Pets chickens

• Thread starter Thread starter nicky

Well you feel bad about your Rooster yesterday Teriyakicat this is far worse. Poor little runty is about dead this morning, frail from sitting and the heat yesterday took its toll. And it's all my fault :(

Dumb, dumb, dumb should know better :( Worrying about the poor things eggs when I wasn't even thinking if it was ok itself, it was one of my favourite pets too.
:cry:
Oh no! Poor little thing!
Good luck- maybe put her in your bathroom or laundry today if you can. Dip her in water if she's hot and try and use a syringe or dropper to give her a little water perhaps mixed with a bit of honey for energy. Don't syringe too much into her or it'll go down the wrong way and that will end badly.

If you don't have those things just try dropping a bit off a spoon into her mouth. If she's feeling sick, she might not drink by herself and it sounds like she desperately needs rehydrating.

:cry:
Oh no! Poor little thing!
Good luck- maybe put her in your bathroom or laundry today if you can. Dip her in water if she's hot and try and use a syringe or dropper to give her a little water perhaps mixed with a bit of honey for energy. Don't syringe too much into her or it'll go down the wrong way and that will end badly.

If you don't have those things just try dropping a bit off a spoon into her mouth. If she's feeling sick, she might not drink by herself and it sounds like she desperately needs rehydrating.
Thanks didn't even think of a syringe, did that and put it inside but it's pretty much 100% cactus sadly. Usually I'm up at 6 at the latest so might have spotted her in trouble but couldn't sleep last night (and even checked her at 1am) but I slept right in and only noticed at 9. It was perfectly fine after Christmas when it was 43 one day, I just didn't think yesterday should have noticed it struggling when I was checking on it. Weight wise it seemed ok but there is nothing in its crop, must have also stopped eating when it warmed up.

Maybe genetically it wasn't the strongest bird either, it was born 2-3 days after its siblings and even got left behind by its mum. I had to crawl under the house and get it out myself because it couldn't climb out by itself, hence the 'runty barlow' name. Was always a funny timid little thing as a chick hiding in the bushes from the others. Although it did end up growing to a similar size as the others. Oh well :(

Thanks didn't even think of a syringe, did that and put it inside but it's pretty much 100% cactus sadly. Usually I'm up at 6 at the latest so might have spotted her in trouble but couldn't sleep last night (and even checked her at 1am) but I slept right in and only noticed at 9. It was perfectly fine after Christmas when it was 43 one day, I just didn't think yesterday should have noticed it struggling when I was checking on it. Weight wise it seemed ok but there is nothing in its crop, must have also stopped eating when it warmed up.

Maybe genetically it wasn't the strongest bird either, it was born 2-3 days after its siblings and even got left behind by its mum. I had to crawl under the house and get it out myself because it couldn't climb out by itself, hence the 'runty barlow' name. Was always a funny timid little thing as a chick hiding in the bushes from the others. Although it did end up growing to a similar size as the others. Oh well :(
That's really sad- we've had chickens that we've spent a lot of time feeding. I've had a few with sour crop and have even paid $100 + medicine to the avian vet to try and save one of the birds but was unsuccessful. One was a runt, too- a pekin baby :( My daughter loved it at first sight so we had to have it ;) (We bought chicks a few days old)
I'm really hoping that if little Barlow rests indoors for a bit and you can keep up some sort of fluids- a bit of honey will give it energy but just a weak solution- it might come good in a few days' time. Sounds like she's been much-loved and has survived a lot longer than she would've done if someone else had owned her. You've done a good job with her to get her to adulthood.

I got about 2 hours' sleep last night, too- weird night. I went to bed at about 1am, didn't sleep till after 2. Woke at about 3... couldn't sleep and watched the clock tick over to about 4.30 and listened to my sprinklers cycle through 5 stations of about 20 minutes each.... then my alarm went at 7am... somehow I fell asleep about then and woke at 7.30. Will feel it later today, I suppose :(

Best of luck with little B.

Nah little Barlow has gone to the big hen house in the sky, I'll bury it tonight. I guess it must have just got struck by the heat and then was too weak to drink or something. Lived for 3 years, could do worse for a chook I guess.

