Changes for Round 2 v Brisbane

WeAreHatedAgain

Assuming Grigg returns and perhaps Walker......who are the unlucky ones?

Obviously Simpson if he is suspended

If not who do we leave out?

Does Russell survive?

Do we have a matchup for Joseph?

Is there anyone else who misses out due to team balance?

Seriously it is going to be mighty tough to drop someone after that performance. I presume Walker and Grigg will be the two names they'd look to include. Personally Chris Johnson would be one of the unlucky ones. Struggled with the defensive side of his game, Morton gave him a bath in the first quarter. Maybe Russell, Garlett (though he adds defensive pressure which is gold these days) and Joseph (though he was very good on Brown in the second half).

Tough decisions for the selection panel this week. I'd maybe make the one change, if that. After the way the boys put in no one deserves the chop.

Seriously it is going to be mighty tough to drop someone after that performance. I presume Walker and Grigg will be the two names they'd look to include. Personally Chris Johnson would be one of the unlucky ones. Struggled with the defensive side of his game, Morton gave him a bath in the first quarter. Maybe Russell, Garlett (though he adds defensive pressure which is gold these days) and Joseph (though he was very good on Brown in the second half).

Tough decisions for the selection panel this week. I'd maybe make the one change, if that. After the way the boys put in no one deserves the chop.

Not a chance, he may have got a few kicked on him early, after his spell on the bench he came back as was great.

He sweeping and clearing and delivery was great, something we need.

After a good performance it will be hard, it will depend on matchups.

Bradshaw and Brown will be difficult for us, much more than Morton, Schultz, Riewoldt and Brown.

Maybe it was just me, but I didn't think Houlihan played that well, but like I said maybe it was just me.

It was just you mate, Hoops was very good, and FMD, he laid 6 tackles as well. Prior to last night I eckon he had only 3 for his entire career. Can seriously use the footy, that pass to Betts in the square was sublime!

Just the one change for mine, Grigg in for Joseph. Tex is going to have to wait his turn I reckon.

BTW, Joseph did absolutely nothing wrong, but Grigg must come in. He will get his chances.

Really tough isn't it, I think Russel was good last night and did enough to keep his spot, thinking joseph will be in and out of the side due to match ups and what not, Garlett may be rested cause of the body every now and then, but seriously after last night you wouldn't wanna drop anyone! it's exciting to know we still have grigga carrazzo walker and stevens to come back into the side :)

Bradshaw and Brown will be difficult for us, much more than Morton, Schultz, Riewoldt and Brown.

Any chance Carlos will get a call up to take Brown?

Bower was very good on Bradshaw in round 21 but Brown toweled up Waitey for three quarters until T-Bird stifled his influence in the fourth.

We have Grigg, Stevens and Walker at least to come back in.

Stevo is still suspended.

would hate to be in the match committee thats for sure.

any decision they make after that performance is gonna suck arse.

IMO, walker and grigg just have to come in if they are fit! so i agree with garlett and joseph out, but not really sure why them, but cant pick anyone else. just unlucky really.

Hey guys, great win last night, I aht to admit it but it is nice to see a bit of a swagger coming from princess park again! (oooohhh that hurt!)

I think that Joseph will probably stay, with Brisbane having a few players that probably need a hard tag, namely Black, Power and Johnston, there might be room for Jospeh and Grigg.

I think Russell and Johnson might be on the way out?

Russell turned the ball over way too many times and didn't do much. He will be out for Walker straight up.

Johnson won't be going anywhere, anyone who says he got towled up needs to take another look at the 3rd quarter.

Grigg may come in for Joseph, but I don't rate Grigg all that much so it will be a call for the match committee I guess.

Fisher in for Cloke, he will get a week at least for his bump on Cousins.

Yarran will come in for Garlett eventually, when he is fit enough to play a full game.

The big question is who goes for Stevo next week?

What a great problem to be debating. How to get proven talent like Walker and Grigg in this week, and Stevo the week after. All 3 are in our best 22 for mine. And there is also Fish to consider. But unluckily for him he is gonna have to show something at the Bullants to get a spot I think. But I struggle to think of who would make way. I agree that Garlett may start to lose fitness (tire) as the season wears on and he may wax with Yarran for a while to ease Yarran in and keep them both tip top all season and I beleive we need the crumbers, it really changes up our options and makes it harder for opposition backs to predict our ball movement into the forward 50 and also ups the defensive pressure, we had something like 20 takles in our forward 50 and many goals as a result of the real and implied pressure we exerted.

