- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Chicago Bears, de Boer, Arsenal
A good mousing cat.

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 10
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 10
SuperCoach Rd 10 Trades - Rd 10 SuperTalk - VC/Captain ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 10 Rd 10 Fantasy Talk - Trades! - AFLF VC / Captains
A good mousing cat.
Cats and chickens dont mix either.

Same here. Though my golden retriever leaves the hens and chicks alone. He caught a couple of hens when he was a pup but they played "dead" and escaped. Luckily we were nearby each time. He's 6 or so now and is great with them allYeah sorry that's completely wrong. My cats walk right next to mother hens with tiny chickens and they don't even look twice at them. And the mother doesn't even seem to bother about them, they seem more aggressive and protective against other hens in the yard getting near them. And even if the cat tried all they would get is a massive beak up the arse.
On the other hand dogs have killed lots of my poultry over the years...
Yeah sorry that's completely wrong.
Just make sure the dog can't get NEAR the poison- and double check with your Bunnings/Store person because I was told it doesn't affect a secondary animal but couldn't find anything regarding that in the sales blurb of either product.Fair enough. I just presumed cats like eating all birds. Still couldn't bring myself to getting one though.
Will try the targetted poison and hopefully that wipes out the family.

AHHH... the things we do for our kids, hey?? Those chooks and ducklings look lovely. What a shame about your ducks, though.We have chooks. We got them so our little girl knew where food came from....
Eggs..... My wife gets attached to animals and we could never have meat birds.
They are great layers.
Anyway we ended up with a pair of ducks. Before we know it the female is sitting on like 15 eggs. Then 2 weeks into in something happened and the ducks got killed. I reckon our dog was sniffing around at night snd the ducks went the dog with quacking and it snapped back. She had never shown aggression towards the ducks or chooks before.
Luckily our Austrolorp hen was broody and we put the eggs under her. Being her 1st brood she stepped on a few eggs... about 5 never hatched but we got 5 ducklings.
Making a pen for them as they are free range all over our yard. We always get a few double takes when people walk past the front fence and the chooks are out front. But I'm over the shit all over our verandah so they will be more pen less free range soon.
And you can't blame the dog for protecting itself from the duck, either. I bet your wife and daughter were devastated!I am looking to swap my 16 week Austrolorp as it is a touch too loud for my suburban block.
She is an awesome layer and ploughs through her feed. Unfortunately she likes feeding at 6am.
My GF is none too impressed so if you want to save a chicken from being rotisserie'd, I am looking to swap her for another layer.
Cant you just permanently leave some wheat or pellets out for it?It starts clucking at sunrise and wont stop until she is fed.
Alternatively if you don't like getting up at the crack of dawn don't keep chickens.
Cant you just permanently leave some wheat or pellets out for it?
Thanks for the advice mate. I'll take that on board.
Wife was beside herself. She's in denial that the dog did it because we are close enough to where Foxes are sighted that she think a fox got in. She did blame the dog for a while though.AHHH... the things we do for our kids, hey?? Those chooks and ducklings look lovely. What a shame about your ducks, though.Your theory sounds plausible. I'm sure they'd have defended their nest to the death.
And you can't blame the dog for protecting itself from the duck, either. I bet your wife and daughter were devastated!
You cat haters deserve all the rodents you getI've got a massive rat issue, keeping food out isn't an option.