to clear up any confusion as many people have got this wrong over the years.

Agree with POTP, you've only lost 40pts for your captain choice, but you lose a hell lot more because you don't have Ablett as a player (rather as a captain)

People such as myself who have Ablett, but sometimes pick non-Ablett captains lose the difference between my captain and Ablett (because I also have Ablett).

But if you don't have Ablett then you lose the difference between Ablett and your captain and the difference between Ablett's score and your replacement player whether it be Rich, Pendles, Goodes, Judd or whoever... Therefore, it's a double whammy if Ablett runs a muck and your other player scores low...

If I'm reading this correctly, you have Riewoldt and Goodes. If this is the case, then your captaincy choice only cost you 40 points not 80.

e.g. Goodes 92x2, Riewoldt 132 = 316
Riewoldt 132x2, Goodes 92 = 356

The points you potentially miss out on are only the difference between the 2 players actual scores. (Riewoldt 132- Goodes 92 = 40). Just wanted to clear up any confusion as many people have got this wrong over the years.

:o wow that is very true! I never realised that before and dont know how i never did. I was just looking at it at a Riewoldt 264 Goodes 184 perspective. Funnily enough that actually makes me feel better. All year I had been ruing (or in my case rooing...pun intended) my poor captaincy choices when really they have only cost me half as many points as what i thought.