Cigarettes

• Thread starter Thread starter JG22

Average 3 a year. Am generally a non smoker but when out if people are smoking and offering round I will have one. Don't know why just do.

For me thou I don't get how someone tries it for the first time and coughs and splutters and then is hopelessly addicted.

Thinking: Have had 3 this year
1. On holidays
2. After footy
3. The other night when out.

I imagine it's this one;
51Za1yFyFrL.jpg

I know a few people that have read it and it worked for them.

Just downloaded the book

Have never put a cigarette in my mouth, but having a few smokers in the family means I actually do not mind the smell of smoke.

I support the idea of banning the sale of cigarettes to those born after a certain date. It's the only way to piss off the bastards for good. Sure, some kids will butly them illegally in order to be cool and rebellious, but smoking would be gradually bred out of the population. The government won't get its ciggy taxes but that will be simultaneously cancelled out (and then some) by decreasing smoking-related health costs.

The key thing is that - unlike other drugs like dope and alcohol - there is no discernable chemical pleasure from smoking. Smokers only get the 'kick' because they're having withdrawal symptoms of lack of nicotine. The tobacco companies have already made enough money from the addiction and death of the people, so if they complain about any move to phase out cigarettes they can GAGF.

Have never put a cigarette in my mouth, but having a few smokers in the family means I actually do not mind the smell of smoke.

I support the idea of banning the sale of cigarettes to those born after a certain date. It's the only way to piss off the bastards for good. Sure, some kids will butly them illegally in order to be cool and rebellious, but smoking would be gradually bred out of the population. The government won't get its ciggy taxes but that will be simultaneously cancelled out (and then some) by decreasing smoking-related health costs.

The key thing is that - unlike other drugs like dope and alcohol - there is no discernable chemical pleasure from smoking. Smokers only get the 'kick' because they're having withdrawal symptoms of lack of nicotine. The tobacco companies have already made enough money from the addiction and death of the people, so if they complain about any move to phase out cigarettes they can GAGF.
No it won't. Prohibition never ever even looked like working in the US.

There are a couple of key differences:

1. A cigarette phase-out would not be a nationwide ban that begins at midnight, but rather stopping people who had never been allowed to buy cigarettes anyway. The majority of the kids wouldn't know what they're missing - already, the vast majority of teenagers don't smoke.

2. Alcohol is fun, cigarettes aren't. In a UK survey, over 80% of respondents wished they'd never started smoking, with two thirds agreeing that smoking should be abolished for future generations http://www.itv.com/news/tyne-tees/story/2014-02-12/two-thirds-wish-theyd-never-started-smoking/
Doubt you'd get a similar response among drinkers!

Sure do Meb.
I read it in two days so it wasn't a hard thing to cut back
You smoke like normal till about half way thru
Reckon he says light one up take three puffs and throw it away somewhere in there too

All I remember was it was 10am on a Tues morn and I had a chapter to go and he said have your last cig now
I freaked as i had to go do arvo shift with a group of smokers and I thought I'd never get thru it
Little bit of will power and two years later....

Just had a lady at work in her 50s have a clot move and nearly killed her......still smoking because apparently it was the clot and not the smoking
Lol
Hey whats this book you are talking about. Im very interested in this

I don't mind the occasional cigar and/or shisha (like once a year) never smoked a cig and i'd probably say i'd never date or hook up with someone who was a daily smoker (if a random hook up smoked or if a girl I dated smoked occasionally I could probably deal with it) it is a turn off and ive noticed more young attractive women and men in Sydney seem to be smokers.

Having said that I do think the tax and restrictions on cigarettes is a little OTT. All for banning it indoors and around food but if a pub wants to have a smokers room or outdoor smoking area I think that's fine (I cant be sure but it seems Sydney is more laid back about the smoking rules than Melbourne)

It does kind of impinge on people's natural rights. Then again, so does making heroin and ice et al illegal.

There are plenty of people who smoke socially who never incur any health issues, yet there will always be a section of the population who become sick due to an addiction to tobacco. But that's the same for alcohol and junk food, which is arguably a bigger health epidemic. I guess the difference is it's far easier to quit both of those, than a long-term smoking habit.

I'm genuinely quite surprised I never became a full-time smoker, but sometimes on a nice sunny day I'll invariably wonder if I could improve it with a cigarette.

It does kind of impinge on people's natural rights. Then again, so does making heroin and ice et al illegal.

There are plenty of people who smoke socially who never incur any health issues, yet there will always be a section of the population who become sick due to an addiction to tobacco. But that's the same for alcohol and junk food, which is arguably a bigger health epidemic. I guess the difference is it's far easier to quit both of those, than a long-term smoking habit.

I'm genuinely quite surprised I never became a full-time smoker, but sometimes on a nice sunny day I'll invariably wonder if I could improve it with a cigarette.

Whilst I completely agree on the personal choice thing, I could swear ive seen studies showing junk food and sugar in particular are as difficult if not more so to quit than cigs, I could have made that up in my own head though. Anyone?

The book is by Allen carr the Easy Way To Stop Smoking
Works for a lot of people, but like MEB said, it didn't help her and she quit another way
It goes into a lot of things, like replacement therapy and why that doesn't work very well
It basically programmes your mind and you listen to a relaxing disc at the end

First week or so was still hard and I was very grumpy but after that I basically now can't stand cigs, the smell the look etc etc
You have nothing to lose
Quitting cigs lead to me eating better and then exercising