Ching - Round 11

Borgsta said:
I think he is a pup. He misses out by 3 days, which I think is wrong anyway. It should be born after September 1982, going by footy seasons, not traditional years.
if he was a pup i would have giving him a vote nearly every week but by the rules we put down he is not

all thow i belive a pup should be under 23 games at the start of the year

scooter600x said:
He bagged the hell out of him earlier this year and just like Mike Sheehan with Scott West he won't admit what a moron he was (is).

I had another look at the replay. In my opinion Cross was beaten. From the centre, boundary and general play rucks, he got one clearance for the whole day, and that went straight to a Hawthorn player. Its his job to get the ball out of the centre and from boundary ruck taps and driive it forward. He didn't do that. Failed dismally. I don't go to the stats and then decide how to give votes.
Yeah CE is certainly proving to be very stubborn with Crossy. His view seems to be based on the effectiveness of Cross' disposals. While it not not be flash, he wins alot of his disposals, whether it been hardball gets, clearances or the amout of running he does to get in position to receive uncontested disposals. He doesn't just get easy touches, if ever they are uncontested it's due to a huge amount of running.

I'm sick of West and Crossy being bagged on this board for running the hard yards to make space. Being on your own doesn't necessarily mean you are getting easy touches.

Not giving Cross votes is just a huge sign of Sam Newman like ignorance.

Rocco (Jason - my ex-mate!!), Cross with his X amount of possessions was beaten by his opposite players on the day. Hence no votes. If I have Sam Newman type ignorance, how should your ignorance be described?

I would hope that you would rather have said the C.E. gives his votes based upon his own values, which is the way that we should all give our votes and not be influenced by others.

You may be dismayed that I didn't give Cross votes today but equally I was shocked to see people give him best on ground. .. Just like I was shocked some weeks ago when people gave Grant votes against Brisbane, when I think that he was soundly beaten by Brown.

Some people are just Cross-eyed.

C.E.Lovett said:
In my opinion our centres lost today.

We lost the centre bounces and clearances. If the centremen can win the centre clearances they will get more votes from me. Also I rate long runs with bounces very highly and as you know there are no stats for these.

You will note that when our middle players had a lot of possessions last week, we lost. In my opinion high possessions does not equate to votes.

I also do not rate a handball as effective as a kick. For example I rate a long raking goal by Eagleton as say half a dozen handball by other players. I also rate other things such as hits and spoils.

Any centre player must get more possessions than forwards or backmen.

I think that whilst Cross does get a lot of possessions he is a player who does not hurt. He does less hurt than West.

I think that many players on this board over-rate Cross and it annoys me somewhat. Therefore I have to sometimes go to ridiculous extremes to counter what I believe is unwarrented idolatory of this player.
We pretty much broke even in the clearances even though Everit had 33 hit outs 13 of which went directly to his players.That is an outstanding effort from West,Cross and Cooney combined.

Also I think you have to make an exception to the handball is less effective than a kick rule with Crossy.Some of his handballing was insane yesterday.What sort of value would you put on something like in the third quarter when he picked the ball up off a marking contest at half forward and shovelled it up to Guido all in one motion?Guido missed the goal but IMO that ******** is worth 2 kicks.There were 6 or 7 instances yesterday where I was just in awe of his ground skills and quick hands.

Notice the difference at Brisbane when Simon Black isn't going well?Crossy is our Simon Black.

C.E.Lovett said:
I had another look at the replay. In my opinion Cross was beaten. From the centre, boundary and general play rucks, he got one clearance for the whole day, and that went straight to a Hawthorn player. Its his job to get the ball out of the centre and from boundary ruck taps and driive it forward. He didn't do that. Failed dismally. I don't go to the stats and then decide how to give votes.

Rocco (Jason - my ex-mate!!), Cross with his X amount of possessions was beaten by his opposite players on the day. Hence no votes. If I have Sam Newman type ignorance, how should your ignorance be described?

I would hope that you would rather have said the C.E. gives his votes based upon his own values, which is the way that we should all give our votes and not be influenced by others.

You may be dismayed that I didn't give Cross votes today but equally I was shocked to see people give him best on ground. .. Just like I was shocked some weeks ago when people gave Grant votes against Brisbane, when I think that he was soundly beaten by Brown.

Some people are just Cross-eyed.
I didn't have to go to the stats sheet either to make my mind up.Theres some thing that are easy in footy and there are things that only the really quality players can do.Linking up for cheap handball recieves can be done by anyone who can run and has half a footy brain but winning your own ball and being able to fire handpasses to your mates anywhere in a 360 degree circle is something that only a couple of players can do_Our in close work has improved out of sight this year and its no coincidence with someone who has hands like Crossy around the ball.

If your anything like me at the footy I feel pretty comfortable when we have the ball but its when they have it or when its in dispute that I get nervous and thats why Crossy stands out for me.

5 Cross
4 McMahon
3 West
2 Gilbee
1 Street

Pups
3Cross
2Cooney
1 Ray

5. McMahon - his best game I reckon
4. West - smashed Mitchell, won lots of contests ans great, great hands
3. Cross - also excellent hands and contesting
2. Robbins - fantastic pressure and made the most of his opportunities
1. Hargrave - I think we are so much better when he runs forward

Apologies to Smith who I thought ran well with the ball, Murphy, Cooney and Griffen.

Pups:

3: McMahon
2: Cross
1: Cooney

5. West
4. Cross
3. McMahon
2. Cooney
1. Giansiracusa

Pups.

3. Cross
2. McMahon
1. Cooney

Sorry, Farren and Griff missed out, I don't know how.

5: West - Just a superb game
4: Cross - Really on fire over the last five weeks.
3: Giansiracusa - Shame about the injury was having a great season.
2: McMahon - Best game for the season
1: Murphy - Has he replaced Browny as our most dangerous small forward

Heaps of unlucky players not to get a vote or two mainly Hargrave and Robbins. Special mention to the job Morris did.

Ching - Round 11