On the nest 2 eggs were rotten but the remaining 9 seem solid after 16 days.. I've thrown a rug over them for the minute, it's supposed to be 40 degrees outside atm (43 max later) but actually it's not overly hot in the cage so I feel a little better about it being all my fault killing her.

There is another fairly clucky one in the main pen. I'm tossing up, should I try and grab her and put her across in the pen now and see what she does? (mum suggested this) Or what I thought myself just wait until tonight when it's dark and set it on the eggs then as the heat of the day should be able to keep them warm enough until then anyway?

Nah little Barlow has gone to the big hen house in the sky, I'll bury it tonight. I guess it must have just got struck by the heat and then was too weak to drink or something. Lived for 3 years, could do worse for a chook I guess.

On the nest 2 eggs were rotten but the remaining 9 seem solid after 16 days.. I've thrown a rug over them for the minute, it's supposed to be 40 degrees outside atm (43 max later) but actually it's not overly hot in the cage so I feel a little better about it being all my fault killing her.

There is another fairly clucky one in the main pen. I'm tossing up, should I try and grab her and put her across in the pen now and see what she does? (mum suggested this) Or what I thought myself just wait until tonight when it's dark and set it on the eggs then as the heat of the day should be able to keep them warm enough until then anyway?
So sorry to hear that little Barlow is gone :cry: That is really sad for you- and her.

try the other clucky hen and observe her. She would protect the eggs from getting too hot, which the blanket might not.
If she kicks up a stink and plays up, perhaps then try her again tonight when she's asleep.

RIP Little Barlow :(

I think you need an incubator just to regulate temperature. You'll probably cook them by putting a blanket on. At least get yourself a thermometer so you can monitor more effectively rather than guessing.

So sorry to hear that little Barlow is gone :cry: That is really sad for you- and her.

try the other clucky hen and observe her. She would protect the eggs from getting too hot, which the blanket might not.
If she kicks up a stink and plays up, perhaps then try her again tonight when she's asleep.
A bet each way that also crossed my mind ha. I was actually keeping the banket on them to keep them warm this morning, I've taken it off now though. The eggs were quite cool and the pen isn't super warm either in the shade, seems a bit cooler with cloud cover atm but when the sun emerges this arvo it will really heat up.

I'll try and catch it now and see what happens.

edit - too quick, try again later..

hmmm.... that's disappointing... :(
Not sure what to think. I guess just wait for cooler weather now and see what happens. Are you in Perth?? I doubt we'll see proper cooler weather until March- which is a bloody long wait!! Hopefully she will remember how to lay in the next few weeks.

Yeah I'm in Perth. A lot cooler today than yesterday's stinker thankfully.

She's had a pretty hard life. She was a commercial battery hen for however long before being sold to a farm when they rotated their stock, so I have no idea how old she is.

Her previous life shows in that she lacks some of the natural instincts of the others. Eg: I line their laying boxes with a heap of newspaper and the other chooks scratch it into a comfy looking nest while on her side she just lies on it as is. She's also much more picky about which veggie scraps she'll eat than the others are, preferring the pellets.

She may just be old and knackered. She looks in good health with full feather coverage and plenty of energy though.

A bet each way that also crossed my mind ha. I was actually keeping the banket on them to keep them warm this morning, I've taken it off now though. The eggs were quite cool and the pen isn't super warm either in the shade, seems a bit cooler with cloud cover atm but when the sun emerges this arvo it will really heat up.

I'll try and catch it now and see what happens.

edit - too quick, try again later..
hahaha- lol. hadn't thought of that aspect of getting her to sit on the eggs ;) I imagine you would've looked pretty funny, stalking, then trying to jump at and catch that little bugger.

Yeah I'm in Perth. A lot cooler today than yesterday's stinker thankfully.

She's had a pretty hard life. She was a commercial battery hen for however long before being sold to a farm when they rotated their stock, so I have no idea how old she is.

Her previous life shows in that she lacks some of the natural instincts of the others. Eg: I line their laying boxes with a heap of newspaper and the other chooks scratch it into a comfy looking nest while on her side she just lies on it as is. She's also much more picky about which veggie scraps she'll eat than the others are, preferring the pellets.

