Channel 9 coverage

Did we really need to miss ten minutes of the first quarter, including the first 3 goals, of today's Brisbane v Sydney game for the "breaking news" from Beaconsfield that the miners still hadn't been rescued??

I'm less irate about the interruption during the third quarter during which they announced the death of Richard Carleton because at least something had actually happened.

Good riddance to Channel 9 in 2007

Ert said:
Did we really need to miss ten minutes of the first quarter, including the first 3 goals, of today's Brisbane v Sydney game for the "breaking news" from Beaconsfield that the miners still hadn't been rescued??

I'm less irate about the interruption during the third quarter during which they announced the death of Richard Carleton because at least something had actually happened.

You are a genuine "Turkey" ERT.

Ert said:

Arseh0le

The endless loss of audio, mainly during the last quaters is what :D:D:D:Des me off about channel 9, anyone else find this, or is it just through the WIN tv relay?

Ert said:

thats a disgracefuyl post

If there was actually something happening I wouldn't have a problem with them cutting away from the game - but there was NOTHING new to report - was it really necessary??

Ert said:
If there was actually something happening I wouldn't have a problem with them cutting away from the game - but there was NOTHING new to report - was it really necessary??

100% spot on.

I wouldn't have been annoyed if there was actual major news being reported. The press conference for the first cross revealed nothing that we didn't already know from the segment 10 minutes earlier. The cross to announce Carleton's death simply wasn't necessary - a scroll bar followed by a cross to Munro after the next goal would have been more than adequate (and is all that happens under normal circumstances).

Ert said:

Do you have any care for the courageous miners or does the world revolve around footy?

Simple thing is, people want to know more than just who won a footy match. There is footy, and then there is people's lives.

Put things in perspective.

The Carleton one I can understand - that's was pretty big news and especially important to his colleagues at Channel 9 - but the first press conference where the mine manager told us nothing he hadn't been telling us for the last week was completely unnecessary

CharlieG said:
100% spot on.

I wouldn't have been annoyed if there was actual major news being reported. The press conference for the first cross revealed nothing that we didn't already know from the segment 10 minutes earlier. The cross to announce Carleton's death simply wasn't necessary - a scroll bar followed by a cross to Munro after the next goal would have been more than adequate (and is all that happens under normal circumstances).

It was a press conference, it was live, they didnt know what news they were going to get, for all they knew, there may have been good news.

Bad taste guys.

Richo83 said:
Do you have any care for the courageous miners or does the world revolve around footy?

Simple thing is, people want to know more than just who won a footy match. There is footy, and then there is people's lives.

If they were actually coming out of the mine, then I would've had no problem with Channel 9 dropping the entire rest of the match to go live to the mine.

I hope they get out and are welll and healthy - but I think the blanket media coverage is going a bit over the top

You will always get this sort of "on the spot" type of stuff.

The thing that annoys me on a footy related issue, is that they, (nien) show Bris V Syd at 1PM & the Blues V Pie Game at 4pm in Tassie. Shag loads of Pie & blue fans in Tassie wanting to see the "blockbuster" only see a couple of poorly (Tassie wise) supported clubs...

fevola25 said:
It was a press conference, it was live, they didnt know what news they were going to get, for all they knew, there may have been good news.

It was very clear in the first minute that the mine manager had no news that contradicted Nine's report 10 minutes earlier.

Bad taste guys.

Meh. As Ert said, I wouldn't have had a problem with them cutting to the miners being brought out, if that had happened. But it wasn't major news - it was a press conference confirming the latest reports, and that was all.

As for Carleton's death - well, as sad as it was for his family (incidentally, they were very quick to announce his death - hopefully none of his friends or family heard of his death when watching the footy), the news wasn't that big. You cross from live broadcasts for terrorist attacks, government resignations and so on. As I said above, they could have easily scrolled the news along the bottom of the screen and then cut to Munro at the next goal.

It's not an AFL thing either, they do it every summer with the cricket. They are simply an organisation that has no respect for it's viewers. I'm sure NRL supporters agree given they show precisely zero NRL games live.

It will be a pleasure to see them broadcast AFL no more.

Richo83 said:

My concern is not that they cut away from the footy, because as you said life does not revolve around it. My concern is why do we need a saturation coverage and media circus of this event?

I've got to agree. When they cut to it, Munro said they had some grave news. My heart was in my mouth. He then says that progress was very slow....OK....that's bad but not really news...then they persisted with 10 minutes of a 'no news' conference. Bloody hell!

Last Sunday was the same. 30-40mins of no news live from Beaconsfield during CSI. One journo asked a copper or ambo (can't recall which) if they would have any more news before 11pm?!? ie: Will you have something for our last news bulletin or should I rack off back to the hotel?

The real disgrace is the networks desperation to extract content from the situation. They have their people on the ground and want a return on their investment (Where's the ROI?!?!?).

neither interruption was necessary.

we all knew there would be no further developments in Beaconsfield today.

as for Richard Carleton, there was absolutely NO need to interrupt the game. the end of the quarter would have been good enough.

so every time someone dies, there's a car accident, the Americans kill another innocent in Iraq, the world should stop.

I don't see the 6 o'clock news interrupted at 6:05 to say that Shane Warne took a hat-trick. It can wait till the sports section 15 minutes later.

At least it wasn't as bad as the Stuart Diver rescue when the crossed during the game (another Swans one) to the "immininent" rescue and stayed there, with nothing at all visibly happening, and nothing new to say or show, for over four hours till he was eventually extricated. Needless to say the footy was well and truly over. They could have shown the whole game before crossing and not missed anything that mattered.

Disgrace. Loved it when they had a little(It was actually huge) box appear during Swordfish of a camera on top of the mine saying 5 minutes til update. C'mon nothing is happening and if thats the case no-one cares.

Well yes - I was going to mention that too....

berry7oh.jpg

The whole coverage of the Beaconsfield miners has been completely over the top. And Richard Carleton's death, though sad for his family and friends, is not news. He was a person who reported the news, and is not the news himself. I wonder if Richard Carleton's death would have rated a mention if there had been no camera's around? Even Channel's 7 and 10 were carrying it as the second story in their bulletins.

Channel Nine's need to create artificial personalites is well known, and largely recognised for the falsehood it is. Unfortunately, Channel 7 seems to be heading down the same path - and sadly with good results from their current affairs ratings.

As for this being a sad and tasteless topic, it should be noted that absolutely nothing was happening. Trying to create a news story out of nothing must be hard enough, doing it live just makes you look silly.

i hated it, im with ert and charlieG if they were coming out of the mine i wouldve loved it, but it was just crossing over to announce nothing we already knew, it was annoying as hell as i wanted to watch the football plus mike munro is an idiot..

Why not just use a scrolling news bar at the bottom of the screen? That is what 10 did with the miner saga they didn't interupt any programming. Well none that I am aware of.

Don't think it will get any better at 7 because they would have done the exact same thing. Both are pathetic and will do anything to plug there own news shows any chance they get just for the sake of ratings.

I didn't watch the game but kept tabs on it while it was on. Everytime I seemed to turn it over I saw Mike Munro. I would have been livid if it was a Bulldogs game.