I think Wiggo will hold Fish out for now, they play a similar role. Wiggs played a blinder so we can forgive him missing from point blank directly in front, but it was a blot on an otherwise unblemished night for him (it was also a shame he did not convert after the speckie he took over Richo). Grigga would probably take AJ's place you would think. But who does Tex replace, he and Garlett play different roles. My first thought is Russell, but Russell plays a negating HFF on oppositions running half backs so again not really what Tex brings. This for me is the big problem facing the MC. How to fit these 3 in now. Maybe the tribunal will make the job a little easier with Simmo facing but the impact was low and not malicious and I would think with Simmo's record he may only get 97 points with an early plea and not miss.

It might be easier to start by examining who is a definite starter next week, and first on my list after the usual big names (Gibbs, Judd, Murph, Fev, Kruize) is Hadley. He was great last night, hard at it, I reckon he must of layed a dozen tackles.

Like I said, what a problem to have.

I reckon Russell will stay, he had a really good game on Johnston last time we played them. I think Garlett might have to make way for Walker.

Russell turned the ball over way too many times and didn't do much. He will be out for Walker straight up.

Johnson won't be going anywhere, anyone who says he got towled up needs to take another look at the 3rd quarter.

Grigg may come in for Joseph, but I don't rate Grigg all that much so it will be a call for the match committee I guess.

Yarran will come in for Garlett eventually, when he is fit enough to play a full game.

I doubt he will even get cited. It was a fair side to side bump, and not behind the play as the comentators said on TV. More than 5m off the ball perhaps but I cant see them rubbing someone out for that. There is already a fan backlash against them trying to remove the bump from the game, there was no head contact, just becasue a player falls to the ground from a bump does not make it reportable.

And Stevo is out another week, for the hit against Freo.

I doubt he will even get cited. It was a fair side to side bump, and not behind the play as the comentators said on TV. More than 5m off the ball perhaps but I cant see them rubbing someone out for that. There is already a fan backlash against them trying to remove the bump from the game, there was no head contact, just becasue a player falls to the ground from a bump does not make it reportable.

And Stevo is out another week, for the hit against Freo.

I know stevo is still out, but next week someone has to miss out for him.

I am pretty sure someone got done last year for running straight at a player at a throw in and hitting him cleanly about 8-9m off the ball. He will go, no doubt in my mind.

Someone has to go for Carazzo eventually.

Another Russel hater, i think it's clear after last year that the match comittee who know a little something about football want him in the side. Plays a great team game and was great last night! Grigga is a gun and had a massive pre-season runs hard and would be stoked to have him back in the side. Fisher looks to be down and there would be a few i would have ahead of him at the moment. Cloke's bump wont even get looked out! I agree on Yarran though!

Some boys are going to be very unlucky at the selection table for next week's game.

I'd only make the 1 change, that being Grigg coming in. Who goes out for him is the big question. If Simpson is suspended then it is a no brainer that Grigg come in for him, but if Simmo is free to play then we have some headaches.

Unfortunately, the leading contender to be dropped would be AJ. Even though Brown was woeful to say the least last night, I thought AJ did a very sound job on him. AJ is right down the lower end of our 22 last night and whilst he played well, didn't do enough to push his way away from the bottom of the 22, so I think he'll be first to go.

Even if he does he can go back to the Bullants full of confidence after a good performance, knowing fully that if he puts some really solid contributions in the Ants, he'll be back in the senior side.

That's the only change I would make. Walker has to push his way into the side through the Bullants so wait and see how he goes.

Another Russel hater, i think it's clear after last year that the match comittee who know a little something about football want him in the side. Plays a great team game and was great last night! Grigga is a gun and had a massive pre-season runs hard and would be stoked to have him back in the side. Fisher looks to be down and there would be a few i would have ahead of him at the moment. Cloke's bump wont even get looked out! I agree on Yarran though!

Agree that fisher is down, but as a replacement for cloke he is about all there is. With waite probably going backline we need another tall forward. If cloke doesn't get done, then fish won't play.

Russell was horrible, get over it. This match committee you speak of that decided he should play needs to decide between him and Walker, and will it make a difference anyway with Stevens to probably take that spot the very next week.

surely u wouldnt get rid of joseph after last nights game killed brown and got a bit of the footy himself,

for mine you would have to drop garlett and russell garlett had 10 disposals but only 40% effective and russell just didnt stand out

but i guess depends on how simpson goes at tribunal to but i didnt think there was much in it

Bower will go for Grigg
Russell will go for Walker
and maybe Jacobs will go Hampson