She may just be old and knackered. She looks in good health with full feather coverage and plenty of energy though.
She shouldn't just suddenly stop laying though- hopefully you'll get the odd one or two starting again soon.

hahaha- lol. hadn't thought of that aspect of getting her to sit on the eggs ;) I imagine you would've looked pretty funny, stalking, then trying to jump at and catch that little bugger.
lol, nah it was actually sitting in their sleeping pen on an egg where they all lay in the corner with my old mother hen standing there looking at it as if to say would you mind moving you idiot it's hot and I want to lay an egg. It surprisingly took off before I could shut the door behind us and now the old girl is on it laying its daily egg :D I think I'll just go a swim a couple of stress relieving kilometres at the pool now and I'm sure it will be back sitting there when I get back. Might even drop past the old bloke's place and see if he has any spare sitting as a backup.

How did you go, Kram? Did you find an egg-sitter? :)

Yeah, the feisty little one I had 0/6 work late last year under the house. Put it in late arvo and it moved on to the nest at night and looks quite settled in there. There's also another young little one that's broody I could have used if the other wouldn't sit. Moved the cage into a far better spot really shaded and sheltered. Probably would have split it between them but there's only on spot for a mother.

Still can't believe how stupid I was to not realise the other was sick from the heat, sure it was shaded well most of the day but late in the arvo some sun hit the back of the metal cage for a couple of hours, would have been like an oven almost.. Why didn't I even spray the bloody thing a bit with some water :confused: After I had been just reminded about they can die from heat by your rooster :drunk: Gave one of my favourite little chooks a needless horrible death :(

IMGP2133.jpg

Anyway these 2 knuckleheads that survived Mr Fox are going well. One on right looks very rooster, left I'm guessing hen.. They must be very sick of living in a tiny wire basket, in a week or 2 I think I'll chuck them into the big pen and see how they go..

Yeah, the feisty little one I had 0/6 work late last year under the house. Put it in late arvo and it moved on to the nest at night and looks quite settled in there. There's also another young little one that's broody I could have used if the other wouldn't sit. Moved the cage into a far better spot really shaded and sheltered. Probably would have split it between them but there's only on spot for a mother.

Still can't believe how stupid I was to not realise the other was sick from the heat, sure it was shaded well most of the day but late in the arvo some sun hit the back of the metal cage for a couple of hours, would have been like an oven almost.. Why didn't I even spray the bloody thing a bit with some water :confused: After I had been just reminded about they can die from heat by your rooster :drunk: Gave one of my favourite little chooks a needless horrible death :(

IMGP2133.jpg

Anyway these 2 knuckleheads that survived Mr Fox are going well. One on right looks very rooster, left I'm guessing hen.. They must be very sick of living in a tiny wire basket, in a week or 2 I think I'll chuck them into the big pen and see how they go..
Don't beat yourself up over it, Kram. Yeah- coulda, woulda, shoulda- but there's nothing positive ever going to come out of thinking all those things. (And you know that I understand how you feel I do the same thing.) You can't focus your whole life on your chickens and thinking of what might have been. I really hope that you get a few chickens out of this lot- just to make it all worth it.

Great pic of your little babies. I agree with you- Mr Longshanks definitely looks very rooster-like. I know you aren't meant to keep chickens but I wonder if you could borrow him back from his new home, keep him for a couple of weeks to mate with some chickens, then set a brooder to work?

It's ok to mourn the death of a chicken. I just hope little Barlow didn't die in vain and some of these eggs hatch.

Those couple of young ones look good, certainly looks like you might have yourself a rooster.

There's always the sprinklers if you're worried about heat. I would set the snake sprayer up for my chicken in the heat. You know the long green thing with all the holes in it that sprays a fine mist. She didn't like to stand under it or anything but it would keep the area cool and she'd wander in and out of it occasionally once she got used to it.

Great pic of your little babies. I agree with you- Mr Longshanks definitely looks very rooster-like. I know you aren't meant to keep chickens but I wonder if you could borrow him back from his new home, keep him for a couple of weeks to mate with some chickens, then set a brooder to work?
Ha he's 99% a rooster, I'd almost bet my life on it. Left was born last and was always the smallest, unless something dramatically changes in its comb and gait that's a hen 90%. He's looked like one right from the start and who knows but the 3 other sussex I lost actually looked similar and rooster like, I was actually a very worried about ending up with 4-1, so 1-1 might end up a win in a weird way anyway.

