Pets chickens

• Thread starter Thread starter nicky

She's gotten comfortable in here little coop now. So comfortable she doesn't want to leave.

I scared her out the door before and as soon as I moved away she ran back in lol

Hopefully she gets over the skittishness at some point. I'm just putting it down to her young age.

2 weeks later and she has laid her first egg.

Quite small but I guess that's normal to start with.

She doesn't mind being touched as much now but still doesn't like being caught.

Had her eating out of my hand earlier but she kept flicking the seed out of my hand trying to gobble it up lol

She has settled in well but she makes a bit of noise in the mornings now. I hope it doesn't annoy the neighbours much :p

2 weeks later and she has laid her first egg.

Quite small but I guess that's normal to start with.

She doesn't mind being touched as much now but still doesn't like being caught.

Had her eating out of my hand earlier but she kept flicking the seed out of my hand trying to gobble it up lol

She has settled in well but she makes a bit of noise in the mornings now. I hope it doesn't annoy the neighbours much :p

You're talking about your girlfriend right?

Ours have decided to roost on our back step each night - leaving piles of chicken crap to be swept away each morning.

Mrs Chief takes them down the stairs to the coop each night.

Soup may be their next stop if they don't stop being so bloody fussy!

Ours have decided to roost on our back step each night - leaving piles of chicken crap to be swept away each morning.

Have a fence at my place to keep the chicken off the patio. She can jump to the top at full leap, will have to fatten her up to prevent that.

You're talking about your girlfriend right?

So you're a wiseguy huh? I'll have to keep an eye out for you.

Stop messing with the server chooks Chief, the most stable genius,. TLS deserves better

Got drunk at the pub and on the way home last year jumped the fence on grabbed a chook from the high school lol. But a month later I discovered the the thing was loaded with lice and it's introduced them into my flock. The poor thing also had the worst case of scaly leg mites that I've ever seen and has left it semi crippled.

Feel like ringing up the the principal and telling them that the bloke looking after them is an imbecile but it's a bit hard to explain how I got the chicken.. The tool has also clipped their beaks and leave the lights on all night, not as cruel as battery farms but a school should be setting an example and have proper free range. That's how my teacher had them when I went there in the 90s.

Got up this morning and couldn't work out why they were all in or hanging around the outside laundry. Look inside and inside and someone must have not closed the freezer door. The cheeky buggers have then somehow got in it to knock out a beef roast and have steadily been pecking it apart as it's been defrosting, couldn't believe it lol. They aren't the brains of the animal kingdom but they are far more intelligent than people give them credit for. Anyway the cats should be happy now with 1.5 kg of raw meat for them to knock off over the next couple of days..

My chicken is now fat and can't be bothered jumping for treats. Hard not to notice it when you pick her up.

Her clipped beak is slowly growing back. That's how she came from the farm.

She's laying jumbo eggs on and off now.

We have 4 chickens out the back. Just got some new ones that aren't even scared of the dog.

Got a broody Australorp so I'll be sliding a dozen eggs under her tonight....in 21 days she'll be one happy mummy......maybe!
Got 8 chicks out of this lot which is pretty good.

A couple of Silkies, a couple of Wyandottes and 4 Austrolorps so kids are very happy.

Crows are taking some of my chook food. Any ideas on how to get rid of them without scaring or injuring the chooks? Shooting is not an option etiher.

Call Brenton Sanderson and tell him to get them to stop

They are hardly laying at all at the moment but the odd time one does some of them must be 'egg smashers' and breaking them to eat. Any ways to discourage this? Heard it can be hard to stop when they develop the habit.

I think you have too many birds. Apparently once this starts the offending birds teach the other birds to do it and it spirals out of control.

You need to find the offenders and cull them.

My chicken hasn't been laying regularly over the summer. Once every 2-3 days and sometimes laying back to back after a few cool days in a row.

I had this tradie over to fix the back patio and he ended up leaving the side gate open. I didn't notice it at the time. Well the chicken escaped while I was out during the day. When I got home the neighbour told me he was trying to feed her to stop her running off but he was weird about picking her up. Then the dog from the next neighbour down attacked her but chased her back inside my yard.

So the chicken was back inside when I went to look for her but it was only then I discovered the side gate was open. The poor thing had a big chunk of tail feathers ripped out and she was a bit shaken up. Sure I shouldn't be letting the chicken out but there's no excuse for dogs in the street. I guess I should be thankful the dog didn't bite her head off.

Anyway her feathers are starting to regrow now but she still has a bit of a gap on her backside.

My chicken is very quiet, never pecks her own eggs, comes when she is called. She waits patiently to be let out in the morning without having to wake the whole street up. Her eggs have just gotten slighty bigger over the last couple of months too. She's about 8-10 months old.

So Kram81 found any egg eaters yet?

Nah I've always had the occasional egg getting eaten but overall it hasn't happened very often. Something I have to keep an eye on but I don't think it's a real problem. Need to set up some proper boxes with some hay in them to lay in, eggs just sitting there on the is just encouraging them to peck at them.

I've also heard now that it can be caused by chickens getting hungry. I give my chicken heaps of treats but I guess that's easy with only 1 chicken.

No egg for the last 2 days right now. Surely it's not that hot? This is quite annoying given she's a young chicken and I was hoping for an egg a day for at least the first 300 days of laying like is supposedly "normal".

What breed is it? I think some high producers may do 300+ per year but others you might only get as low as say 200.

Not sure why mine aren't laying hardly any, they get fed with wheat, scraps and big bags of lettuce.

The young ones I've got are Sussex crossed with a bantam Rooster, plus some others crossed with a bantam mongrel with a but of Pekin in it.

edit - for example wiki says that Sussex chooks lay about 240-60 per year.

What breed is it? I think some high producers may do 300+ per year but others you might only get as low as say 200.

Not sure why mine aren't laying hardly any, they get fed with wheat, scraps and big bags of lettuce.

The young ones I've got are Sussex crossed with a bantam Rooster, plus some others crossed with a bantam mongrel with a but of Pekin in it.

edit - for example wiki says that Sussex chooks lay about 240-60 per year.

Black Austrolorp.

I guess having the record of being a super layer puts the pressure on.

How about protein? Are your chickens getting their protein? My chicken has been gobbling up all her sunflower seeds in the layer mash I feed her and I think that could be because she is regrowing those feathers. I also treat her to small bits of meat. Cooked chicken and sausages. She goes crazy for the chicken lol

The others I would like to have:

Dark Barred Plymouth Rock

100_1464.JPG

Silver Laced Wyandotte
silver_laced_wyndotte.jpg

They're pretty and they have good reputations too.

They get treats like big chunks of bacon fat but I've got 20+ so it has to go around. I've got to get my act together and start offloading them, after the ivomec they got given is finished to make sure they are 110% clear of any bugs that got introduced from the blow in ISA brown chook from the high school.

220px_Orpington_chicken_2.jpg

Used to have these black Orpingtons as a kid until some pillock's dog got into our yard and slaughtered them all, great chickens have to get some again one day.