Son_Of_God29

Borussia Dortmund
For any members of the Geelong Cheersquad who are Bigfooty members this weekend it is very important that you get loud and engage the thousands of other Geelong supporters around you it is my opinion that the Cheersquad this year at Simmonds stadium have been very quiet in the Gary Ablett Terrace and do not seem to Engage other supporters enough in Cheering etc at times this year the Northern End of the ground has had the atmosphere of a Funeral. Its been so quiet you could here a pin drop at times, Maybe we have just become complacent with the continued success and beating sides at KP by 10+ goals each game

This weekend is different and should be treated as a home final we are playing a top two side at our home ground in front of our fans and should make it as loud and as uncomfortable for the Swans as possible......Our guys need you more than ever to create a great atmosphere and help them get over the line, if you lead the crowd, Standing room included the atmoshepe at KP on Saturday will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up.

The fans will use their voices when required. Sunday was very quiet but it was a dead rubber. The previous match against Adelaide had probably the best atmosphere for a few years.

With a must win game against another team going for broke I can imagine a full house going nuts.

The fans will use their voices when required. Sunday was very quiet but it was a dead rubber. The previous match against Adelaide had probably the best atmosphere for a few years.

With a must win game against another team going for broke I can imagine a full house going nuts.

SJ thats the problem it has been dead for years....except for the Adelaide game ask the people who sit in the area most of the time the opposing Cheer Squad can be heard over our fans which should never happen with our Cheers squad so close

Yes but it needs more than the Cheer Squad to do the yelling. The standing room mob are very quiet , evenat the Adelaide game they barely raised a murmour. Mind you so is the seated crowd the loudest cheer is for the players when they leave the ground. Don't know why the experts say that this a ground that opposition teams fear. Perhaps only because for the past five years they have been beaten but for noise ,well it ain't there.

SJ thats the problem it has been dead for years....except for the Adelaide game ask the people who sit in the area most of the time the opposing Cheer Squad can be heard over our fans which should never happen with our Cheers squad so close
As I wrote earlier in the year, it's been dead for years due to:
- Winning a premiership. Other games aren't as important or exciting.
- Opposition. Generally weak/bottom eight teams.
- Opposition supporters. Generally very few. Best atmosphere comes from where both teams are supported.
- Margin. Generally large margins where the Cats haven't needed us to 'get behind them'.

But that game against Adelaide restored my faith in the Kardinia crowd. I'm excited for the atmosphere this week.

I'd love to get amongst the cheer squad that frequent the MCG in particular :D

We usually end up standing at ground level due to the better viewing and atmosphere but I love to use the voice and do my part to support the team.

Most times when I been to the footy, our supporters have been terrific and usually always very vocal. Living on the other side of Geelong...we don't visit as many home games as we should but the MCG fans are terrific.

I'm not sure who's video this is as it was posted in here not to long ago but this is brilliant :thumbsu:

Atmosphere would be a whole lot better if they actually filled it up, reckon you could fit twice as many people up there no probs. and wouldn't hurt to have a bar up there as well. Where I stand closer to the hickey stand you could drive a truck through..

No comparison but the Kop end at anfield used to stand 27000!! More people=more atmosphere, you can't help but get involved.

And those seated in front would make a good funeral crowd...passionate enough to buy membership and seat but quiet as church mice.. Go figure

Atmosphere would be a whole lot better if they actually filled it up, reckon you could fit twice as many people up there no probs. and wouldn't hurt to have a bar up there as well. Where I stand closer to the hickey stand you could drive a truck through..

No comparison but the Kop end at anfield used to stand 27000!! More people=more atmosphere, you can't help but get involved.

And those seated in front would make a good funeral crowd...passionate enough to buy membership and seat but quiet as church mice.. Go figure

I think the reason they are so quiet in those seats is because they are all transfered from the old stand and most of them think cheering loudly involves a "Golf" clap and polite round of appaulase

I'm all for the crowd getting noisy and getting behind the team, but the chant where the word 'Aussie' is replaced with whichever player's name that just kicked a goal (as in Chappy, Chappy, Chappy, Oi, Oi, Oi) is just plain embarrassing. Please stop, we are better than that, and the team deserves better than that.

Agree wholeheartedly. The Bulldogs cheersquad were ripping off that chant on Sunday too.

Having had the "pleasure" of sitting between both cheersquads this year, I can't believe how quiet our cheersquad is compared to the opposition. I remember at the Adelaide game when they got a run on in the third term and our cheersquad were basically sitting on their hands, I said something along the lines of "C'mon cheersquad, cheer" and was told that it'd look bad if we were to start a chant just after the opposition kicked a goal. :confused:

It's bizarre how often the opposition cheersquad has tried to engage our cheersquad in some banter during games (some of it good ie. vs the Giants, some of it bad, like vs Richmond), but the only people who have bitten are the "regular" fans who are sitting around the cheersquad.

Half of the cheersquad don't even bother waving flags anymore either. They just stand there with their flag stationary in the air like a bunch of stunned mullets.

Ah well. To each their own.
Tell me about it. It's like that uneducated bogan Collliiiinnnnggggwooood chant that rings around the MCG halfway through the third quarter. AFL would be improved immeasurably if we actually learnt some lyrics like soccer fans. Would make us sound as though we weren't newcomers to the English language.

Ah well. To each their own.
Tell me about it. It's like that uneducated bogan Collliiiinnnnggggwooood chant that rings around the MCG halfway through the third quarter. AFL would be improved immeasurably if we actually learnt some lyrics like soccer fans. Would make us sound as though we weren't newcomers to the English language.
Footy is too continuous for singing to ever get off the ground. Do you think soccer fans are singing as their team is about to make an attempt on goal?

Lets be honest for all their passion the cheer squad is shit. Their chants are crap and havent changed for god knows how long. I just look at them and laugh. What a joke they are. Seriously have a listen to their chants they are a disgrace.

Calm down, sunshine! It's just chanting at the football!

Lol 100% agree with this.

You should try sitting behind them.

Had to laugh on Sunday too. At one stage someone in front of the Ford Stand started a Geelong chant, and one of the two people in the cheersquad responsible for starting the chants was looking at them as if to say "How dare you start a chant without us?"

Cheer squads are just an opportunity for a bunch of nuffies to catch up and compare missing teeth.

anyone in here the Cat bloke who dresses up in blue and does the whole works and is usually front and center of the cheer squad :p

whoever you are, bloody sensational stuff!

The Guy who dresses up is the Son of a former Champion and Premiership player he bleeds blue and white and should be respected he's not like the rest of the cheer squad he actually gives a shit about the footy club

Make those guys who stand up at the back behind the goals our official cheersquad. At least some of their chants are amusing.

Shit like that (players name) oi, oi, oi chant, the Give me a G give me an E ... whats that spell, a half arsed everywhere we go chant is just embarrassing.
On the bright side I've heard st kilda chant let's go st kilda let's go. At least they don't do that(I think)