Pets chickens

• Thread starter Thread starter nicky

Cats and chickens dont mix either.

Yeah sorry that's completely wrong. My cats walk right next to mother hens with tiny chickens and they don't even look twice at them. And the mother doesn't even seem to bother about them, they seem more aggressive and protective against other hens in the yard getting near them. And even if the cat tried all they would get is a massive beak up the arse.

On the other hand dogs have killed lots of my poultry over the years...

I've got 3 cats- one's a great mouser, the others not so good :(
I bait my rats and mice with a good bait that only kills the primary target- ie it doesn't hurt the dog if it eats a baited rat/mouse. Obviously you need to hide the baits where the dog can't get it- in little nooks and crannies in the sheds etc. or even up high.

I started with a red waxy bait called Tomcat II and, when the rats stopped eating that, I moved onto Racumin.

I can't find any info online regarding only killing the primary target but you can ask at the place you get your chook food from if you need confirmation. I've been using both types of bait for 2-3 years, with no problems.

Yeah sorry that's completely wrong. My cats walk right next to mother hens with tiny chickens and they don't even look twice at them. And the mother doesn't even seem to bother about them, they seem more aggressive and protective against other hens in the yard getting near them. And even if the cat tried all they would get is a massive beak up the arse.

On the other hand dogs have killed lots of my poultry over the years...
Same here. Though my golden retriever leaves the hens and chicks alone. He caught a couple of hens when he was a pup but they played "dead" and escaped. Luckily we were nearby each time. He's 6 or so now and is great with them all

Fair enough. I just presumed cats like eating all birds. Still couldn't bring myself to getting one though.

Will try the targetted poison and hopefully that wipes out the family.
Just make sure the dog can't get NEAR the poison- and double check with your Bunnings/Store person because I was told it doesn't affect a secondary animal but couldn't find anything regarding that in the sales blurb of either product.

The antidote for ratbait is Vitamin K - which the vet can administer- as the baits all seem to be anticoagulants.

You have to keep your chook food secure. Unfortunately the rats like it more than the chooks.

If this means you have to change feeders to stop spillage it must be done.

When I had rats eating the chook food it was the neighbours fault (he took responsibility because they were living on his side of the fence) and he got some traps. They were the ones where the rat could go inside and then get trapped in there.

I also moved the chicken coop over the other side of the yard and changed to a bigger feeder less prone to spillage. There was still a little seed getting dropped but because of the open floor to the coop the pigeons and other birds could come and clean up.

Growing up we had a cat who was on good terms with our chooks and used to wander into the pen to say hello whenever we went in to feed them.

Unfortunately he tried the same thing with the neighbours chooks one day and their overprotective dog killed the poor little fella because he misread the situation and thought the chooks were being attacked.

We have chooks. We got them so our little girl knew where food came from....
Eggs..... My wife gets attached to animals and we could never have meat birds.

They are great layers.

Anyway we ended up with a pair of ducks. Before we know it the female is sitting on like 15 eggs. Then 2 weeks into in something happened and the ducks got killed. I reckon our dog was sniffing around at night snd the ducks went the dog with quacking and it snapped back. She had never shown aggression towards the ducks or chooks before.

Luckily our Austrolorp hen was broody and we put the eggs under her. Being her 1st brood she stepped on a few eggs... about 5 never hatched but we got 5 ducklings.

Making a pen for them as they are free range all over our yard. We always get a few double takes when people walk past the front fence and the chooks are out front. But I'm over the shit all over our verandah so they will be more pen less free range soon.

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1414502217883.png
    uploadfromtaptalk1414502217883.png
    356.5 KB · Views: 9
We have chooks. We got them so our little girl knew where food came from....
Eggs..... My wife gets attached to animals and we could never have meat birds.

They are great layers.

Anyway we ended up with a pair of ducks. Before we know it the female is sitting on like 15 eggs. Then 2 weeks into in something happened and the ducks got killed. I reckon our dog was sniffing around at night snd the ducks went the dog with quacking and it snapped back. She had never shown aggression towards the ducks or chooks before.

Luckily our Austrolorp hen was broody and we put the eggs under her. Being her 1st brood she stepped on a few eggs... about 5 never hatched but we got 5 ducklings.

Making a pen for them as they are free range all over our yard. We always get a few double takes when people walk past the front fence and the chooks are out front. But I'm over the shit all over our verandah so they will be more pen less free range soon.
AHHH... the things we do for our kids, hey?? Those chooks and ducklings look lovely. What a shame about your ducks, though. :cry: Your theory sounds plausible. I'm sure they'd have defended their nest to the death. :( And you can't blame the dog for protecting itself from the duck, either. I bet your wife and daughter were devastated!

I am looking to swap my 16 week Austrolorp as it is a touch too loud for my suburban block.

She is an awesome layer and ploughs through her feed. Unfortunately she likes feeding at 6am.

My GF is none too impressed so if you want to save a chicken from being rotisserie'd, I am looking to swap her for another layer.

I am looking to swap my 16 week Austrolorp as it is a touch too loud for my suburban block.

She is an awesome layer and ploughs through her feed. Unfortunately she likes feeding at 6am.

My GF is none too impressed so if you want to save a chicken from being rotisserie'd, I am looking to swap her for another layer.

Austrolorps are some of the quietest chickens there are. I'm not sure you can do much better.

This one is loud. I will try and upload the video tonight.

It doesn't bother me and I am more than willing to tell the neighbours to relax, but my GF is freaking out.

It starts clucking at sunrise and wont stop until she is fed.

AHHH... the things we do for our kids, hey?? Those chooks and ducklings look lovely. What a shame about your ducks, though. :cry: Your theory sounds plausible. I'm sure they'd have defended their nest to the death. :( And you can't blame the dog for protecting itself from the duck, either. I bet your wife and daughter were devastated!
Wife was beside herself. She's in denial that the dog did it because we are close enough to where Foxes are sighted that she think a fox got in. She did blame the dog for a while though.

The little one had a confused look when the ducks were gone. We just said they were gone. She's 2 and a half now. She loves her "bokies" and "baby duckalings".

We were visiting extended family who had chooks and thought they were ducks. This was at a stage when she was just using 1 or 2 words. She said "duck, duck". I said "no not ducks, what do ducks say?" .... She says "quack".... "listen to what the chickens say"........ "bock, bock"....... Next day she says... "feed bokies?" We had to get some.

I've got a massive rat issue, keeping food out isn't an option.
You cat haters deserve all the rodents you get :p

Yeah maybe you could hang some self feeding setup higher up off the ground that they can't get into but the chooks can still reach could sort out the problem.