ronnie wearmouth

newcastle united, epl
Is This young lad going to make it in league footy, i dont get to see the vfl and dont really know how he is going, love to hear how he is travelling and if there is a future and where he would possibly play?

He'll make it I reckon. Many have commented that Brown looked a long way off while playing in the VFL, ditto Wellingham. I think with time he'll make the transition and make it well, as long as people don't expect him to be a ready-made replacement for Rocca.

He is coming off a reco!!!! it takes years to get back to your mental peak thats not to even talk about the physical side of things... he will come good but needs time. Plus like RS said the vfl does nobody favours especially not the forwards...

Mods. can we please sticky what i say everytime someone queries the form of a player coming back from a reco!

There is no need to pressure him at the moment. We can afford to give him the whole year in the VFL and let him get some confidence into his game. This is his first full year after his reco and you don't wan to rush it. I don't see the VFL games at all so if the delivery is as bad has been mentioned on bigfooty he might not shine till he gets to the AFL.

Excellent one on one player and long accurate kick. Biggest problem for him at the moment is getting some skilled ball delivery to him. Most of the time the ball is dropping to short or going over his head.

Yes he will. We just need to be patient. In 2 - 3 years time we will have 3 dominant key forwards - Reid, Cloke and Dawes.

We just have to give them time. Cloke only really stepped up last year and that was after a few years in the system. Reid is still 18 or 19 and Dawes just needs time. These three are our future.

He'll make it I reckon. Many have commented that Brown looked a long way off while playing in the VFL, ditto Wellingham. I think with time he'll make the transition and make it well, as long as people don't expect him to be a ready-made replacement for Rocca.

Wellingham actually did look pretty good in the ressies last year, and his performances in the senior team have not yet reached the same heights as his VFL form (despite still being very good).

The variance in performance from AFL to VFL is arguably at its greatest for key forwards in a losing team. Not only do they get poorer delivery from general sub-standard skill level, but in a losing side when the midfielders are getting smashed, and are under far more pressure at point of delivery, it is excusable for a key forward to be struggling.

Wait til he gets his chance with Dids, Davis, Shaw, Pendles feeding it to him, under the covered stands of the MCG. Then make a call.

From the limited amount I've seen I'd say definitely going to make it. Love his attack on the footy or the player carrying it. His 2nd & 3rd efforts are fantastic. Deceptively quick, takes a nice mark. Will be the full package when fully recovered from the knee reco.

I know he is not enjoying Collingwood and as a result not playing to well.

He is a great athlete but doesn't have the mental aspect down yet. Unless this changes he will not enjoy his football and will continue to under perform.

Wellingham actually did look pretty good in the ressies last year
I agree mate, but you wouldn't have to search back very far to find people commenting that Wellingham is "a long way off" or just plain "not ready for senior footy" prior to his elevation and debut. I'm talking about opinions on his VFL form this year, which just highlights how deceptive VFL form can be at times.

I know he is not enjoying Collingwood and as a result not playing to well.

He is a great athlete but doesn't have the mental aspect down yet. Unless this changes he will not enjoy his football and will continue to under perform.

Not enjoying it pieland or not enjoying being beaten week in week out and have to play infront of the worse midfield in the VFL?