Pekins didn't have any clue either way...

Actually the little cross breeds that I got 5/6 hens (there's a miracle lol) from last year looked that way right from the start and kept thinking nah can't be that lucky but ended up being right.

I'm going to try and keep that Roo anyway until someone complains. There used to be a quite a few around the neighbourhood until around 12 months ago.. I'll try and build a new pen in the most suitable part of the yard and maybe look at some measures to keep it more quiet, stuff like putting their perch very high near the roof I think so it can lift its head properly to crow first thing in the morning even helps. I know for a fact that the bloke over the back corner hates them, and yet has 4 dogs (you are only allowed 2) that always ****ing bark all the time. If I find out for sure it's him that ratted on people and does it to me again I'm calling the ranger and see how they like it. It's bullshit really there's always dogs running loose around my block for as long as I can remember and NOTHING seems to ever get done about it.

The old bloke I know has about 5 roos atm in town haha. I think over the years I think he's been dobbed in a few times but just does a cull and then gets them back about a year later anyway.. Surprised he's got away with the onse he has now for so long, must get along with his neighbours, he did say one bloke always complains to him semi seriously but he placates him by giving his family a heap of eggs. I'll probably give him one if I can, he generally dislikes any pure breed chicken but does actually like the sussex, he also eats them but he would try and keep on for us.

I know for a fact that the bloke over the back corner hates them, and yet has 4 dogs (you are only allowed 2) that always ****ing bark all the time. If I find out for sure it's him that ratted on people and does it to me again I'm calling the ranger and see how they like it. It's bullshit really there's always dogs running loose around my block for as long as I can remember and NOTHING seems to ever get done about it.

This is one of the worst things about country towns (not sure where you are exactly). I used to fear for my safety if I was ever riding a bike up in the Kimberley, every second street had a couple of dogs lying around outside their yard who would come after you.

I got bitten on the calf once when 3 dogs came running out of their unclosed yard at me as I rode past, ****ing hurt! I knew the owner so I rang her and she assured me it was a once off due to the dogs escaping the backyard so I left it at that, but I later heard that same dog was put down after it knocked a lady over as she was going past one day.

This is one of the worst things about country towns (not sure where you are exactly). I used to fear for my safety if I was ever riding a bike up in the Kimberley, every second street had a couple of dogs lying around outside their yard who would come after you.

I got bitten on the calf once when 3 dogs came running out of their unclosed yard at me as I rode past, ******* hurt! I knew the owner so I rang her and she assured me it was a once off due to the dogs escaping the backyard so I left it at that, but I later heard that same dog was put down after it knocked a lady over as she was going past one day.
There is german shepherd around the called Max (what is it with everyone calling dog's 'Max' :confused:) that's very intimidating, comes out into their front yard when they sit on their porch and sprints at the front fence viciously, it's well trained and never jumps over the little fence to actually confront you. But once it must have got out when they weren't there out the front, jumped over, circled us and bit us hard on the back leg. They heard me yelling and called him back straight away but it really scared me as an adult let alone if it was a poor kid.. I'll let it slide as a once off and they seem to be about the only responsible owners in that street but bloody hell. I should have told them it bit me I'd hate for it to happen again to a kid and the dog get put down.

But yeah I don't seem to remember having too many problems with dogs running loose when living in different Perth suburbs.

And lol at the posters in the Dogs v Cats thread that reckoned that they had not only never been bitten themselves, they had never even had a friend or family bitten :rolleyes: Flat out liars. Don't get me wrong I really like dogs but they cause by far the most problems by any animal in people's neighbourhoods and have the most irresponsible owners. I think that's why a lot of cat hating ****heads are around trying to shift the blame on to them for pet problems (and yes they do cause quite a few themselves) when deep down they know dogs cause so much trouble.

