Chat with Ablett Senior

Liverpool FC,
Guys i have to just tell everyone that i have just been on the phone to the great man Gary Ablett Senior. No Lie.
My Wifes brother is in QLD for a wedding and is in an Irish Pub and him and 3 other mates have been having a beer with Gary. Gazza is up there to see Nathan play and also catch up with a mate who is singing at this Irish pub.

My wife handed me the mobile phone and her bro said have a chat to gazza. At the end of the conversation Gary said hope to meet ya some time.

I said i would love to??

Re: Yablettttttttttttt

Ablett was mates with my neighbour when I was a kid. One day when he was there I went around and had a kick of the footy with him. He kicked a 10m torp every time and always hit me on the chest. I was a bit disappointed when he said that'll do and sent me to go have a kick with his two sons, Gary Jnr and Nath, back at my place. Looking back it was a pretty amazing experience although I didn't fully appreciate it at the time.

On a side note, Gary Jnr owes me a meal after helping himself to the food in our fridge and pantry.

Re: Yablettttttttttttt

Great story. My brother in Law has just ramg me again to say he is in a shout with Gary and they are heading out once the pub closes. He is more excited then me and he barracks for Essendon.

What a great omen for Saturday night.

I remember when I was younger (around 4ish), walking through a shopping centre in Geelong, dont know which one, with the old man, and Gazza was there. Said G'day, shook hands, he ruffled my hair, and mucked around with me a bit. I was in awe. Will never ever forget it

Many years ago after a game at Geelong when we beat WCE by 8goals, and The Great Man kicked 8, a good mate of mine, very conservative, God -fearing Accountant, about 40yo, got to shake Gaz snr's hand and walked out in absolute awe, and said he wasn't going to wash that hand for a week. Such was/is the aura of the man. I think it was the game Gaz nearly killed Mitchell White, and may have got rid of Worsfold too. Fantastic game.

Ablett snr is a great guy! Met him one day after a VFL game at Skilled Stadium in '06. Thought he would be shy and really quiet, but he was really nice - was happy to chat to everyone, sign autographs and have pictures taken. He also asked everyone what their name was and how they were. And he said "God bless" to us all, which was a bit weird, but each to their own!

We also saw him at Safeway once, poor guy had everyone staring and whispering. My Collingwood-supporting boyfriend nearly creamed himself. :eek:

I'll always remember when I was in Year 9, and our school was playing Chanel in a Yr 9 footy game, and Gary Ablett snr. rocked up to watch. He happily signed autographs and even went into the huddle at 3/4 time to give a few pointers.

I also remember once he had a sparring session with Lester Ellis at Neville Bruns' sports store in Market Square. He gave Lester a fair pasting too, which I suppose was to be expected, considering he was about three weight divisions higher than what Lester would be, and Lester had a fight later that week IIRC.

Ablett snr is a great guy! Met him one day after a VFL game at Skilled Stadium in '06. Thought he would be shy and really quiet, but he was really nice - was happy to chat to everyone, sign autographs and have pictures taken. He also asked everyone what their name was and how they were. And he said "God bless" to us all, which was a bit weird, but each to their own!

We also saw him at Safeway once, poor guy had everyone staring and whispering. My Collingwood-supporting boyfriend nearly creamed himself. :eek:

"Attention Didak"

"Paging Didak"

Many years ago after a game at Geelong when we beat WCE by 8goals, and The Great Man kicked 8, a good mate of mine, very conservative, God -fearing Accountant, about 40yo, got to shake Gaz snr's hand and walked out in absolute awe, and said he wasn't going to wash that hand for a week. Such was/is the aura of the man. I think it was the game Gaz nearly killed Mitchell White, and may have got rid of Worsfold too. Fantastic game.

No, Geelong lost the Worsfold/White game with Senior kicking 4.

So it was either of these two:

R13 1995 Geelong won by 52 and Gary kicked 8

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1995/091819950701.html

OR

R19 1996 Geelong won by 45 and Gary kicked 7

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1996/091819960810.html

I guess if you're certain about the 8 goals being kicked by Gary then it was the 1995 game but the winning margin you suggested leans more toward it being the 1996 game.

IIRC the 1995 game was played in pretty shitty conditions and the 1996 game was played on a sunny day. :)

Does that help you remember?

I've met him a couple of times- even discssed the Bible with him. He's a nice man who puts his trousers on just like the rest of us.

No, Geelong lost the Worsfold/White game with Senior kicking 4.

So it was either of these two:

R13 1995 Geelong won by 52 and Gary kicked 8

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1995/091819950701.html

OR

R19 1996 Geelong won by 45 and Gary kicked 7

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1996/091819960810.html

I guess if you're certain about the 8 goals being kicked by Gary then it was the 1995 game but the winning margin you suggested leans more toward it being the 1996 game.

IIRC the 1995 game was played in pretty shitty conditions and the 1996 game was played on a sunny day. :)

Does that help you remember?

maybe it's like the fish you caught, after some time it gets bigger, as does the winning margin !

I've met him a couple of times- even discssed the Bible with him. He's a nice man who puts his trousers on just like the rest of us.

At the end of the day, that's all he is, and it's partly because of Geelong fans' image of him as superhuman that his downfall was so severe. People built him up to be something that he wasn't, and a small town country man who enjoyed hunting pigs and playing football was never going to be able to live up to such high expectations. It's the case with a lot of footballers.

Best book I've ever read about Ablett that talks about him as just an ordinary good natured family man rather than as some sort of god is:
Playing God: The Rise and Fall of Gary Ablett
By Garry Linnell
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2003/07/18/1058035187106.html

A guy i went to school with has a photo of Gary Ablett snr, John Barnes and himself sitting on a seat his dad built and painted Geelong colours.
Sadly i was at school that day and missed meeting them :( i think from memory john longmire came up with them too.

I have known the great man for many years...Played many games of pool over a few beers with him at Waurn Ponds Pub and even had the pleasure of him hitting me laces out at footy training on a few occasions....( He trained a few times with one of local clubs in a pre season after he retired...Not hard to work out which one if you think about it )..

Still to this day he has a massive aura around him anywhere he goes....Ohhhh and another thing.....I don't even barrack for Cats....That says something also...!!!!