IMGP1957.jpg

IMGP1916.jpg

This is the little chap I had a couple of years ago after turning up at my front door as a little chick that a lot of my flock descended from, any idea what might be in him? I wonder if he's still alive ha, gave him to a lady from Kelleberrin that had just lost everything to a fox.

IMGP1957.jpg

IMGP1916.jpg

This is the little chap I had a couple of years ago after turning up at my front door as a little chick that a lot of my flock descended from, any idea what might be in him? I wonder if he's still alive ha, gave him to a lady from Kelleberrin that had just lost everything to a fox.
Not sure- looks maybe like a leghorn (just from googling similar images):
19900_brown_lrooster.jpg
504x490px-LL-29299d1d_light_brown_leghorn2_smaller.jpeg

Do these look the same shape???

Ha he's 99% a rooster, I'd almost bet my life on it. Left was born last and was always the smallest, unless something dramatically changes in its comb and gait that's a hen 90%. He's looked like one right from the start and who knows but the 3 other sussex I lost actually looked similar and rooster like, I was actually a very worried about ending up with 4-1, so 1-1 might end up a win in a weird way anyway.

Pekins didn't have any clue either way...

Actually the little cross breeds that I got 5/6 hens (there's a miracle lol) from last year looked that way right from the start and kept thinking nah can't be that lucky but ended up being right.

I'm going to try and keep that Roo anyway until someone complains. There used to be a quite a few around the neighbourhood until around 12 months ago.. I'll try and build a new pen in the most suitable part of the yard and maybe look at some measures to keep it more quiet, stuff like putting their perch very high near the roof I think so it can lift its head properly to crow first thing in the morning even helps. I know for a fact that the bloke over the back corner hates them, and yet has 4 dogs (you are only allowed 2) that always ****ing bark all the time. If I find out for sure it's him that ratted on people and does it to me again I'm calling the ranger and see how they like it. It's bullshit really there's always dogs running loose around my block for as long as I can remember and NOTHING seems to ever get done about it.
I gave one of my roos to a lady from up north of Perth. She isn't allowed roos on her property but she said the neighbours on one side of her are drug dealers and that she would dob them in if they dobbed her in and she had something over the neighbours on the other side as well ;) There's nothing worse (well, actually there probably IS) than people who flout the rules when it suits them but are the first on the phone when something happens that that they don't like. I find that where I am, there's a bit of give and take.

What also shits me is the last time the ranger came when I had a heap of cockerels was that they were already lined up for someone to take and just waiting for them to pick them up on the weekend when they came in to town. I'd actually be understanding if someone said hey they are giving me the shits, then you could just sorry they are going rather than ringing up and bloody dobbing.

I think if to try and keep one I'll just have to get rid of most the cockerels before they start crowing (well if this lot hatch anyway), even if it means being ruthless and giving them away for someone to eat. As you would well know hehe, when there is more than 1 rooster it turns into a 'competition' and they are waay more noisy.

edit- you were actually allowed to have just 1 in town up until about 3 years ago I think.

Not sure- looks maybe like a leghorn (just from googling similar images):
19900_brown_lrooster.jpg
504x490px-LL-29299d1d_light_brown_leghorn2_smaller.jpeg

Do these look the same shape???
Similar but more overall orange and bantam.

I had a leghorn like the bottom one as a kid that was a breeder's show champion but was given to us for retirement because his son was better. He said it was still good enough to probably win any junior show comp with if I wanted but never even got to breed with it as it only lived for about another year or 2, can't remember what happened to it.. Bloody hell the bantam Orpington I had hated him though, was about 2/3 his size but would charge at fence like a psycho trying to get a crack at him :D He was a good friendly rooster with people but geez ANY other roo look out! Would like to get some black/blue bantam orps again but they seem hard to find and you can't have everything on a 1/4 acre block..

That's the way Kram81 keep the rooster until you can at least get a little breeding out of it.

I don't know how anybody in a country town could complain about roosters. Go live in the city or get a big private block if you care so much about your peace and quiet.

I'm on a small block here in the city and have suggested to my landlord that maybe a couple of chickens might be ok. Some day I might wear him down. That of course requires me building a coop which is a bit of an investment. The old one I had belonged to my housemate and it had to be given away because it really didn't have anywhere to go.